We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tasting menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marzapane

Marzapane
Ranked #603 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were the first table seated, but it soon filled up. Seafood Tasting menu was superb, highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrettMM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    247
    103
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked this restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary after reading a review in The Sunday Times. We were not disappointed. We had the fish tasting menu which was worth every one of the 55 euros a head we paid. The service was excellent and very accommodating. Our daughter is a very picky teenager and the chef happily prepared her plain pasta with a mountain of parmesan cheese grated on top. Every course was explained and was a work of art. You can understand them saying that if you are having the tasting menu the whole table has to choose the same one.
My favourite bit- the pistachio crust on the prawn tartare. I did not want it to end!
Extensive wine list, delicious home made breads and given a bag of chocolate cookies to take away.
Memorable dining experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_Family_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The only reason we found out about this restaurant was from a newspaper review which was very positive in its consideration. We booked initially for a Wednesday evening for a table of 6 and were surprised that we could get a table when booking on the same day after hearing how popular the restaurant was, however15 minutes later I recieved a call explaining that they couldn't accomodate us but could offer us a table for the Thursday evening - First impressions were not the best. On the Thursday our group booked a taxi from the centre of rome (anywhere from the colosseum to the vatican) as its just that little too far to walk for an evening meal. When we arrived the street was very quiet and unsuspecting and we finally spotted the front door. The waitress took our coats and seated us straight away. The restaurant is very small but giving it that friendly intimate feel, nicely decorated and depending where you are sitting you have a view into the kitchen to watch the chefs work their magic. While considering the menu they bought a complimentry bottle of champagne to us (whether this was because they changed our booking or its normal service I don't know but it was a nice touch). The whole table opted for the 33 euro 7 course taster menu, there is an extensive wine list to choose from ranging from 18 euros upto around 80 euros. We opted for a couple of the cheaper bottles which were really nice. When the food started arriving each course was perfectly presented and time was taken for the waitress to explain each part of the dish. As well as being perfectly presented every course was delectable, the highlights were rabbit roulade with quails egg and deep fried artichoke, beef cheek with shitake mushrooms and celeriac and a wonderfully different dessert. I recommend finishing the meal with a cup of tea from their wide selection which are sourced locally. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Rome to book this restaurant. The food was wonderful, the range of wine was vast and the service was second to none at a good price (cheaper than anywhere in London for that standard). This restaurant has been tipped for a Michelin star in the future and I can envisage that happening with the food and service being of such a high standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Food was pretty good, plating was beautiful, and service was quite good. However, just beware of the hidden "pane" charges. It is a shame.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JLIO-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great italian tasting menu... but not a typical rome experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I came here with my family, having booked a week ahead, and we had the 33 euro tasting menu which was great value. The homemade fig and pistachio bread was gorgeous, as was the beef cheek and the pasta course. The meatball was really tasty but the barbeque sauce somewhat uninspired (and didnt go with the cabbage it was served with)!. The cabbage course (cabbage served in 6 different ways) didnt have a sense of completeness as a dish... however the dessert of spicy cinnamon crumble, lemon custard and light gooey meringue was gorgeous! I could have happily eaten two! and the takeaway biscuits they give you were a lovely touch, and a delicious little reminder of the meal the next day!

wine was around 30 euro a bottle but the waiter recomended us a 16 euro bottle of delicious, smooth italian red. wine by the glass was around 6 euro and the waiter was happy to give recommendations. waiters were really knowledgeable about the food and explained each course as it came.

all in all it was a good meal and I would highly recommend it.... but if, like me, you only have a few days in rome I would stick with a traditional trattoria to get the real experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzapane also viewed

 

Been to Marzapane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing