We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the BEST hotel in all of Rome!!!”
Review of Domus Liberius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Liberius
Ranked #51 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“the BEST hotel in all of Rome!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Domus Liberius for 5 nights in June/July 2013, it was P E R F E C T!

First of all, THE lovely owners. Lisa and Sal are the nicest people you'll ever meet. they are SO kind and generous, it feels like you're staying over your best friend. Sal gave us all the information needed for having the best vacation, including a map, buses' numbers and what not. Sal recommended us to go visit the Vatican Museum and to order tickets online (big lines there). after having problems with our credit card, he even offered to pay with his CC and that we return him the money later! seriously, we cannot thank you enough.

Secondly, the staff!! AMAZING young ladies who arrives every morning at 5am to bake you fresh croissants, creps, cakes and prepare an excellent breakfast. and the most important part - they all speak perfectly good english (which shouldn't be taken for granted in Italy).

Location is key. you'll be in the centre of Rome and close to EVERYTHING! 30 mins to Leonardo da Vinci airport (tip: order a private shuttle). 1.5km to the Colosseum and if you walk 2km more you'll reach the Vatican (or you could just go downstairs and take a bus).

Public transportation. a 5 mins walk to Termini train station and Buses to the old city and to the center.

The hotel is abolutely gorgeous. all the rooms are super clean, new and beautiful. our room was very large and had a lovely view to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (largest Catholic Marian church in Rome). a king size bed, firm and of high quality.

Also, free WiFi was great.

What more could one ask for?
We can't say enough good things about this hotel. seriously, just do youself a favour and try it! you're welcome.

And to you Lisa and Sal, Thank you very much for being so kind to us. you're highly appericated and we wish you the best of luck.
No doubt, we recommend this hotel to every friend that asks us about Italy.


An extra tip: buy a weekly bus ticket and avoid heavy fines :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    231
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
247
543
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volos, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Domus Liberius is a completely renovated bed and breakfast on the third floor of a historic building facing Santa Maria Maggiore at the heart of Rome. It is close to the train station (Termini), which is practical, but still far enough so that it does not suffer from the usual "seedy" situation that one encounters close to most train stations in big cities.

The rooms and bathrooms are totally new and clean and are kept in an excellent shape. The style of the interior and the furniture is simple and contemporary, perhaps a bit "IKEA-ish". The bed mattresses are very comfortable. The rooms are cleaned spotless every day. The room I stayed in was facing an interior yard and was very quiet. The breakfast was very good and included croissants, breads, boiled eggs, freshly made creppes, cakes(s), fruits, yogurt, cereal, etc, and great espresso.

Sal (Salvatore), the owner, is both a professional and most importantly a true host. He suggested a restaurant close by which was very nice, and made a reservation to the Borghese Gallery for me and my wife, which he paid with his own personal credit card, and for which I reimbursed him in cash. He didn't hesitate to give me a copy of his ID and credit card in case they would ask for it in the museum.I (thought). Most importantly, I thought I had a serious health problem, and Sal called up a doctor in the middle of the night and actually spent the night in the room next door to make sure everything turned all right. He is on top of things and you can tell that he has a large heart, which are the right ingredients to make a great host. The staff was also very polite and helpful. Everybody speaks good English. So, absolutely A+++ on hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything is excellent. Good location close to the station and to the main historica lbuildings of the town. Good breakfast and good rooms, good common areas. Pleasant stay even for the kindness of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emanuela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfo Boario Terme, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perfect place for staying in Rome! Nice people, very clean. The staff paid a great attention since we arrived in the b&b. I don't have nothing negative to say about my staying there. Very easy to find and to reach. So close to the center that you can go back in the room for a little rest in any moment of the day simply walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Agree with the other revieuws on this site and booking.com.
Rooms are modern and clean, people are very friendly and always ready to help you for a better stay. WIFI didn't work in my room probably problem with an antenna but ok in the common area. Breakfast is enough for a good start but not the best one (orange juice and bread can be better ...). no doubt : B&B to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall, this place is a most pleasant surprise to both my daughter and myself , who spent 4D3N in Rome .
Completely new furnishing and WC inside our room and breakfast area , so different from the old facade of the main building. Absolute compliments to both Interior Designers and owner for their good taste and functional usage and decor of the room, the WC, the lightings and the breakfast area, even equipped with an ATM machine.
Service staffs are helpful and breakfast was excellent, with freshly baked breads and toasts plus aromatic fresh coffee daily.
As for the location, it is extremely convenient being very near to the Termini Station, just opposite the Cathedral Santa Maria Maggiore, and within minutes of walking to The Colosseum, and lastly not to mention there are good and reasonable eateries around this area.
The only lift to our floor broke down during our 4 days' stay, but thanks to the Management which organised porter to help with our luggage up and down the stairs.
The wifi inside the room was a bit slow but overall, its a superb place to stay in Rome !!!
Thank you so much to Sal & team !!!
Lee Chin & daughter Sarah
Singapore

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Chin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I can't really think of any negative points. The B&B is very nice, especially the people. It's location close to Termini is also convenient. When I was there, they just started to better isolate against noise. They have facilities to make your own drinks or prepare domething.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,263 in Rome
391 reviews
Monti
Relais Forus Inn
Relais Forus Inn
#49 of 3,692 in Rome
637 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,121 in Rome
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#24 of 3,692 in Rome
391 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,692 in Rome
736 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#34 of 3,692 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Liberius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Liberius

Property: Domus Liberius
Address: Via Liberiana 17, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Domus Liberius 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new town house located in the heart of the city. All rooms have en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, safe deposit box, mini-fridge, hairdryer. Grand Opening December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domus Liberius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing