We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I died and went to Italian bakery heaven at La Stelletta”

Antico Forno la Stelletta
Ranked #105 of 292 Bakeries in Rome
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I died and went to Italian bakery heaven at La Stelletta”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right outside our apartment door was the Via della Scrofa, and about a block away I could see a long vertical sign that said ANTICO FORNO which means one thing - baked goods!

We headed straight there to find the tiny but jam packed Antico Forno la Stelletta. Now I love me some baked goods, and this place was my Italian version of heaven. As I madly ordered their toasted hazelnut Brutti ma Buoni (trans. Ugly but Good), almond meringues, and slices of the long Roman pizza, sold by the "etto" unit of measure, my husband knew this was trouble.

You order at then counter then turn around and hand your tab to the cashier at the desk behind you, who you pay as quickly as possible before busting into your bag. I asked the cashier how late they were open (thinking bakeries only stay open until maybe 4 pm?) and she sighed in a weary resignation, "We are open always." I thought she was being sarcastic. But fast-forward to the 5 am airport pick up by our driver Adriano... as I glanced one last time down della Scrofia, the only light I saw was the interior of La Stelletta, shining bright as the little Brutti ma Buoni called my name. She wasn't kidding, they ARE open always.

I'll be back for sure, La Stelletta!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VousAllez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    9
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Went there every morning for pastries”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This lovely little place had the best pastries, cookies, etc! It was on the same street as our apartment, so we were there every morning for take out pastries. The only problem was they didn't do coffee. Other that that, it was perfect!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cookies and desserts”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is so delicious. The desserts are not only pretty to look at but they are very tasty. Loved the little tea cookies. Can't wait to go back tomorrow. The people who work here are so nice. We were admiring everything & they gave us a taste of the pistachio cookie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deannaLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmm... the fruit tart!! ”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

On our way back to the apartment where we were staying, we stopped by to get a few slices of pizza bianco with broccoli and sausage, mushroom pizza and ..... a pizza topped generously with sweet tomatoes, thick slices of yummy fresh mozzarella and basil. We could not resist adding almond and pistachio chewy pastries (yes, I cannot remember what they are called in Italian, but the pictures of these pastries are on the webpage).

Just before I headed to the checkout counter, glistening fruit tarts piled high with fresh fruit caught my eye. A sucker for (any) baked goods with fruits, I promptly added the fruit tart to our purchase.

No regrets - the fruit tart was superb!

Pizzas were ok; the pizza bianco was the clear favourite. The nutty chewy pastries - sugar overload!!!!!!!!!! Don't think it would hurt to be less generous on the zucchero, guys.

Helpful?
Thank Steph-189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and excellent pastries”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I visited on a Monday afternoon and were rewarded with friendly service and many samples to treat our taste buds.... we ended up with many lactose free products and half a Columbo cake which is an Easter cake with a orange flavor that tastes wonderful. The Pistachio Cookies are also Wonderful........Visit soon!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Forno la Stelletta also viewed

 

Been to Antico Forno la Stelletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing