We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and nice room”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #264 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and nice room”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in mid-Nov. Location is excellent. Close to Spanish Steps, Spagna metro stop and shopping district. We walked to Trevi Fountain in one early morning. Took us 15 minutes only. We also walked around at night and felt pretty safe. We noticed that there were policemen on-duty around the Spanish Steps area all the time. It's good for tourists. Definitely will stay there again if we visit Rome again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the breakfast area. It's pretty quite. Our room has a nice view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lklkin002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote. Hotel Forte is present in the tourist Romano for many years, and it is thanks to the contributions of our guests that we have managed to become one of the most welcoming hotels in Rome. The area of ​​the Spanish Steps is truly extraordinary , and allows all of our guests to easily visit Rome in total safety and without having to take any public transport. The breakfast that we offer, thanks to the suggestions of our guests is really very good , as can be read in the detailed description exists in our Official Website , all products are fresh and carefully chosen by the owners because we understand that a good and hearty breakfast is what need for a good start to a day of sightseeing and shopping. I hope that when you come back and visit us again choose as your "home" in Rome , we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    351
    69
    25
    23
See reviews for
198
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel beginning of December. It's in a beautiful quiet little street and five minutes to the Spanish Steps. Room was lovely and spotlessly clean as well as the bathroom with a really good shower. It was my birthday while we were there and the hotel surprised me with a bottle of wine and some snacks which I found very touching and much appreciated. Very friendly staff and plenty of choice for breakfast. Would stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

I thank you for the amazing review you wrote about Hotel Forte . Just like you wrote our location is truly amazing , very close to the major attractions of the city but in a very quiet and romantic Via margutta . I invite you to see more details about our position in this detailed map in our Official Website . I am delighted that you enjoyed our little surprise , even if it was just a small gesture . All of our staff has been selected mainly on the basis of courtesy and sensitivity that demonstrates to visitors, and it is precisely for this reason that all the people working at the Hotel fort are really nice and friendly , we are like a small family that every day trying to make the guests' stay as memorable as possible, and I'm really happy that we succeeded with you . I hope to see you soon at the Hotel Forte, we will be honored to host you again.
 
Best Regards
Leonardo inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Forte in mid-November 2013 and were pleasantly surprised at the quality for the price. Two short blocks from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station, it's the perfect location for exploring Rome. It's an easy walk to Trevi Fountain, the Borghese Museum (Caravaggio and Berninii--don't miss it!), and via Corso (great shopping), and no problem walking to Piazza Navonne, the Pantheon, the Capitoline/Forum area, and just about everywhere (except maybe the Vatican, but you can take the metro). Via Margutta is a charming back-street full of art galleries, and a nice walk to Piazza Popolo, where you can see two wonderful Caravaggios (free!) at the church there. Great location!

The hotel itself is very nice. Stairs or a small (2 person, 2 bag) cage-type elevator take you to the "first" floor (that's second for us Yanks). The desk staff was very polite and helpful, with good English. The breakfast area is small, but serves a very full selection--meat & cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal, croissant & rolls, toast, some kind of eggs & meat--very good for a European hotel! Our room was small, but also very good for Europe, and the small bathroom had everything we needed, including a shower with a full door, which is rare in Italy. The bed was comfortable--also not that common!

There's great eating within blocks, too. We highly recommend La Buvette, on via Vittoria 2 blocks away, and L'EnotecAntica on via della Croce 3 blocks away. And if you're a Caravaggio fan like me, do not miss Galleria Doria Pamphilj on via Corso, and take the free audioguide--it's an amazing place. And quality-for-cost, so is Hotel Forte.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I want to thank you for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Just as you wrote in the Hotel Forte there are certain elements that distinguish it from all other hotels in rome as the beautiful wrought-iron elevator, or furniture that is made exclusively from antique furniture perfectly restored, I invite you to read more details on the description found in our Official Website. all breakfast foods are carefully chosen from the property are the freshest and also the young ladies at breakfast, Albertina and Sonia, are very good and very kind, it is thanks to them that every day we can meet all the demands of our guests, also the most demanding. I'm really glad you had a great stay at the Hotel Forte and I hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very good location near the Spanish Steps. Very nice staff, all of whom spoke English (the clientele appears to be largely British and American)
Room pretty tight but reasonably clean; decor a little garish.
Nice breakfast.
It met our expectations for the price point (low EU 200s), of a decent place to sleep and eat breakfast and be out walking all day.
I should mention that friends who were with us for one night thought their room had an unpleasant smell. Ours was fine, however.
Staff arranged early am car to airport.
All in all, no real complaints, no real raves.
.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte, our location is truly amazing and all our guests loved it Margutta also just like you wrote we are close to the major attractions of Rome. The building in which is located the Hotel Forte is a very old building that until the eighteenth century was a famous Teatro, Teatro Alibert, I invite you to read more details in the description of this in our Official Website, this factor agiunge a very charm particularly at the Hotel Forte and makes it even more distinctive and welcoming. I hope that you and your friends come to visit us again soon, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Location was one of the reasons I wanted to stay here. It's in a great neighborhood minutes from the Spanish Steps & metro station. The staff, especially Arturo, whom we dealt with most, were friendly & helpful. The room was fine...we actually had a triple tho only needed & paid for a twin. Breakfast room was charming & offered plenty of variety for a great start to the day. The breakfast room staff were also charming & very pleasant.

One thing to keep in mind, our room faced Via Margutta and we had such beautiful weather that we threw open the shutters & window and kept open -- for such a small street it was pretty busy & noisy. I loved the whole thing; my friend slept thru it but it might bother some.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLSLovestoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Our location is really amazing and all our guests fall in love with Via Margutta, called the "street of the artists" because it has always been the cradle of the artists who resided in Rome, we are also a short distance from all major attractions Rome so our guests can easily visit the major attractions of the city on foot (I invite you to go look at our present location on the map in our Official Website). All staff members are friendly and welcoming and our first goal is to make all guests feel at home in the Hotel Forte, our job is to make your holiday unforgettable. Mauro thanks you for the compliments that you did. I hope to see you soon at Hotel Forte.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautiful, clean, excellent location and great value for money. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were large. Staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. I have special dietary requirements and the staff were very happy to cater for this in the breakfast buffet and went above and beyond what I expected. I highly recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the street. There were roadworks during the time of our stay which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

I thank you for extraordinary review you wrote about Hotel Forte, Forte all the hotel staff always tries to satisfy all the demands of Nostr guests, for us it was not a problem at all to help you, indeed we were happy to do so. Our location is truly fantastic and all our guests fall in love with Margutta, I invite you to read more details on the famous street artists in the description exists in our Official Website. I'm really happy that you found the Hotel Forte good and I hope to see you soon.


Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the last week of July during VERY HOT weather! this hotel made our stay very enjoyable. Air conditioning was great as well as the breakfast! Staff were very friendly and always happy to help with any questions we had. The location of this hotel is the main reason we booked this hotel and we were not dissapointed. It is in a safe area so no problems walking around at night time and also very close to the spanish steps and metro. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. We staff fully understand how important it is for our guests to return to our room after a long day's journey, and find a nice room waiting for them, clean and fresh, we believe that it is these little things that set us apart from other hotels Di Roma. Our location is truly amazing and the way in which we are, Margutta, it is really gorgeous and very very romantic. As you can see from this map in our Official Website We are in the heart of Rome, and we are very close to all the major attractions of the city. I really hope you come back soon and visit us, we will be here waiting for you.


Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#301 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#273 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#62 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing