We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domus Liberius

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Domus Liberius
Ranked #44 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
“Weekend in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location in Rome, 5 min from Termini station. You can walk if you want, take a cab, bus or train. There is a cab stand right across the street.
If you come from the Fumicino Airport, the cab will charge you €48.
This was our first time in Rome, so we'd rather walk to see more of the city. The place is inside an apartment building, so you won't have a "big hotel" feeling. It's like visiting friends. Helpful and very friendly staff and owners. Free good quality WiFi. The rooms have adequate size and are totally clean. Shared breakfast is very good, my only complaint is many carbs. Me and my wife would like more protein variety.
Overall this is an excellent choice to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch_Vargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    184
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
213
449
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

domus liberius is a new hotel, just 5 min from the Termini train station. the decoration was great, it is a brand new hotel. the staff and the owner Sal were extremely friendly and helpful. For me and my boyfriend the location was not very convenient. it was close to colosseum and the other touristic destinations, however it was a bit far to Spagna, Piazza Navona etc.. Instead of taking a cap at night, it would be preferable to walk back to the hotel.

To sum up, it's a great hotel to stay, with super kind staff, clean and new rooms. but you have to walk 20min to get to the city center.. I'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here a week, and each morning enjoyed the smell of the fresh baking croissants
served by Andreea and Oksana.-- Sal & Lisa the owners were incredibly helpful and generous with their time for our myriad of questions about where to go next.We came from Florence by train
so the nearness to the station--and the subway made it very easy to get around this incredible city.

Room Tip: interior rooms are probably best, as churches here don't just ring their bells on the hour, or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7011Cypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here after touring southern Italy by car. We've been to Rome many times and thought we 'd try something a little different this time especially since this property was close to the train station where we dropped off our car rental. The location is also very convenient to many of the historical points of interest and Monti, an area we decided to explore a bit this time around.

The guest rooms are situated on the third floor of a large apartment building with elevator access. The are no signs outside so the vibe was very private and personal as opposed to a traditional hotel. There are also shared kitchen areas if you care to store any groceries and/or prepare food. The rooms and bath are not very large but the space was adequate, comfortable, clean and modern. It was also nice staying on one of the quieter streets in central Rome with a taxi stand and absolutely gorgeous church and piazza right across the street. Sal, Lisa and staff provided first rate service and breakfasts were above average for an Italian B&B category properrty.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jafny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

For us, the location near the train station (including the subway and train to the airport) was perfect. Everyone on the staff was kind, efficient, enjoyable Sal and Lisa were incredibly helpful when we had questions or wanted recommendations. Andreea and Oksana pampered us beyond belief - even above and beyond the freshly baked croissants and rolls for breakfast every day. The room was small, which is what we wanted, and as clean as can be. We were lucky to be placed in a room with an interior window - otherwise I fear the church bells would have been too much for us to get the rest we needed when we came "home" after a busy day. We would recommend Domus Liberius to anyone - traveling with children or traveling alone and certainly for a romantic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaliaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Domus Liberius for 5 nights in June/July 2013, it was P E R F E C T!

First of all, THE lovely owners. Lisa and Sal are the nicest people you'll ever meet. they are SO kind and generous, it feels like you're staying over your best friend. Sal gave us all the information needed for having the best vacation, including a map, buses' numbers and what not. Sal recommended us to go visit the Vatican Museum and to order tickets online (big lines there). after having problems with our credit card, he even offered to pay with his CC and that we return him the money later! seriously, we cannot thank you enough.

Secondly, the staff!! AMAZING young ladies who arrives every morning at 5am to bake you fresh croissants, creps, cakes and prepare an excellent breakfast. and the most important part - they all speak perfectly good english (which shouldn't be taken for granted in Italy).

Location is key. you'll be in the centre of Rome and close to EVERYTHING! 30 mins to Leonardo da Vinci airport (tip: order a private shuttle). 1.5km to the Colosseum and if you walk 2km more you'll reach the Vatican (or you could just go downstairs and take a bus).

Public transportation. a 5 mins walk to Termini train station and Buses to the old city and to the center.

The hotel is abolutely gorgeous. all the rooms are super clean, new and beautiful. our room was very large and had a lovely view to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (largest Catholic Marian church in Rome). a king size bed, firm and of high quality.

Also, free WiFi was great.

What more could one ask for?
We can't say enough good things about this hotel. seriously, just do youself a favour and try it! you're welcome.

And to you Lisa and Sal, Thank you very much for being so kind to us. you're highly appericated and we wish you the best of luck.
No doubt, we recommend this hotel to every friend that asks us about Italy.


An extra tip: buy a weekly bus ticket and avoid heavy fines :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Domus Liberius is a completely renovated bed and breakfast on the third floor of a historic building facing Santa Maria Maggiore at the heart of Rome. It is close to the train station (Termini), which is practical, but still far enough so that it does not suffer from the usual "seedy" situation that one encounters close to most train stations in big cities.

The rooms and bathrooms are totally new and clean and are kept in an excellent shape. The style of the interior and the furniture is simple and contemporary, perhaps a bit "IKEA-ish". The bed mattresses are very comfortable. The rooms are cleaned spotless every day. The room I stayed in was facing an interior yard and was very quiet. The breakfast was very good and included croissants, breads, boiled eggs, freshly made creppes, cakes(s), fruits, yogurt, cereal, etc, and great espresso.

Sal (Salvatore), the owner, is both a professional and most importantly a true host. He suggested a restaurant close by which was very nice, and made a reservation to the Borghese Gallery for me and my wife, which he paid with his own personal credit card, and for which I reimbursed him in cash. He didn't hesitate to give me a copy of his ID and credit card in case they would ask for it in the museum.I (thought). Most importantly, I thought I had a serious health problem, and Sal called up a doctor in the middle of the night and actually spent the night in the room next door to make sure everything turned all right. He is on top of things and you can tell that he has a large heart, which are the right ingredients to make a great host. The staff was also very polite and helpful. Everybody speaks good English. So, absolutely A+++ on hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#19 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Monti
Relais Forus Inn
Relais Forus Inn
#50 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#26 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,067 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Monti
Mok'house B&B
Mok'house B&B
#17 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#35 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Liberius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Liberius

Property: Domus Liberius
Address: Via Liberiana 17, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Domus Liberius 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new town house located in the heart of the city. All rooms have en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, safe deposit box, mini-fridge, hairdryer. Grand Opening December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Liberius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing