We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals know best”

Coso Wine and Restaurant
Ranked #569 of 12,271 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Colonna
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Locals know best”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Coso was recommended to us by our hotel and we went back twice more to enjoy the quality of food, atmosphere and welcoming staff. The menu is well priced and the food is good Roman fare with some interesting variations thrown in. The house red is 10 euro - a great montepulciano. The cacio e pepe (cheese and pepper pasta) was first rate as were the other pasta dishes we tried.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    390
    120
    44
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent restaurant, Delicious food, the service was excellent, and we went back several times! The waiters are very nice and gave us great tips about the dishes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must whilst in Rome”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a week in Rome we were really looking for a place to eat which felt more like a local restaurant than a tourist spot. Coso ticked the box. It is tucked away in a little corner with not a sign of red and white tablecloths instead it was a gorgeous neutral themed restaurant which screamed locals dine here. we had dinner here last night on a gorgeous balmy rome evening and sat outside. Our waitress, Gaia was absolutely delightful. the menu in in Italian but the waiters speak very good English. I had the pasta with zucchini flowers and prawns which was absolutely beautiful followed by what had to be the lightest mille foglie with Chantilly cream I have ever had. this place was so good we went back for lunch today. honestly this is really a must visit in rome as the menu is very different and very reasonable. they have set price menus as well. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We liked everything about this place.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and professional service, very reasonably priced wine list and menu divided into traditional Roman and more adventurous. Will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food all round and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was very interesting. They have 2 sides to their menu a traditional and twist.. We had dishes from both sides and it was a refreshing change. Good quality prosciutto and mozzarella, beautifully cooked steaks. One of the few places we ate that had locals eating too. Recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greensabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coso Wine and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coso Wine and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing