We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colosseum and ancient Rome private tour with kids”

Best of Rome Tours - Day Tour
Ranked #166 of 797 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best of Rome offers private and small group tours of Rome, Vatican, Colosseum, Pantheon and more with local top-rated guides.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Colosseum and ancient Rome private tour with kids”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

1/2 day tour with guide Lara, interesting and fun for all the family!

The tour included Colosseum, the Palatine hill and Forum Romanum. The guide was very good at telling things that was interesting for the kids. The tour theme itself is one of the more exiting things for kids in Rome.

At the end she recommended an ice bar that's one of the best in Rome: FLOR - a perfect ending of the tour!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hhnygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Vatican tour with kids”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a great experience this afternoon with Simona from Best of Rome Tours. I asked for someone who would be good with kids and they certainly delivered. She is a middle school teacher and was very patient with my 11yr olds many questions. We travelled with. 17, 11, 8 and 3 yr olds. She was kind, patient and very knowledgable. Would highly recommend this tour company while visiting Rome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kikilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Vatican Tour - Rome”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This week my wife and I did a private tour of the Vatican and it was beyond phenomenal. So not a review-type of person, but our guide was the greatest we've ever had (Claudia Capretti) anywhere in world. Can't imagine another person taking us through the history of the City, the religion and art. We are Jewish and learning about the New Testament, it's history and connection to the Old Testament in this unique place was beyond words. She was so knowledgeable and a joy to spend 3.5 hours with. If you're going to the Vatican, hire Claudia and soak it up! Unreal experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best of Rome tour-The Vatican and Sistine Chapel request MariaClaudia --one of the best tour guides you will ever have !”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Maria was the absolute best tour guide my family has ever had ! From the beginning, she met us punctually at the Vatican entrance allowing us to bypass hundreds of visitors in line and enter the museum swiftly and begin our tour immediately . Her personality was so charismatic, so personable that my family of six --2 adults and four teenagers (ages 12,13,16 & 18) listened to every bit of history she offered and interacted the entire time with questions . She demonstrated such mastery of her knowledge of history throughout the tour. She even awarded prizes (which was completely a surprise and above and beyond what was expected ) that she engaged all of us into wanting to hear and remember the rich history of the art , the government and The Church that is unique only to The Vatican and Rome ! I believe she presented her tour this way knowing that she had to master the technique of keeping teenagers interested . Not only was this accomplished but even beyond this she taught the adults so much as well !! I would go so far as to say she packed several semesters of history into 3 hours of a memorable educational tour .
I am certain that in any group , whether all adults or groups with children, Maria will appropriately tailor your tour to make your experience of The Vatican and the Sistine Chapel one you and your family/friends will always remember and want to share with others the beauty and the richness of an incredible part of history that can only be experienced in Italy !!

Brava MariaClaudia ! You deserve 10 stars !! Thank you from our family !!

The company is very professional , efficient in responding and well worth the expense for the tour of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VAFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great private tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked a private tour with Best of Rome tours of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Pete's. Took about 3 hours. Our guide, Tommasso, was great. He has a masters degree in archeology and was as excited about the sites as we were. Excellent way to get through the crowds and see the sights in a reasonable period of time. I would highly recommend a private tour as the way to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best of Rome Tours - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing