We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #250 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location for walking to all of the various sights around Rome. Bathroom was modern and nice and clean. Smallish type room. Breakfast was basic and marginal at best. It didn't kill us, but not exactly up to par with other places that we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you very much for the review. We are trying to improve the breakfast as possible so as to make all our guests to enjoy, but unfortunately every country has its own way of eating, and I assure you that ours is an excellent Italian breakfast, plus fresh fruit, canned fruit, prunes, ham, salami, cheese, bread, toast, bacon, fried and scrambled eggs. Anyway thanks again. I hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    350
    69
    25
    23
See reviews for
198
321
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Fantastic Spanish Steps location. Around the corner from the Steps and Metro stop, "Spagna."

Tiny lift but good to have one. I reserved a nice, spacious room, at a special internet rate of 170 euros nightly. We were given the tiny room 116 and wouldn't accept it. When they saw we were willing to leave and find another hotel, wonderful quaint 2 level suite room #144 magically appeared. Loved it. Not for those with mobility issues, but for a mom and college aged daughter, fantastic. They call it a 2 BR but it's really 2 twin beds in the main room then go down a little narrow-stepped staircase to a dressing room, table, TV, armoire, luggage rack, one twin bed tucked into the corner and a bathroom with good soaking tub, toilet, bidet. A little window opened onto a little "courtyard" but really faced another building so it gave some light and air and privacy. Great to have the extra room.

It's right around the corner from the buzz and hustle of Spanish Steps, but you walk to this contemporary art-filled oasis of quiet luxury. There are art galleries on Via Margutta and a couple of high end hotels--Hotel Art and 54.

In the same building as Forte, on another floor, is the Hotel Manfredi, which is nice also. I stayed there before--it's geared and outfitted more for a business traveler.

I wouldn't consider $250 to be a good value in places outside Rome, NYC and a couple of other places, but in this case, I would.

Room Tip: Avoid room 116, ask for 144.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks for the great review. we are very happy that we finally managed to meet its demands. I'm sorry that you did not like room 116, but usually really like. thank you so much for all the compliments, and I hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our fourth time for a short break at this hotel. As usual was not disappointed! Very clean and friendly hotel. Sleeping experience was great - black out, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast very good, now bacon and eggs an option along with cereal, fruit, pastries etc. Staff as usual very helpful - and speak good english! Location of this hotel is so convenient and parking very easy at villa borghese. Thoroughly recommend and cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliapalmer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

receive comments like what you did to us is the reason why we all love our work. for us to know that your Roman holiday was unforgettable thanks to our commitment is a great source of pride. Thee we hope to host again, and waiting will send you a hug from all the staff of the Hotel Forte.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful on most occasions. Location was great if you like the busy atmosphere of the Spanish steps, however beware of the flower wielding gypsy. Breakfast was ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you so muche for the good review. WE hope to see you son!

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a sweet little hotel very close to the Spanish Steps so fantastic location. It is only a small hotel so the rooms are small but perfectly adequate. We stayed once before and they seem to have upgraded the bathrooms since our last visit. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Our only slight criticism was the breakfast. There were croissants and cooked breakfast on offer but the fruit was tinned! Eating tinned peaches in Italy really does seem extraordinary when there is so much delicious fresh fruit. But apart from that I would definitely recommend it and indeed it is our second visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

thanks very much for your fantastic review. we are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. Unfortunately, we put fresh fruit in summer only a few days because we ruin too easy, while during the autumn, spring and winter, we always put fresh fruit. if you gonna ask for us would never have been a problem provide one. anyway thanks again for the great review.
Best Regards
Lonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

great location friendly staff very comfortable we loved it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CorkMaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

I thank you for the wonderful review. I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and we hope that in your next visit to rome you to come visit us. a greeting from the staff of Hotel Forte!!!

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Staying at Hotel Forte (July 29th to August 03rd) was really great. Forte is beautiful and luxurious, much more than one could expect from a 3-stars hotel. The staff is incredibly kind and helpful, specially Jenny, who gave me and my friends a lot of nice information about Rome, even browsing the internet to help us find anything we needed. Breakfast was also great, with a great variety of hot drinks, juice, nice bread, cheese, ham, turkey breast, jelly, wonderful fresh croissants and homemade yogurt. Location is just perfect, since the hotel is a 5 min walk from Piazza di Spagna and Spagna metro station, 10 min walk from Fontana di Trevi and 15-20 min walk from Pantheon and Piazza Navona. I would definitely stay there again and also recommend it to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leohools, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks for the great review. As you have noted the prime objective of all our guests and staff to help meet all your demands. Jenny, for example, is just an intern who works with us no more than a month, but the first thing that we are taught to be always available with our customers, because our main goal is to help you and make your stay memorable. thanks again and hope to see you soon!!!

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#282 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#57 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing