We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Tours Roma

Maya Tours Roma
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.33*
and up
Skip the Line: Vatican Museum St Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel Tour
Ranked #190 of 770 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maya Tours is an accomplished reputable Tour agency based in Rome, close to the Vatican city. We specialize in English Guided Tours around the City of Rome and The Vatican.
Worcs
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visiting the Vatican I guess is a must do in Rome, however the crowds were horrendous it was impossible to get anywhere near the Basillica and we almost gave up opting to book a tour on another day. But we then found purely by accident " Maya Tours " So glad we did its a " Skip the Line " tour and that's exactly what we did. No hassle no fuss we paid and they did the rest. Our tour guide Roberto was so knowledgable he guided us through the gardens, all the important rooms ( Do not miss the Gallery of Maps ) culminating in the Sistine Chapel. He then lead us out onto the Basillica and we were then able to spend as much time as we liked in there, another bonus ....... if you want to go back in , you just hand the headset back and carry on exploring. We learnt so much more doing this trip and although it didn't come cheap 45 euros each I can honestly say it was worth it and would highly recommend them. Thank you so much to all at Maya Tours

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    174
    46
    45
    121
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We took a tour with Maya, We already had our tickets but we were told this did not include the church. So we paid the extra 25 and had a live guide and got to see everything in about 3 hours. Totally worth the extra money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good organised tours with knowledgeable tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked the Vatican and Sistine Chapel tour with Maya Tours. They explained everything that was going to take place at the tour and our tour rep Roberto was very knowledgeable. He answered all questions and tried not to over educate us. He also added humour to the tour. Each member of the tour is given headphones which allows you to listen to what the rep is saying throughout the tour and to follow instructions through the busy Vatican. The only critism is they said the tour would be twenty people maximum but it was more like 30. Would still recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Traveller_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My Maya Tour Thursday June 6 with dr. Giuseppe was great! Vey informative not too long but not rushed and he was very funny and likeable. Could tell he enjoyed doing the tours and loves Rome. Spoke great English too. Staff at check in was great too nd had free wifi for those touring. No wait to get into the vatican made it even better and office to join is right across the street. Would highly recommend it to my friends and families. Thanks for a great day Dr. Giuseppe and Maya Tours!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the biggest waste of money. I was told that I would be able to skip the line to St. Peter's Basilica and since the line was at least four hours long we decided to go on the tour. However, our tour guide was awful. We couldn't understand a word he said and he barely explained anything to us. Then when the tour was over and it was time to go to St. Peter's Basilica we found out that everyone going from the Sistine Chapel could skip the line. I was furious! Biggest waste!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maya Tours Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing