We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service - Am I in Rome?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Cancelleria

Alla Cancelleria
Ranked #2,933 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: The restaurant " Alla Cancelleria" is situated in the Historical Center of Rome, just 140 meters from Piazza Navona and 40 steps from Piazza Pasquino, in Vicolo della Cancelleria,36. Typical Roman cuisinee, specialties Jewish roman "Kosher style", also offers some Middle Eastern dishes. Our Chef have experience in the kitchen gluten free. The restaurant consist of three rooms with the ability to accomodate up to 110 guest, has a private room (20 seats) with possibility of exclusive reservation. Il ristorante "Alla Cancelleria" e situato nel centro storico di Roma, a soli 140 metri da Piazza Navona e a 40 passi da Piazza Pasquino, in Vicolo della Cancelleria, 36.Tipica cucina romana, specialita ebraiche romane "stile kosher", offre anche alcuni piatti mediorientali. Il nostro Chef ha esperienza nella cucina senza glutine. Il ristorante e composto da tre sale con la possibilita di ospitare fino a 110 clienti e dispone di una sala privata (20 posti) con possibilita di prenotazione in esclusiva.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service - Am I in Rome?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are in Rome for 15 days and have been to few restaurants. The service was exceptional by Rome standards - we were not treated differently because we weren't Italian. The staff was happy and smiled a lot they were very attentive - the food was great and provided a variety of things beyond the norm. The house wine is excellent and food fresh and tasty I liked the mix of offerings.Make sure to try the antipasti (appetizers) the are fantastic!

It may be close to Piazza Navona but down a small street so not filled with tourists!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBoyd585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    129
    49
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The waiter was the firendliest i've meet in Italy. The food was delicious and the owner would say hello to everybody.
It is a nice restaurant, on a small and quiet peitonal area, everything nicely arranged. They also have great cocktails!
Very good for romantic dinner or night out with friends and familiy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malina Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious and authentic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Tucked away on a quiet street near piazza navona, we had the house wine that was great value. The salted cod was fantastic, desert tray was great. Very friendly warm service without being in your face, he gave us a mixed desert tray and some limoncello to top the night off. Great spot!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Djm758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“"molto buonissimo!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A quaint restaurant situated in a small lane away from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Navorna.
A newly opened restaurant with Exceptional service and EXCELLENT food.Yes.. EXCELLENT!!!
Travellers are always spoilt for choice especially in a big city like Rome with so many restaurants at every street corner.We found this little gem by chance tucked away in a little lane and it was indeed a grand finale to our two week trip in Italy.Forget about the upscale restaurants with beautiful facades and romantic ambience.Alla Cancelleria tops it all with good service,amazing food and a nice and peaceful ambience...that is romantic!! Not some place filled with tourists and screaming kids and below-par food that is not worth the money.A must-try restaurant.Will definitely return on my next visit to Rome..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneDayInYourLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Incredible!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

You must try this new restaurant Alla Cancelleria. By far the best meal we had in Rome in the last 6 days--- and guess what? It was also the most reasonable in price! Can't imagine a better restaurant that specializes in Italian and Middle Eastern dishes..... Four owners, one Egyptian three Italian.... Great combination. Hurry, this is an up-and-coming new restaurant, try it, and you too will be amazed. BRAVO Alla Cancelleria!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010canucks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alla Cancelleria also viewed

 

Been to Alla Cancelleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing