We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superlean, spacious and well-connected retreat...”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
View from terrace Panoramic veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Terrace
View from terrace
Panoramic veranda
Panoramic veranda
Dining area
Kitchen
Terrace
The neighbourhood
View from terrace
View from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hannah E
1 review
“Superlean, spacious and well-connected retreat with sunny roofterrace for breakfast/dinner”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic time in Andrea's flat in Rome. Communication beforehand and during our stay was very clear and quick. As our flight arrived quite late in the evening, we were picked up by a driver arranged by Andrea. This was a great service: even though our flight was delayed, he was waiting for us and took us to the flat in no time. There, we were greeted by Andrea's father. He showed us around and explained how everything (gas stove, electricity etc) works. We spent a great week, every morning we made coffee with the Bialetti provided and had breakfast in the sun on the roof terrace. The flat (and bathroom) are super clean, fresh sheets on the bed. The neighbourhood is really calm and quiet at night, but in times of need there is a night shop just around the corner. The flat is located a bit out of the city centre, but connections to the heart of the city are really good: the tram stop (tram n.8) is 2 minutes walking and takes you to the Piazza Venezia in 20 minutes tops. In 10 minutes you're at Trastevere, with great bars and lovely restaurants. The tram runs regularly, also during the weekend and on Holidays. We'd love to go back to Rome one day and we'll definitely stay at Andrea's place again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Dear Hannah thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and I am delighted that you had a fantastic time at Penthouse Monteverde. Please come back soon you are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brontefan...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, bright and wonderful host”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Pristine apartment with comfy bed and sofa bed and all the amenities you'll need. a large terrace that looks over Roma, perfect for nightcaps. Get a coffee and croissant for under 2 euro at the cafe opposite the tram stop, before jumping on the 8 tram which takes you into the heart of the city in no time. Host Andrea will organise transfers to and from the airport, and has left lots of info to help you enjoy Rome without angst. Will return...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your positive review. It was an honour to host you and I would be delighted to see you soon in Rome! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_ager06
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for 11 nights and loved it. The apartment was clean and had all the amenities we needed, including sky tv! We spent many a night in after spending the days sightseeing and it really felt like home. Some stunning views from the rooftop of the city to.

It's nicely outside the city making it a bit quieter on an evening, but the tram stops only a 5 minute walk from the apartment, then it's a quick ride into the centre of Rome.

The neighbourhood looks a little rough round the edges, but after a good explore of the area, the local shops and bars we found everyone to be lovely and friendly.

The owner was wonderful to, emailing us with things to do and local attractions that are a bit off the usual tourist routes. Also booking our taxi to and from the airport making our trip enjoyable and hassle free.

The only downside is there's a fair few stairs to the apartment as its on the top floor, but you soon get used to it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Dear G

Thank you for choosing to stay at Penthouse Monteverde Rome and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was overall pleasant and that our location was convenient for travelling to the sites and attractions in Rome.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Rome.

Kind Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great apartment in a great location in Rome. Minutes away from the number 8 tram which whisks you to central rome in 15 minutes. The local area however is also worth exploring with the Villa Doria Pamphili park not very far away and some great local restaurants. La Gatta Mangiona is recommended.

Weather was very hot when we were there and it helped having air conditioning in the bedroom and the sun terrace was wonderful with the new furniture to watch the sunset whilst sipping a cold beer.

Only disappointment was theTrevi fountain was closed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sun terrace
Liked least: creaky bed!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little Gem and great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is about 20 minutes away from Rome centre on No 8 Tram. We caught the train from Flamenco Airport for 8 euros each and got off at Trastevere Station. Then you catch the tram no8 which is 3 stops and works out 3 euros for 2 people.
The apartment is a very short walk away. We were greeted by Andrea's father who was very helpful and showed us all around the apartment.
The apartment has everything you could need, including the little extras like foil, Clingfilm, tea bags, coffee, olive oil and plenty of cleaning material. The apartment is large in comparison to hotels and hotelaparts. The sun/TV veranda is stunning with excellent views. The balcony is large and a perfect sun trap pretty much all day. A little negative is its surrounded by Ariels of all sort of description.
The bed is large an comfy with extra sheets, pillows etc. The TV is Italian sky but you can switch the language to get many of the programmes in English although non of the terrestrial channels ie BBC, ITV are available.
The apartment was spotlessly clean throughout when we arrived and as I have mentioned there are plenty of utensils to keep the place clean. The kitchen is basic with a hob, fridge freezer and mini oven but was fine for basic cooking etc. There are pots, pans and cooking utensils available. There is also a coffee maker and toaster.
There is a washing machine in the bathroom/toilet which is always handy and washing powder was supplied. A shower was small especially for a person of my size but it did the job.
I got speaking to one of the pizza shop owners on the first night and he showed me the best supermarkets to go to. Its one stop on from where you get off at the tram station heading up the hill. There is a market there with plenty of fresh fruit etc, just down the road at the top of the market are 2 supermarkets 1 on each side of the road. Both are good value, we paid around 1.80 euro for a bottle of wine and 1.5 litre Fanta/coke were only 99 cents. The apartment has WiFi which works really well and I was even able to watch home TV on an app which does not usually work abroad.
I spoke to Andrea via email and on the phone and he is very helpful and genuine and I'm sure he would help with any situation. Its clear great pride and attention is taken with this apartment.
I would highly recommend this apartment as it gives you a feel of real Roman life but is close to the main tourist attraction. One thing to bear in mind would be the steps up to the apartment. Most healthy people will have no problem but its worth baring in mind for disabled people or anyone with a cardiac condition.
I will definitely be recommending this apartment to family and friends. If I was to visit this lovely city again I would definitely be contacting Andrea again and my wife and I pass on our thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun view
Liked least: Ariels on the balcony
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem v
Bennekom, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderful penthouse to visit wonderful city”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This penthouse was very suited for our family. My wife and I and our two grown-up children had lots of space. Inside and on the terrace with fantastic view. It is a little outside of the city-centre and we liked that. Gave us more the idea of being in Rome. It is a good place to digest al the impressions.
When we arrived Andrea's parents gave us a warm welcome. And Andrea helped us by instantly answering our questions by email.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;