We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Alba sul Vaticano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alba sul Vaticano
Ranked #253 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a great place! We stayed here for five nights at the end of August. Alba was an extremely friendly and helpful host and we had a lovely stay.

Location is excellent - one block from the Vatican museum, five minutes' walk to the metro station.

Couple of tips:
* there are three flights of stairs up to the B&B unless you spot there is an elevator, which is handy for heavy luggage.
* the curtains don't block the light very well but there are external shutters that you can close which make the room completely dark.

No hesitation in recommending this place, and we would certainly stay here again if we were to revisit Rome. One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Alba sul Vaticano for 2 nights in Rome. I'm usually really picky when it comes to hotels but I have to say that everything was perfect, very clean and confortable. The breakfast was excellent and Alba prepared very good cappuccini for both of us. Alba also recommended excellent restaurants in Rome for typical roman cusine which we enjoyed.

I strongly recommend anyone staying in Rome to stay there for it's location, price and excellent service.

Karine

Room Tip: Rooms not right next to the one next to the kitchen are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been in the Italy a few days ago with my friends. We choosed Alba Sul hotel from Tripadvisor and we booked our rooms. When we arrived to hotel, we were happy because Hotel staff was so friendly. Alba sul Hotel rooms were so clean and so pretty. Breakfast was wonderful. Their hotel service was great and they were always smiling. If you would like to go to Rome, do not hesitate to book Hotel from Alba sul Hotel and Alba Sul Hotel is so close to Vatican Museum. You can walk just a few minutes to get there. Also Alba Sul hotel is so close to Rome Metro station too.. Thanks for Mrs. Alba and Mr. Vito.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AboutEphesuscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had spent wonderful 4 Days in Rome and stayed in Alba Sul Vaticano!

I am a travel expert and agency owner and this was my third trip to Italy and Rome. I had stayed 4 or 5 stars hotels near center but was not happy with services and rooms I had stayed considering the money I had to pay. So I decided to stay in a smaller accomodation. Among the many alternatives Alba Sul Vaticano was the best look with clean rooms. I found them online and decided to book it after reading wonderful reviews here.

I sent an email to Alba and got response in a minute! We kept emailing each other and she sent a lot of useful information to us which made our visits easier. She also helped me for the transfer on arrival and departure with reasonable rates.Upon arrival we met by driver and transfferred to B&B was so easy.

We greeted by Sofia (daughter of the couple) and she personally accompanied us to find meeting place for the Vatican Tour. You can not find this service in 5* hotels but in here. The location of the B&B is great is just 5 minutes walking to Vatican Museum, St Pietro and Cipro (Metro Station). There are a lot of shops around and they are cheaper than Via Del Corso. We really enjoyed shopping in Via Cola Di Rienzo Street and found a lot of things to buy with reasonable cost. This was recommended by Alba and they were right. We got Roma pass and used for public transportation and it was so easy. You can use Metro to reach popular areas from Cipro station. Spanish Steps ( Spagna station) is just 3 stations away, Fontana Di Trevi is 4 stations away. You can reach Termini ( Central station) in 10 minutes by using Metro. We took train from Termini to Napoli and then visited Pompeii. It was much enjoyable than guided tours.

For me B&B is in the best location considering prices as well as crowds and noise around Spanish Steps, Via Del Corso, Fontana Di Trevi. The rooms are so clean, quite and very well decorated. They have 4 rooms in different sizes and they are all look good. You have private bathroom, air-conditioning, free wireless (many hotels in Rome charge you for that!). You can find everything in the kitchen and fridge is always filled up with drinks, snacks which are complimentary. Breakfast is just amazing, honestly much better than many 4* and 5* hotels.

We also met with Alba and Vito (husband) and they are lovely people. They really enjoy this business and are very enthusiastic.

As a travel expert,its difficult for me to call "Perfect" for the service or accomodation I experience but I would not hesitate to recommend Alba Sul Vaticano to everyone even including the ones who used to stay in 4* and 5* hotels. I will definetely suggest Alba Sul Vaticano to my family, friends or clients and I will definetely stay in there in the future if I go to Rome again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is larger than other 3 rooms but it takes a lot of daylight might be warmer. Room 4 is smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okan_Kutlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Owners are warm and welcoming, and the B&B was beautifully decorated and very clean. Location wise, the apartment located very close to the Vatican (5 - 10 minutes' leisurely walk) and near to bus stops which takes you to major tourist sites across the river. Highly recommended for other tourists! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the italian chocolate on our pillow the night we arrived to the one on our cases the day we left Alba Sul Vaticano was perfect! If you would like to visit the Vatican at your leisure and be only a few stops from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain this is the perfect place. Alba the owner provided travel tips for getting around Rome and the best places to see. Breakfast was lovely fresh fruit, freshly baked (warm) pastries, youghurt, fruit juice, tea and coffee and anything else you would like. I can't wait to return for a holiday and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The B&B is brand new and the rooms and common area were tastefully decorated and spotless. The location is a few minutes walk to the Vatican Museum and there is a stop is located right in front of the B&B. Alba spoke English very well and was so helpful in booking tours and giving us directions and guidance on getting around the city. The breakfast each morning was also very nice. I would stay there again and recommend Alba Sul Vaticana to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
RomAntic Dreams
#234 of 3,743 in Rome
43 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba sul Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba sul Vaticano

Address: Via Candia 111, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alba sul Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing