We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly service”

BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar
Ranked #3,308 of 12,357 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $11 - $67
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Baldovino Ristorante Wine Bar is located in the Balduina district of Rome, the highest point of Monte Mario. The high level can also be found in the quality of its dishes, in the elegance and warmth of its atmosphere and in the professionalism of its staff. An ideal place both for lunch and for dinner with a cuisine transformable from morning to evening offering a menu of meat and fish for any taste. Everything is accompanied by a service attentive to details and a wine list that includes the most prestigious labels of all regions of Italy. Dedicated to everyone who not only has an appetite for food, but also for a new experience.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

It's not right in a tourist area, but was well worth the short walk from the Metro. The other customers all appeared to be local, mostly regulars. The staff was friendly and patient with me (I don't speak Italian), and spoke enough English to help me order. The meal was excellent and prices were fair. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotteuf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicholas M, Proprietario at BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your contribution and we are glad you enjoyed our food, the service and the room as a whole.
Only thanks to the comments of our guests we can improve our services and to build a product appreciated by our clienti.Vi come to our restaurant cordial greetings Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    46
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We took a taxi to this restaurant but it was worth it!
The food was excellent and a very good service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cooking i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas M, Proprietario at BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your contribution and we are glad you enjoyed our food, the service and the room as a whole.
Only thanks to the comments of our guests we can improve our services and to build a product appreciated by our clienti.Vi come to our restaurant cordial greetings Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A very fine meal”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I took our daughter and her fiancé to Baldovino during a recent visit to Rome.

Our experience was excellent in every way. We received attentive intelligent service from our first inquiries until we left the restaurant.

We had the tasting menu. Often this can be a challenge for us because restaurants inevitably want to serve a tasting menu to everyone at the table - and my wife does not eat meat although she eats fish and seafood. The staff made the necessary accommodations and we had a marvellous meal. For the meat eaters: Lo sformatino di broccoli e pecorino (A flan of broccoli and pecorino cheese served with pancetta; Gnocchetti al rosmarino con ragu' di cinghiale (tiny gnocchi with a ragu of wild boar; Galletto croccante al sesamo (very young capon with sesame sauce). For the pescaterian: Capesante, gelee di soya e cavolfiore al limone (scallops with lemon cauliflower puree) Paccheri di Gragnano all'arrabbiata di Spada (tubular pasta from Gragnano with spicy tomato sauce and swordfish, Coda di rospo, salsa Romesco e verza arrostita (monkfish with cabbage and Romesco sauce. We couldn't decide on the desserts so they brought each of us a tasting dish with all five of their offerings which included a superb tiramisu (done as it should be done), a chocolate fondant and one of the best cannolos that I have ever tasted.
The wines - the house sparkler (very good) that I unfortunately did not identify, a chardonnay from Tuscany Cabreo “La Pietra”, and a marvellous anglianico from Marisa Cuomo and a vin santo (again I failed to note its maker) from Lazio.

The service was excellent and we received attention without the feeling of being overwhelmed. A a table near us was set for 30 and a distinguished group of locals arrived midway through our meal requiring the attention of all the servers, but we never felt that we were being neglected.

This was certainly the fine dining highlight of our time in Rome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas M, Proprietario at BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your contribution and we are glad you enjoyed our food, the service and the room as a whole.
Only thanks to the comments of our guests we can improve our services and to build a product appreciated by our clienti.Vi come to our restaurant cordial greetings Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
236 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and good food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located quite a distance away from the nearest metro station, it took us quite a while before we found the restaurant. Prices here were quite reasonable for the type of ambience and food. We ordered their wild boar bresaola, mezza lune pasta, and paccheri spicy pasta. The wild boar bresaola was quite good, and was well accompanied by apples and cheese. The mezza lune pasta was stuffed with porcini mushrooms and duck, but I actually thought that the combination wasn't too good. The paccheri spicy pasta was better though; the swordfish they used was obviously quite fresh. Service was excellent - the staff were attentive, and even gave us some small dessert samplers when we declined to order desserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas M, Proprietario at BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your contribution and we are glad you enjoyed our food, the service and the room as a whole.
Only thanks to the comments of our guests we can improve our services and to build a product appreciated by our clienti.Vi come to our restaurant cordial greetings Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“When in Rome...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

What a brilliant restaurant - this was our last meal out on our 6th anniversary and was amazing.

I had the cod for starters and rabbit for main which were delicious. Had a dessert which I cannot remember the name of but that was great too.

Bill came to under £100 for the two of us which was great for such a posh place!

Definitely recommend. We had to hunt a bit for it but well worth it if you're in the area.

Service was THE best.

Thanks for a fantastic meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank lukeclark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant.
We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine, our service and the atmosphere.

When you come back to Rome, please visit us again and we let you try other chef ' s specialties.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to BaldoVino Ristorante&Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing