We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to start trip in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarallucci e Vino

Tarallucci e Vino
Ranked #1,885 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Monti
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to start trip in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very friendly and nice atmosphere, even with 3 wild kids we had a great time there. The food was fresh and tasty, prices decent. Location also very good, parking in garage 1 minute far and Coloseum about 10 minutes in walking distance. Next time in Rome we will not miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A superb find in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This restaurant was a superb find, a real gem. My wife and I, together with our two friends went there a week ago whilst staying in Rome for a short break. We went in at 12 noon for lunch and stayed for three hours as the food, hospitality, service and ambiance were so good, we didn't want to leave! Always a good sign, this little restaurant soon filled up with local people who like us, knew when an establishment serves good food. As for our meal, our antipasti consisted of three huge sharing plates of cheese, meat and vegetables, this was followed by excellent pasta main courses and finally the deserts consisting of a selection of home made cakes followed by espressos. Meanwhile, we drank 2 litres of wine. The bill (conto) for all this? Less than 90 Euros for four people - amazing value. Finally, I would like to say to those visitors from the U S who thought it was "terrible", I would like to suggest that next time you visit to Rome, just go to McDonalds if that's the food you prefer! Leave Tarallucci i Vino to me and all those other people who love beautiful, good value, Italian cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Again, relying on TA for some of dining suggestions while in Rome, we were dissappointed. Perhaps our expectations were too high, knowing that this place was so high up on the list for Rome. As a visitor to Rome you have heard your whole life how wonderful real Italian cooking is, and maybe this also contributed to us being let down.
More generally, one has expectations and standards for what one of the top rated restaurants in a top city like Rome would be. This place fell sadly short of those.
The location isn't bad, but not great either. It's not in the historic center, but it is close.ish to Saint John Lateran, but that's still sort of out of the way, at least to where we were staying near the Vatican.
The ambience felt sort of like a cheesy Italian restaurant in the states, which really surprised us,
The food was just not up to snuff. We had some cheese and salamis to start which all seemed dry.
Our pasta dishes were alright, but both of my kids ended up with a stomach ache later in the day.
The service was nice, the waiters friendly.
What can I say, if I had found this place on my own I may haven given it a higher rating, but given the expectations that come with a top rated restaurant, I can't rate it highly at all.
Price ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulonges
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice food and a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Small restaurant with fresh made food. We enjoyed today a traditional Roman lunch.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull with tips.
We surely will come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jujucoulonges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, great food, great fun:)!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Small, typically Roman restaurant, where you will find great food at a great price. The owner, Valentina, is loads of fun, and speaks English. Primarily a lunch restaurant, but open on the weekend for dinner. Just a few tables, but Valentina will always find a space for you. If you want to enjoy "real" Roman eating and atmosphere, try Tarallucci e Vino.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JPVLondonGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarallucci e Vino also viewed

 

Been to Tarallucci e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing