We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Appealing Trastevere apartment away from the...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rocks201
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appealing Trastevere apartment away from the tourist hordes”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cristina and Pasquale were most hospitable and willing to please - even provided new toaster and electric jug with no fuss. Apartment spacious and comfortable and everything worked (a rarity in the old part of Rome) and it was bliss to soak in the bathtub after a day out and about in Rome. The garden was an added bonus for breakfast and pre dinner appertivi.
The location is away from the main tourist area of Trastevere and restaurants recommended by the owners were first rate - especially pasta in mani (not just good - brilliant).

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Dear John,
We are so glad that you happy and enjoyed the home and the hospitality, and that you had a blissful time. This is such a special place with its cool, shady garden, such a rarity in a Rome apartment.
Do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSandJD
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Return visit to our favorite corner of Rome”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my second time staying in this apartment with my husband. We came for our honeymoon for two weeks in April 2014 and missed it so much we came back for a week this past February. We felt like we'd never left. We went back to our favorite restaurants (which are all right next to the apartment) and saw the waiters, dogs, and neighbors we remembered from two years ago. Our first trip to Rome was all about seeing the sites. This trip was about strolling down our favorite streets, eating great food and taking in the magic of Rome. Returning to this apartment felt like returning home. It is in the best corner of the best neighborhood in the best city! When we reached out to Cristina about returning she said this would be a "soul trip" and she was so right.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Dear L and J
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Of course we were delighted to hear that you wanted to return to Rome, the most romantic city in the world, and that this time you were back not as tourists, but as Romans! And of course, you returned to that magical garden. :) We hope that you wil return again and again. Rome does get into your "soul" as Cristina said,, and what a great way to keep the flame in the mariage, as to return to its magical start. We wish you all the best.
Susan and The Commendable Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyAnne...
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Live like a Roman”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment has it all - incredible location in the bohemian quarter of Trastevere, beautifully appointed, a large kitchen and its own private garden. It's a little piece of heaven in the middle of Rome. Espresso bars, gelataria and amazing foodie havens are at your doorstep. Wander through the cobblestone laneways, cross a bridge, and stumble across the Roman Forum, the Teatro Marcello and Campo de Fiori. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you so much for writing. You could not have said it better! We look forward to your return. All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
New York City, New York
1 review
“great apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at the apartment for two weeks at the end of July. The location in Trastevere near Santa Cecelia easy walking distance to the major sights. There's a variety of restaurants in the area and the Noname Cafe on the corner is the perfect place for coffee and pastries to start the day.

The apartment consists of a bedroom, a living room that can be converted to a bedroom, a dining/kitchen area and a bathroom. There's also a backyard patio. There are large closets in the hallway. The living room is a great place to sit at the end of the day, relax and plan the next day's activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: some traffic noise at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Rome, and were able to enjoy the hose with its refreshing little garden , so well shades by lemon trees and palms. So Roman..... And that, you appreciated its neighborhood and proximity to the sites. Thank you for writing and come back soon.
Best
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen v
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in great location”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family and I had a wonderful stay in 'Mio Giardino Romano' for 11 days over the end of June and beginning of July. We were welcomed at the apartment by the super sweet owners who showed us around the apartment and gave us recommendations on stores and places to visit in the area. They even gave us some local maps and guides to use during our stay.

Even though it was a really hot time of year, the apartment remained cool. The double bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable and my children, ages 10 and 13 were quite happy in the living room on the sofa beds. There was plenty of space to hang or fold our clothes in the hall cupboard. Every afternoon, after a long day of walking and sightseeing, my husband and I enjoyed a drink in the garden, under the lemon tree. There were even ripe lemons on the tree that we used to make some fresh lemonade.

This apartment is in a great location, on the same street as a bakery (fourno) where we bought fresh bread and pastries, every morning. There are many restaurants in short walking distance of which my favorite was across from the building and we enjoyed the best cocktails of our stay and meal, on our last evening. The taxi rank is a couple of blocks away which made it convenient to get to the airport and some further locations we explored. The Tiber river is a 5 minute walk away and has two convenient bridges to cross over to the main part of Rome. We were lucky to experience the Tiber River Summer Festival where they have tons of great restaurants, bars and activities right on the river.

By the end of our stay, we felt very much like locals and were sad to go. I would very much recommend this comfortable apartment in a really great neighborhood away from the hoards of tourists in the busy part of Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and having a garden to relax in
Liked least: Only one bathroom.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you so much for writing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to really live the Roman life with all it's pleasures. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineC...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bellissima!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just back from 5 nights at Il Mio Gardino! My first extended visit to Rome, I absolutely loved the apartment location, a half a block from the Tevere River, a fifteen minute walk to the Colosseum, and in the heart of the lovely Trastevere section of Rome. We loved venturing forth on foot every morning to explore the splendors of Rome, then return to our beautiful garden and its lemon tree for a glass of prosecco. Many, many wonderful restaurant options for dinner within easy walking distance! We took advantage of the two day beds in the living room, which worked out beautifully for our group of four. Will definitely return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
Dear Caroline,
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Rome. We are equally delighted that you stayed in this dear apartment which feels almost like a house and had wonderful Rome weather, allowing you to take daily advantage of the delicious garden, By the way, other guests might like to know that we can make up the two single beds that you mentioned, as one large King.
Thank you so much for writing this review and come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSandJD
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best possible place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon. The apartment is located in the best part of the best neighborhood in Rome! It is away from tourists, yet a short walk to everything and near some of the best restaurants in the city. Cristina and Pasquale were so welcoming and kind, meeting us at the apartment when we arrived, taking us out for cappuccino and cookies and showing us around the neighborhood. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Rome!

Liked best: the location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
How delighted we are to hear that you thought Il Mio Giardino is the best. We hope that staying there contributed to making your honeymoon a success and creating memories for a lifetime. We wish you a wonderful future together, and hope that you will return to your Roman Garden for a Honeymoon or when you need a Romantic get-away (as every marriage does)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing