We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rifugio degli Artisti
Ranked #2,207 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had so much expectation going to Rufugi, but was unfortunatly disapointed... Here is why.

First the goods:
Location is great, near piazza del popolo and about 5 minutes walk from Flaminio subway station. This was our second time in Rome and we knew this neighbourhood felt very safe, even at night. We were welcomed by the owner, a young men that was really friendly and eager to help. He even carried one of the luggage downstair. He offered us a beatiful room and even prepared it with fresh fruits, proseco and botteled water. That was a nice touch! He explained to us everything we needed to know about the room, like how the shower worked... The bathroom was equiped with modern fixture. Overall, the room look exactly like the picture. Wifi was also available in the room and connection was good.

Now the not so good:
The rooms being in the basement, you would expect to be more humid. But this was beyond humid, I mean damp sheets, wake up with wet hair, moldy smell kind of humid. And we've been to tropical destination before, this doesn't compare. We even tried to turn the heat on to cut back some humidity, didn't worked. Bottom line, this place was simply not made for sleeping in it, sorry to say it.

Second issue would be you the security of the room. Even tought it is a safe neigbourhood, in order to lock the door of your room, you would have to litterally lock yourself in with your key. No locket or automatic locking feature. My husband once went out without me, and I asked him to lock the door. We both realize after a couple of minutes that I was lock in like a prisoner! Not a good feeling when there is no phone in the room and nobody at the front desk.

Which bring me to the last issue, this place is advertise with 24 hours reception. This is not an hotel but we tought it was a great feature. The owner did the check-in with us, then left and returned the next morning, but that was it. Of couse, we were given an emergency only number to reach him. Everyone have one specific requirement regarding a room. Mine is having somebody available at front desk. I wouldn't have chosen this place knowing nobody was ever there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico G, Direttore at Rifugio degli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We thank guest for its review.Our guest house is in the basement of an ancient building and this guest had a charming room that was a Roman cistern of 2000 years ago.We have a modern mechanical ventilation system for automatic control of humidity and temperature.We are very proud of this system of last generation.We wonder why the customer did not say the problem when he was in our guest house seeing owner lives in the same building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I traveled alone from August 8th to 15th, 2013 in Rome and this little jewel in the heart of Rome was one of the highlights of my trip. The most charming, cozy, beautiful, perfectly situated little refuge you can hope to get in Rome. Walking distance to the major treasures of this gorgeous city, it is by far one of the safest and cleanest neighborhoods. If you are lucky to get a room there, don't think twice. Rifugio only has 5 rooms so hurry up and book!! Domenico who runs the place is very accommodating, super friendly, polite and funny. Thank you, Domenico for the fruit, the water, the sparkling wine and most importantly your help and friendship! I will be back
Baci!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 4 are slightly larger than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything was perfect. Host was very kind and helpful, keeping our luggages before check in and after check out. The room was very comfortable with a great artistic vibe (many sculptures and beautiful paintings). Close to all the main attractions. Don't miss it and we will for sure come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romainm359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Domenico has done a great job converting this old, Roman era space into a charming place to hide away from the rough and tumble of central Rome. The Rifugio is very appealing with ancient brickwork pillar and walls, chic contemporary art works, good lighting and excellent linens and bed. The well appointed shower might be a tight if you tend towards supersize, but its efficient, and doesn't waste space. Our room was very spacious under a domed ceiling, well air conditioned and featured elegant neoclassical furniture.

Domenico is a great host and provides good advice about the neighbourhood, including a terrific restaurant, Osteria Gusto nearby. Breakfast in a nearby bar on Via Ripetta is great too. Rifugio is terrifically located, minutes away from Piazza del Popolo Piazza Di Spagna, and the shopping streets Corso, Babuino and Condotti, and two powerful Caravaggios at Santa Maria de Monte Santo, at the far side of Piazza del Popolo. The Villas Borghese and Giulia are a short distance away too. Happy to stay again and hope it is very soon. Grazie Mille, Domenico!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rifugio Degli Artisti for 2 nights from Saturday 13th July to Monday 15th July and had a lovely little stay. Dominico the young guy that owned/ran it worked 24/7 and was extremely hospitable! There was a lovely welcoming bottle of sparkling wine ready for us and he was always on hand with any questions, he even made a list of all the types of ways we could get to the airport which was very helpful of him. The breakfast at a bar round the corner was good, it ran until quite late which is handy because as the b&b is underground there is no natural light to wake you! We had to set alarms just incase we slept too much! All in all we had a lovely stay and the location was the cherry on top - literally in the heart of it all and walkable to everything...(if you like walking...) Thank you Dominco :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

a nice place in the heart of Rome, the hospitality and the room was perfect, i suggest that guest house for busyness and holidays, the rooms are tipical, with brick wall, the restoration of this place is perfect and is possible to see the work of a great italian architect that did it with love and respect for the ancient building stile. the breakfast is italian (cornetto and cappuccino), and it's served in a very nice cafe on the next street, wery good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at Rifugio degli Artisti with my boyfriend for three nights. We were amazed at it's proximity to all the main attractions-Trevi fountain, spainsh steps and all of the shops. It is located a few minutes from Flaminio station so is very easy to access and to travel around the city if you prefer not to walk. It is in a busy area full of tourist action- we were spoilt for choice with restaurants and bars. However, once in the room we felt miles away. The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating- they even provided wine in the room for our first evening and because we were the first guests we were also given free breakfast. I would go back there in a flash and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katiep555187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Rifugio degli Artisti Top
Rifugio degli Artisti Top
#1,874 of 3,734 in Rome
3 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,271 in Rome
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio degli Artisti

Address: Via del Vantaggio 1 d, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,207 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rifugio degli Artisti 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prestigious 1600 building in the heart of the historic center of Rome, a few steps from Piazza del Popolo and Via del Corso, is Rifugio degli Artisti. From renovation of an old stable in the basement of the building that was to the most excellent property Borghese family, Rifugio degli Artisti offers its guests five artist studios tastefully furnished and equipped with private bathroom, wirless, tv.In unique charm, in ancient times Roman bricks, including original canvases, easels, hand-carved, antique Italian furniture, the artist studios are ready to welcome artists and art lovers who want to stay in the eternal city, in a street famous for its always been art workshops. In a fascinating and unique, in the way they lived and opererono artists such as Guttuso, Ivanov, Sarra and Canova, our artist studios welcome their guests in a memorable and enticing permanent art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rifugio degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing