We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel nearest Colloseum”
Review of Anfiteatro Flavio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anfiteatro Flavio
Ranked #625 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good hotel nearest Colloseum”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very nice hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the Colosseum and close to major transportation and shopping places in Rome. Very friendly English-speaking staff. Very small, but cozy elevator. :-) All the rooms in this hotel inscribed in honor of various Roman emperors. Continental breakfast, that is, a modest but quite satisfying calorie needs a few hours of active sightseeing in Rome. In this hotel you can safely go back again if fate will once again visit this beautiful ancient city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AlexV1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    189
    117
    54
    48
See reviews for
106
228
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel - The hotel is spilt across the road of Via di Serpenti, it looks like the hotel has leased an apartment across from the main hotel to accomodate more guests, Not completely sure how many rooms are there as the name their rooms rather than number. The door into the main section is locked with a button to allow access in, Ideal if travelling with Children.

Room - Our room was a twin bedroom across the road in the additional rooms. It was well equipped with a (free) safe and air conditioning which is ideal as it was very hot during July and after sightseeing all day it was very welcome!
The size of the bedroom / bathroom was fine for two people, we didnt have the largest of rooms but seen as we only occupied it to sleep in it was perfect. The first thing my friend commented on when we got into our room was how clean it was!
There have been some comments made about accessing the Wifi in the additional rooms, if you ask at reception they have a seperate connection over there but only one of the receptionists seemed to know about it so keep asking!
Last point - the beds are a little hard but I like a hard bed so thats not always a bad point!

Breakfast & Services - Breakfast was very basic but ok, daily there was yogurts, cake, cereal, croissants, bread and fruit with freshly made coffee to order and orange juice. The lady who works on the breakfast is lovely and always happy to help!
We had a few receptionists during our stay - one was a little unhappy but the other 3 were friendly and welcoming. we asked for a taxi to return us to the airport and it was reasonably priced and 50 euros but we were leaving at 4.30am!

Location - THIS WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR STAY! This hotel is less that 3 minutes walk from the colesseum, 10 minutes to the Trevi fountain and 20 to the Pantheon, it really is amazing and definitely worth taking the chance on this hotel just for this!

Tips
1) We flew into Ciampino airport, as you come out of arrivals on the right you will see a local bus service that will take you to the Termini, from there you can take the metro to either Colesso or Cavour and walk to the hotel - this will save you around 30 euros!
2) Definitely get yourself a good map and walk around - you will be amazed what you stumble across, we usually got the metro to our furthest point and walked back checking out the sights as we went.
3) If you want to use the metro, there is an option of a ticket for 100 minutes but this is for one line only!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, null, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I went for a 9 day holiday in Rome. Checked in this hotel and found a wonderful room waiting for us. Our room was spacious, very clean and elegant. Our room had also an AC. It is just a few meters away from the Colosseum and the Foro Romano and we visited most of Rome attractions on foot as they are not very far. Just 5 mins away there is a metro station: Cavour. A lot of restaurants in the vicinities. The only thing that we did not like was the breakfast.... although it seems to be a continental one, it did not have a lot of selection... always the same on a daily basis. Lift is very small as well. Not ideal for a family with push chairs or with wheel chairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 6 nights at this hotel. The beds were hard but after a couple of nights I didn't notice as much. Breakfast wasn't great, my son didn't come down after the first day. Choice of 2 cereals, bread, croissants, cake and yoghurt. There was no toaster but there were packets of "toast" on the table. It was all too sweet for me.That's the bad points out of the way now the good. You could see the colosseum from the front of the hotel, it was clean and the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We had a room at the back which was very quiet and had air conditioning. There was a safe and fridge in the room that's included in the price which is a bonus. The location is great, everything is within walking distance. Would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location. Rooms are clean and enough to stay for 4-5 day holiday. Breakfast is good .
Its just a few hundred metres from Colosseum. We used the hotel as a starting point and walked to both the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgokbudak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want to be in the heart of Rome, within walking distance of just about everything, yet in a corner that is more "local" than most... this is the place. The hotel is clean and comfortable, we had a room into the courtyard so it was also relatively quiet (until breakfast preparations began). Its just a few hundred metres from Colosseum, but the street (via dei Serpenti) has a very local feel. There are loads of shops to grab a bite to eat, and the little square is really the place to experience a taste of Rome. Buy a bottle of wine, grab a few plastic cups, a slice of pizza and sit down with the locals by the fountain. They are sure to start chatting with you!!! If you're shy, try the restaurant Agnelloti on the corner for some special new flavours. For a first time visit to Rome, this hotel is perfect (if you don't require extra luxury, but do require an authentic feel and convenience).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#569 of 1,261 in Rome
258 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#200 of 1,261 in Rome
727 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#674 of 1,261 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#248 of 1,261 in Rome
600 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,261 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#229 of 1,261 in Rome
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anfiteatro Flavio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anfiteatro Flavio

Property: Anfiteatro Flavio
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 130, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #625 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anfiteatro Flavio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy and comfortable accommodation is located in a 17th-century Roman mansion in the heart of Rome, a stone's throw from the Colosseum (also known as the Anfiteatro Flavio), the Imperial Forum, Via Nazionale, the Spanish Steps, Via del Tritone, Piazza Venezia, the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Barberini and the Via Veneto. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has 21 comfortable and elegant rooms, each of which is named after a Roman emperor. Every room is equipped with: Private bath, Direct telephone, Color TV, A/C and Central Heating, Fridge, Hairdryer, Safe Box ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anfiteatro Flavio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anfiteatro Flavio Rome
Anfiteatro Flavio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing