We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
View from terrace Panoramic veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Terrace
View from terrace
Panoramic veranda
Panoramic veranda
Dining area
Kitchen
Terrace
The neighbourhood
View from terrace
View from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dirk S
1 review
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I don´t need to repeat all those positive reviews of the former guests; they are true. Andrea is a most pleasent landlord, and the apartement is highly recommendable for everyone who doesn´t mind taking 110 steps closer to heaven. Andrea gives you a perfect description on how to get there from the airport, but visitors should be prepared thoroughly with information about the Roman bus network for the days following.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime A
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I can't recommend enough to stay at the Penthouse Monteverde.
It was fully equipped, great location, very clean and excellent customer service
Thanks Andrea! Thanks Bernardo!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny497
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful long weekend at the Penthouse Monteverde, will definitely be back!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed at the Penthouse Monteverde on the 7th til the 11th. Had a fantastic time. The apartment is spacious and comfortable, just what you needed to return to after a day of walking around Rome. It had all of the amenities needed and kitchen was well stocked. The view from the terrace was fantastic, and luckily it was warm enough most days to enjoy it. Bed was very comfortable and slept really well. Having sky tv with a variety of English channels was also a plus. The tv did not work, however after calling Andrea, his dad came with a replacement within half an hour, which was great service! Andrea had no one staying in the apartment the day that we left, so he alllowed us to check out at 5, which I was not expecting and was lovely to relax on our last day.

I would recommend getting the taxi from the airport, which Andrea arranges for you for a fee of €35, it was great value for money and dropped you off right outside the front of the apartment.

Getting into central Rome was very easy too, the bus stop was a two minute walk away from the Penthouse, where we got either the number 8 bus/tram or the H. Public transport is great value for money, we purchased a 3 day ticket which could be used on any transport within Rome for €16.50 and it was definitely worth the money.

Overall, if your looking to have a fanntastic, relaxing holiday in Rome, I would recommend the Penthouse Monteverde!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased you found the apartment perfect for your holiday and we hope to see you again in Rome soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
greendoug
knaresborough
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet apartment in a good location.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our 7 night stay in the apartment and, as others have said, we found the directions and communication from Andrea were excellent. Tram 8 is easy to use and takes you to the main parts of Rome you wish to see. The local shops are good, but we didn't find the local restaurants very cheap, Trastevere area was probably cheaper. The local fish restaurant Trattoria del Pesce on Via Folco Portinari was excellent, but cost us 80 euros for dinner with wine. You may need to reserve, or be early, as it gets busy. 06.95945393.
Regarding the apartment, you should not under-estimate the five flights of stairs, but if you are reasonably fit they are not so bad!
Our only slight disappointment was the terrace. We did use it every evening, but it looks a bit dated, could use some new furniture, and the views through the array of TV aerials are rather spoiled. Some potted greenery would help to improve the feel we thought. I attach a couple of photos to show what I mean.
Having said this, we would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy tram access to most of Rome
Liked least: Stairs!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaEFP
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Rome”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We can't recommend this apartment highly enough. From the initial enquiry right through to checking out, Andrea and his dad couldn't have been more helpful. Even down to offering to accompany us to A&E at the local hospital to act as an interpreter when a mosquito bite decided to add the thrill of infection to our holiday experience - definitely above and beyond the call of duty!
Apart from the small inconvenience caused by the mosquito, we had an absolutely fantastic week at Penthouse Monteverde. The apartment is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Yes - it's on the 5th floor and there are a lot of steps to get to the front door but the views from the terrace and the comfort of the apartment itself more than compensate for that.
There are trams into Rome centre every few minutes and the nearest tram stop is less than a 5 minute walk away from the apartment. Our tip would be to buy tickets when you arrive that last for either a full day or several days worth of journeys on trams, buses and local trains. Also, consider buying a Roma pass which lasts 3 days - includes all of the above transport and 2 admissions to museums and other places of interest.
Don't miss the opportunity to visit local restaurants and cafes/bars in addition to those in Trastavere and Rome centre as you will find some real gems.
We had a fantastic week and are already looking at planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace
Liked least: Steps but worth it for the view from the terrace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place, a great space in a great location”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Penthouse from 20th to 28th July2013 and were given great advice from Andrea on exactly what train to catch from the airport and followed his directions from the tram to the apartment. The penthouse had all we needed for our stay in the kitchen, the tv lounge superfast WiFi and most importanly....air con for the bedroom and tv lounge it was very clean. The terrace is a very good size and we spent every night on there after returning from long days in central Rome. Andrea's dad was very helpful in pointing out how everything works. The apartment is in a quiet and very safe area about a 10 or 12 minute tram ride from central Rome. You get on the tram 2 minutes a away and ride it to the end of the line and you are arrive in the centre of everything within reasonable walking distance. I would strongly recommend this apartment as a fantastic base for a holiday in one of the world's great cities. Many thanks Andrea and your dad

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing