We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream in Rome near the Vatican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedera

Hedera
Ranked #12 of 777 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vatican / Borgo
Description: Sweetness & Co.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Rome near the Vatican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great place with own home made ice creams apparently with old traditions. They do not have thousands of flavours, but the ones they have are heavenly! This is real quality and they have special tastes not seen in other ice cream shops. Located only few hundred meters from the Saint Peter's Square, this is a must visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmaschoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    91
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This really is the best Gelato in Rome. Give it a go when visiting the Vatican area, you will not be disappointed! The pistachio and hazelnut were especially amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Went back 2 days in a row for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Travelling with my friend and my 12-year old daughter. We popped into this place just because we were on the side street near St Peter's Square and we were hankering for some gelato. Wow. What a find! Other reviewers have given it an excellent rating (as have I) for a very good reason. Friendly and knowledgeable staff too!

First day I had fig and peach gelato while my friend had straciatella with the bitter chocolate. My daughter had lemon with bitter chocolate. All three were fresh and flavourful. I was jealous of my friend who had the straciatella with bitter chocolate as it was just amaaaazzzing! The three of us talked about the gelato that evening and since we were going back to the Vatican the day after, we made a deliberate stop at Hedera for another gelato after our tour. On our second trip? We all had straciatella with bitter chocolate. Ha-ha!

It was worth the stop - both times.

Do not miss this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globalgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburtis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Had Gelato many times in Italy and in Sicily!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have been going to Sicily for 26 years, and have had gelato many times. This has to be the best I have ever had. Never before have I had Fig Gelato, omg it was the best!!! Made right in front of your eyes. This place can't be missed, if you do your loss!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We never know this gelato before. We ordered Coconut, Lemon and Pistachio individually.
We can taste every bit with real coconut, real pistachio and fresh zesty lemon, it really different from other gelato. It is the best gelato we ever try in Italy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach3piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hedera also viewed

 

Been to Hedera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing