We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've stayed at! Great location, price, service and design.”
Review of Hotel Mancino 12

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mancino 12
Ranked #70 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have to admit, this hotel might be the best I’ve stayed in, when balancing price, location, size, service and room design (both aesthetics and function). I honestly can’t find a single complaint with it. If you’re visiting Rome, you’d be insane not to consider staying at Hotel Mancino 12.

In my review I'll try to hit on all the standard aspects of the hotel:

-STYLE: This hotel is recently renovated and looks very fresh and modern. It also has an elevator.
-LOCATION: The hotel is located a block and a half from Piazza Venezia, about a five minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, and a 10 minute walk to both the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon. Bottom line: you’re incredibly well positioned from this hotel. The hotel itself is down a street that is pretty tight – many taxis won’t drive down it, so plan to roll your luggage down a short block. From our room (#201) we didn’t have a notable view – just the building across the alley. A taxi stand is 2 blocks from the hotel.
-ROOM: We booked a superior double room (room #201). We had a queen bed (which was very comfortable), a full length mirror, a small desk, a flat screen tv, a chair, two cabinets and a large bathroom. The air conditioning was excellent and the room was larger than standard European rooms.
-BATHROOM: The bathroom was great – very stylish and functional. And the shower door fully closed (most in Europe only halfway close, which baffles me to this day). Ladies take note: there was excellent shower pressure to wash the shampoo out of your hair, bright lighting for makeup application, and an outlet next to the mirror, so you can curl/straighten your hair. Those might seem like small things, but they are next to impossible to find in Europe!
-INTERNET: Wi-fi was included in our rate and was very fast. We could watch videos and use Facetime with no problem.
-NOISE LEVEL: We had a room facing the alley and had no complaints with any noise, and I’m a light sleeper. No need for earplugs here!
-LUGGAGE RACK: Yep! I always think it’s an easy item to provide that makes a stay more comfortable. Not a big deal, but always appreciated.
-BREAKFAST: While we didn’t take advantage of it, the hotel appears to offer a continental breakfast for a small fee.
-SERVICE: Top notch. This is a very small hotel (I think only around 15 rooms), so the front desk staff double as the concierge. They were top notch and really enhanced our already favorable view of the hotel.

And just to highlight the excellent service at the hotel, know that the staff exceed expectations. One of our electrical adapters got stuck in an outlet due to our own stupidity. Not one, but TWO of the staff at the hotel literally shocked themselves to get it out for us. I don’t believe that’s in their job description, but it was very much appreciated. If they were willing to shock themselves for us, know that they’ll easily go above and beyond for you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mancino 12
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014. Glad we did. Spotlessly clean & close to shops, eateries & public transport.The hotel is brilliant. The staff are the best & speak English.Have a crack at speaking Italian .. they'll help with pronunciation & everyone has a laugh!
Will be staying there again next trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After trawling Trip Advisor for somewhere to stay in Rome I decided to stay in the Hotel Mancino 12 , and all I can say is I'm glad I did ! It is within walking distance of all the major sites and easy to get to from the main train station .
Rooms are clean , very well equipped quiet . Staff are first class like the hotel !
La Cabana is two doors away and serves a varied and good menu .
Can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Driftwood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Mancino 12. I booked it based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and must say that the reviews were correct. The hotel was in a fabulous location. A short walk to most tourist attractions. The furthest place was the Vatican and that was probably only 40 mins walk. The Trevi fountain, Colleseum and other attractions were within 5mins walk.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous and the rooms were modern and nice. The room was small but very comfortable. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Mancino 12.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Kris879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I regret that I was only in Rome for 24 hours, but I don't regret a moment of the time I spent at the Hotel Mancino 12. I normally travel alone, and as a single woman I'm always trying to balance value against safety and a central location, and the Mancino 12 was wonderful on all counts. The rooms were pretty tiny if you're used to American-sized rooms, but the hotel was smack in the center of Rome so I certainly wasn't going to complain about the tiny bed or the lack of floor space. This hotel is a five minute walk to the Forum, 15 easy minutes (i.e. past lots of shops and restaurants that were open late) to Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, and 20 from the Spanish Steps. I would have felt very comfortable calling the Mancino home for a week, even if I'd been traveling by myself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saritaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was modern, very clean and good size. The staff were very friendly and offered advice on where to go, how to get places and suggestions for eating out. There was always someone on the front desk so it was very handy. The hotel was in a very central location and we walked everywhere. I would revisit this hotel. Great accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hotel is on a quiet street/alleyway just yards off via del corso and very decent walking distance to to all attractions. Room was modern with great shower. Not huge but decent size. Would stay here again. 2 caveats. The fitness center they "share" with a sister property is a 40 minute walk from the hotel. Also, despite the fact that the street is available to taxis, our driver from the airport insisted it was not and we had to take bags a block to reach the hotel.

Overall. If you like boutique. Hotels, you will enjoy mancino 12.

One tip: the best rate for changing dollars to euros was at the change place which was in a store on Via del Corso ( it's marked CHANGE) right when you exit the back way form the hotel. Once you get to del Corso you see it right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irwinblevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,267 in Rome
1,548 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#28 of 1,267 in Rome
735 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mancino 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mancino 12

Address: Via del Mancino 12, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $195 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mancino 12 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mancino 12, a few steps from the Trevi fountain, is just close to the Renaissance Guglielmi palace and next Piazza Venezia. Thanks to its strategic position, it is the ideal hotel to stay in Rome for short or longer periods of time, or even just for a weekend in the very centre of Rome. For those who are looking for a a special stay, the exclusive suite with panoramic terrace at the last floor of the building is the perfect location to experience the city from above.The rooms of the hotel will welcome you in an elegant ambience, with the quietness and intimacy you are looking for to then live Rome with the right energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mancino 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing