We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of La Casa di Kaia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa di Kaia
Ranked #397 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked this apartment last minute after the owner's other apartment, Maria Rosa Guesthouse, was recommended in Lonely Planet. Sylvie is soo helpful leaving her great tips and is really responsive. The rooms are clean and bright, along with the rest of the apartment which is spacious. It is in a really good part of Trastevere. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. A shame we could only stay one night!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

My mom and I were staying in Rome for a few days and we are so glad we booked this place! The location was great--we walked everywhere. It's about a 20-30 minute walk to most of the things we wanted to see.
Our host was so kind and helpful--even gave us a list of places we may need during our stay and a map! The bar downstairs and around the corner has the best coffee and sweets for breakfast. And there are many great restaurants around the area. You're also locationed super close to the river so you can easily enjoy an evening stroll.
Thank you for all your help and kindness during our stay in Rome. La Casa di Kaia is great! Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sylvie was such an incredible host. Her appartment is clean, spacious and wonderful. The kitchen is super equipped if you are in the mood for dining at home, or if you prefer the location of this apartment is amazing.. right in the center of a not so touristy area of Rome with many great restaurants, curious shops and great people watching! She is also only a short walk from some of the most amazing landmarks like the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Colloseum etc. Upon our arrival Sylvie sat down with us to go over the map of Rome and answer all and any questions we had about the city. Despite being seasoned travellers she had tips and suggestions that were really helpful and came in handy for us. One word of caution... we had to climb 5 floors to get to her apartment. We did not mind at all because we had to burn all of the wine and bread we consumed during our travels, but some people may have a bit of trouble with them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice and clean, comfortable bed, very helpful host.

The location is in a quieter area of Trastavere, but within easy walking distance of any relevant place to go. There’s a great coffee place around the corner open for breakfast all days but Sunday and a cosy family trattoria just down the street with some of the best food we had during our stay.

Would recommend La Casa di Kaia to anyone who don’t mind sharing the bathroom with one or two other guests/couples and can accept a slightly unstable water heating in the shower (assume this is true of most older Roman apartments, though). We will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristianfep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here six nights on May 6-12 of 2013.

The positives

- Price of 50 euro's a night for trastevere is a great value.

- Right next to "Bar Lillo" that I also reviewed. Well worth the trip if your in the area.

- Its very clean and Sylvie makes a considerable effort to keep it that way.

Negatives

- The Wifi does not work really work. I have a Nexus 4 and a Nexus 7. My phone picked up Wifi sporadically at best. My tablet did not pickup any type of signal. Sylvie does say on her website that she has "low wifi" so not really a false claim.

- Its like 80 odds stairs to get to the apartment, so its a bit of a climb.

- There is a fire extinguisher in the apartment but there is not a single smoke detector in the building. On one of the windows, there had been what looked like "fire damage." I could be wrong. Slyvie dismissed my inquiry stating that the management team had not gotten around to painting the area in the stairwell and it was a long time ago.

-Sylvie on my last night threw a big party in her apartment. She was blaring music pretty loudly. For someone who has multiples signs in the apartment to be consideration of the neighbors, it was not very considerate of her guests upstairs. She did apologize in advance and provided earplugs. I did not really feel safe doing that.

- I was hoping since Sylvie just opened this "guest house" that there would be all new furniture and sheets. The bed and sheets felt like handy me downs from a good will store. The mattress was old and stained. Part of frame under the bed came apart on a nightly basis. I had to pop the wood back. The wood was part of the frame. It was not horrible just annoying. As hostels/guesthouses go bed wise, I would say its on the lower end.

- Sylvie is not really around much. It was kind of annoying to try to find different stores/places. I really struggled my first day trying to get my bearings of the area. I did not really want to start arguing with her either so I saved my feedback for Tripadvisor.

I did not really like this place. Its not to say that someone else might have other opinions.

Suggested improvements

- I would not have minded to pay more for good Wifi because you pay for it anyway at bars/coffee houses. As there really is not any "free Wifi" like in the states.

- Its okay to have a private party there is no need to blare music when you run a guesthouse. We all make mistakes. I had to remove a star from this rating because of what happened. I had an early flight the next day after all.

- There should be at least one smoke detector in the kitchen and stairwell. Its a non-smoking building after all.

Room Tip: consider earplugs if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Photogallery1, Owner at La Casa di Kaia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

please note that:

- The low connection of wifi and 4th floor with no lift are both indicated on the website: so you know what to expect for. If you wanted you could have booked next door and have a lift and high wi-fi connection... but somehow people do not want to pay 95euro/night, so they go for a 50euro/night (which is GREAT deal in Trastevere, historic center of Rome) and then complain for something they knew about or are not supposed to get...

- Like 90% of the building of the historic center of Rome, there are no smoke detector in the stairs. Also I did not "dismiss your query" when you asked about smoke detectors, I though you wanted to smoke in the apartment: so this is why I replied to you that it was non smoker. I agree that the window in the stairs of the building must be repaired but it does not depend on me but to the administration of the building and like a lot of process in Italy it is really slow.

- I agreed that I had a big party for my 40th birthday and I did apologize in advance for the noise of that special birthday and I bought you air-plugs. I do not understand why you did not use them.... All the other 4 people staying that night in the apartment did not complain (and wished me a happy birthday - the Italian couple even congratulate me on how organized I was to buy them ear-plug); nor the neighbors staying in the 8 other apartments of the building complained, they all understood it was a special birthday date...only you had a problem with it....

-Regarding the bed: I just find out now... I saw you nearly every day: if this was a problem to you why didn't you tell it directly to me like a grown adult? (it would have been more constructive, usefull and logical, instead of complaining about it here a week later...)

- Of course I am not around always: I live the floor below and not in the La Casa di Kaia. I come every day to the apartment to clean and you were always welcome to ring at my home to ask question (which you did a few times); or to leave me notes in La Casa di Kaia, which I answer on daily basis. At the check-in did a 30mn introduction on Rome and I provided a map of Rome (which it seems you did not use and prefered using your phone) ; a guide of the area for the restaurants and bars etc ; a guide of what to see in Trastevere ; a chronology of the artists to get orientated in the history of art of Rome ; and a guide on Roman cooking... what more am I supposed to provide to make you satisfied?! Same thing: if this was not enough to you: why didn't you told it to me directly like an adult?...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

La Casa Di Kaia, is a very welcoming place to stay. It is in a great location, the rooms and the bathroom are very clean and spacious. There is also fully equipped a large kitchen with a fridge. Sylvie has excellent knowledge of Trastevere and of greater Rome and makes you feel very welcomed and takes the to spend with her clients and is always available to answer questions or for a general chat. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank guillaume2016pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#218 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Kaia

Address: Via Dei Vascellari 55 | Trastevere Historic Center, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa di Kaia is situated in Trastevere historic center Trastevere. Guests can enjoy Rome completely on foot. In the appartment there are 3 newly furnished bedrooms, one shared bathroom and kitchen. Sunny rooms give this modern accomodation a homey atmosphere. The owner speaks fluent English, has many years of experience in tourism and happy to help her guests enjoy their stay to the fullest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing