We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Candia Luxury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Candia Luxury House
Ranked #1,089 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Upon arriving pretty late we were welcomed by the friendly Alessandro who only works until 8:00 - 8:30 and was waiting for us until we arrived. I was instantly impressed by how clean and modern Maison Candia was particularly as the lift and outside door suggested otherwise. We got a standard room and it was adequate in size with the bathroom being the jewel in the crown. A sparkling clean jewel. The Jacuzzi bath was immaculate and ideal after a long day walking in Rome. The bed was comfy with a 32inch LCD hung on the wall. The attention to detail and quality was apparent throughout Maison Candia.

We had the pleasure of meeting the ever-so-friendly Lucy the next morning who brightened up our morning, every morning. The breakfast room is pretty close to the bedrooms nad the rooms are very close to each other. We a crying baby for company for 2 nights. The breakfast was adequate with the usual cereal, cold meats, bread and treats. The location is convenient for St Peters, Vatican Museums and Castel Sant Angelo, however it is a long walk from Trevi, Spanish Steps etc.. The Ottaviana Metro stop will serve you well as it is pretty close. There isn't a great deal of decent restaurants nearby and you will have to look hard to find something.

All in all I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reilstone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Both myself and my mother had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful boutique Hotel Maison Candia for 2 nights over May bank holiday weekend.
I booked the room hrough a hotel website, booking.com about a month before we visited and booked it based on the reviews it had received - and we certainly were'nt disppointed
I drove to Via Candia, the road which Maison Candia is situated using my beloved Sat nav with the rental car and had to double park right outside the hotel on the main road whilst unloading the car of the luggage.
You see the sign of Maison Candia outside what looks like an appartment block and we got a lovely warm welcome from Alessandro who speaks perfect english and who offered to help unload the luggage.We were directed by him and a map he'd drawn to a garage close by, which costs €20 every 24 hours but I still preferred this to parking on the very busy road.
An old and charismatic looking elevator took us up to the 3rd floor in a building of private apartments. Maison Candia houses 6 rooms (all ensuite)
Check in was very prompt and easy and we were booked and paid for a superior room (room 6) which was just being cleaned by Lucy.We had to wait about 10-15 minutes but this was perfectly fine as we turned up a little earlier than the anticipated and usual check in time.
Once shown to our room, we were extremely happy with it as it was immaculate, well appointed and had everything you'd want .The room was a good size, had a lovely very large modern LCD/plasma TV with SKY channels and a fully stocked fridge.
The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous,pristine and immaculately clean and came equipped with a spa jacuzzi bath :-) slippers as well as the usual bottles of soap, shampoo and body wash
Breakfast the next morning was very nice and there was a choice of cereals, cakes, usual continental breads, ham and cheeses. We were served a choice of hot drink, and once again Lucy who was responsible for this, she looked after everyone with a smile and extreme friendliness.
My mum loved talking to her as she was so very lovely, friendly and hospitable, again she spoke perfect english as she'd originated from one of the caribbean islands
We loved the location of Maison Candia, very very close to the Vatican museums, literally a street away ,as well as lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants within close proximity
I can certainly recommend this boutique hotel as its a little gem!!! I will certainly be revisiting Maison Candia when I return to the beautiful city of Rome with my husband!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights at Maison Candia. After finding the entrance and ringing a bell, we got a warm welcome from one of the staff and help to unload the luggage.Close by there is a garage for your car, which is €20 per day. An old elevator took us up to the 3rd floor in a building of private apartments. Check in was quick and easy and we got a superior room, which meant we had a spa bath. The room was immaculate, new, nice, well appointed and everything there what you needed . Good size, too. Very comfy bed. The bathroom was nice, too. The window led towards Via Candia, which is a busy road. But having the windows shut, we didn't hear any noise. Breakfast the next morning was great, especially Lucy, who was responsible for this, looked after everyone with a smile and extreme friendliness. Food was good and coffee as well.
We liked the location of Maison Candia, very close to the Vatican museums, ,as well as lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants. And when you come back to the hotel after a long day, there is a bottle of grappa and limoncello in the lobby and you can help yourself to a good night drink. It's all very easy, like being part of a family.
We can highly recommend this place. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

First, the Maison Candia Luxury House is not a B&B. it is a boutique hotel. A beautiful boutique hotel. The pictures are an exact representation of the hotel. It is exceptionally clean, comfortable, and very convenient to Vatican City, the metro and good restaurants. Good safe neighborhood with a great bakery next door.

Thanks Alessandro and Lucy for being the perfect hosts. You were so knowledgeable and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay so very much and will definitely see you again when we are in Rome.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. However, if you are a family and require two rooms they have an area where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Brand new, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and secure accommodation in Rome. Good breakfast included in the price, together with very friendly service from Lucy and Alessandro.
Maison Candia is located near the Vatican, on the metro A line, 6 stops from Termini Station. There is plenty of places to eat in the area. Highly reccommended for a short stay in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

On our arrival we was greeted with the big smile from the host. The room was beautifuly designed and was more than adeqate for us.Lucy looked after us and made our stay more enjoyable.Continental breakfast was good with great selection of food.
This is not your typical B&B as you feel that you staying in your own apartment .
Higly recomended to all !!!!!
Thank you Allesandro and Lucy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in mid-febuary. we chose the place because of its price and location. we were a bit worried as it was only newly opened. however much to our delight it turned out to be a beautiful stay. it is excelently located 5 min walk to vatican city 2 min walk to metro. the rooms are laid out beautifuly and the bsathroom is perfect with a great shower. the owners of the house are very helpful. If i was coming back to rome again i would definetly stay here and advise any of my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEP087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Residence Candia
#365 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#46 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Candia Luxury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Candia Luxury House

Property: Maison Candia Luxury House
Address: Via Candia 20, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,089 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Candia Luxury House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Candia Luxury House is without a doubt the perfect solution for an extra special experience in Rome.This Luxury House located right in the centre of Rome, perfectly combines the professionalism and hospitality of staff with sophisticated interior design.Located just 50 metres from the entrance to the Vatican Museums, less than 100 metres from renowned shopping streets such as Via Ottaviano, Cola di Rienzo and Piazza Risorgimento and just 500 metres from St. Peter's Basilica.Candia offers various room types and arrangements and knows how to welcome its guests in the best possible way, with style, elegance, and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maison Candia Luxury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing