We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Colosseum
Ranked #472 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is highly recommended. Very nice rooms, good attention, clean and well located (the Colosseum is only a 20 minutes walk and also has a Metro station really close). Good price by Rome standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plácido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very satisfactory stay! We had 3 nights here and found everything to be above standard for the price and location. Comfy bed. Will definitely come back. Walking distance from metros and Colosseum. Very safe. Feels just like your own apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a week in this B&B with my wife during June, it was a pleasant experience since all the staff where very nice and the rooms are clean and quiet - especially after they installed a noise block window.

The neighborhood is good as well, close to the Malzone subway station and to the Meraluna street where you can find a lot of good places to eat and shop.

My only complain is regarding the breakfast, this B&B have a kitchen but the breakfast is outside on a nearby shop. The food served there is average and the service is poor, I had to wait almost 20 mim to be served a croissant once and clearly the owner was giving more attention to locals. If you can try to negotiate with Gianluca and Andrea to skip breakfast and get a discount, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great B&B,

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights. The place is cozy and in a very convenient location (a short walk to the Coliseum and the “Fori Imperiali” and close to the subway station). Room was comfortable and clean and Gianluca the owner was very helpful in helping us navigating around Rome. Overall, we had a great time, would totally go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the El Dorado and it was a welcome retreat to the hustle and bustle of outside. The staff were all extremely friendly, and couldn't have been more helpful! Breakfast was great, served at a lovely café a couple of doors down! Coffee & almond croissant for breakfast went down a treat! I wouldn't advise Rome, we did not enjoy the hostile nature towards tourists, but if you do intend to go, I would most certainly recommend the El Dorado Colosseum!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank softscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at this little B&B in an apartment building in a great part of Rome. We liked being a bit away from all the tourists but were still close to a metro stop (just down the street) and good tram line, and only about 25 minutes walking to the Coliseum.

The family who owns this place is SO nice - we loved meeting them, and they took great care of us. They don't speak a ton of English but my Italian and their good efforts to speak English got us by just fine. They really made our stay special and we miss them. (Note: They do not live on-site but are there daily in the morning, and also made sure to be there when we arrived, which is nice, since we've read horror stories about other hotels of this type where no one is around to receive guests. This is NOT the case here thankfully.)

The rooms are good-sized for Italy - we had the Emerald room, which is the only one not on the street, which I recommend. As dumb luck would have it, they were repainting the building the 10 days we were there, so we couldn't open the window in the bedroom due to scaffolding, and there was a lot of noise, but it wasn't horrible. Of course, this wasn't the owners' fault - they even offered to move us to another room, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet in the evenings at the back most of all, so we stayed put.

The only drawbacks I can mention are:
- This isn't a B&B in the American sense - you have to go downstairs and up the street for your morning coffee and cornetto/croissant, but we didn't mind, as we highly enjoyed Cafe Ciamei and the people there were so friendly. If you're looking for big American breakfast, this isn't for you. If you want an authentic Italian experience, you'll get it here.
- The street is pretty quiet on this strip (the next block down is wider/more busy), but it could still be an issue for light sleepers. Remodeling work aside, the Emerald room in back would be great for those seeking quieter times, but note there is only 1 room not on the street (they only have 4 total).
- Given this is a huge flat turned into a 4-room guesthouse, you do hear noise from other guests, and some noise from neighboring apartments. We were lucky to be there in March, which was low season, so most days/nights we had the place to ourselves, but in high season, I could see it being a bit noisy. There are gorgeous tiled floors throughout, but you do hear people walking around and also doors slamming/closing.

Regardless of any of the above drawbacks, which are minor, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat. We were there initially in the low season and also right after they opened (they have a more established property of the same style in Prati near the Vatican), so we got a great price. Not sure what it would be during high season, but if competitively priced, I'd still recommend this place highly.

Overall we had a wonderful stay: it felt like home and the place is super cute, cozy, and clean, with nice furnishings, plush towels, and a super comfortable bed and pillows. There's even a kitchen where you can make coffee and tea (complimentary) and mini fridges in the room. (You cannot cook here.) We loved it!

Room Tip: The Emerald Room is the only one in the back/not on the street, so choose this one if you want quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at B&B El Dorado for 3 nights and it was indeed a pleasant experience. The owner Gianluca is very hospitable and helpful and had the initiative to ask what time we are arriving and provided suggestions on the quickest way to find the place. He also provided maps and taught how us to get to places from the B&B. Our room was clean, it was on the quiet site so we had good nights' sleep except for one day when there was some construction work nearby and heard people working around 9AM, which is about time for us to be up anyway. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the bathroom was spacious though shower area was a bit small but it was no big deal for us. There werent much toiletries provided which is fine because we bring our toiletries anyway. They changed sheets and towels everyday and nice surprise to find we have free breakfast at a nearby cafe/bar.Though it's pretty much the same stuff everyday, the coffee was undeniably good and the croissants / pastries were not bad either. The location is a comfortable walk to the train station (few blocks away) and bus stops and there were a few nearby places to grab quick bites (including gelato) and a laundry shop which we needed. Also walking distance from the Coloseum and the Roman forum. I'll definitely recommend this place - good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#45 of 3,779 in Rome
371 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,108 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Colosseum

Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 73, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $62 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Dorado Colosseum is the second Bed and Breakfast of the „El Dorado“ group, located in Rome’s historic centre, above Colle Esquilino and in close distance of some of the main sightseeing attractions and monuments. The Colosseum, the Forum Romano, the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore and Termini Station are all located within a five-minute walk of the B&B. Just 100 metres away from the B&B you will find the Metro Station “Manzoni”. From here it is only two stops to the Spanish steps and Piazza del Popolo and six stops to the Vatican City.The B&B is situated on the second floor in a recently refurbished historical building.The surrounding district offers a range of services such as, Bars, Restaurants, Pharmacies, or Banks. In addition, the staff of the B&B is happy to give you any additional information to assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Dorado Colosseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing