We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it, helpful staff, close to metro and train station”
Review of Hotel Caracciolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caracciolo
Ranked #665 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We are family of four with two teenagers. We chose this hotel based on the location. The room is big enough, clean eventhough bathroom is very small, which is not uncommon in Italy. Manuel is vey helpful in giving the directions to all the places. I recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ru89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had booked a three day stay in another hotel that was actually fully booked and offered us accomodation to hotel Caracciolo. I have no idea what the other hotel looks like in reality but this hotel was not what we expected at all.
The room they gave us was small, which wasnt a problem really, the view was literrally other people's laundry and garbage and the room itself was smelly and full of stains on the walls. In one word DEPRESSING. We asked for another room on another floor (ours was on the ground floor)but nothing came of it. In addition, breakfast was served until 9.30 which is too early. To make a long story short we left after the second night, even though we paid for three. What suprises me the most is that people would chose to stay in such a low standards hotel when in the same price tag can book a room in a better area and with better accomodation standards.
To be fair the people at the reception, which seemed to do every work in the hotel, were helpful but this is hardly enough to make up for such a lousy experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knikol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel facility is what you'd expect from a 2 star hotel. Only 10 mins walk to Roma Termini. We stayed 4 nights in the 2nd week from March. Our room was clean enough although we think they should do a better job cleaning it. However the staff were so helpful and friendly that it made up for everything else they lacked. Mario was a hoot, and Sarah knows the best gelato places.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwiradjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed one night, arriving in Rome late in the afternoon and leaving by train the following morning. This hotel was fine for a short stay, but the area in which the hotel is located is not the greatest although it is close to a metro stop. The hotel was very clean, rooms comfortable, the staff helpful and pleasant. I would certainly stay here again if I needed a hotel close to Termini station.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2islandhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Positive: 1) Quiet room and neighborhood. 2) Bathroom has necessary amenities.

Negative: 1) Unhelpful service desk: This really gets me: We arrive in Rome in the last train late at night. Upon arrival after a long travel/day, we asked whether there was water available -- just a cup suffices given our long walk/day and time of the day: 11pm at night. The staff "kindly" offered us a bottle without any words. The next day when we checked out, the hotel charged us $2 euro for this bottle. Stupid service: just tell us that it would be $2 when he didn't want to give us any free cup of water after a long day and late arrival at night, and we will decide ourselves whether to drink this costly water. If not for such poor service, would rate this hotel a bit better. 2) Kinda far if you walk with luggage: had to cross streets not designed for travelers with luggage. 3) TV screen blanked out after 30 min of usage and became essentially a radio. 4) Breakfast is subpar (if I remember correctly, no water for breakfast, either)

Given our late arrival, we didn't have much time to evaluate other necessary parts of the hotel amenities, e.g. Internet access. However, the service attitude/snafu with the water is already enough an indicator as to what kind of hotel this is and the kind of service they offer. Go somewhere else for the same price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Went there with 3 children - 11, 7 and 7 months. Staff absolutely could not have been more helpful. I emailed beforehand to ask whether I could buy my baby's specific formula milk in Rome (as I didn't want to use all my baggage allowance on milk) and they responded immediately to say they'd find out and then emailed the next day to say that one of them had gone to the local pharmacy to find out for me and they gave me all the info (and more) regarding getting the milk. When we were there they couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and lovely to us - with regard to the children and with regard to absolutely everything. The family room was fine - like a UK Travelodge Family Room. The breakfast was fine (I've seen mediocre reviews on this but really, it was all laid out to help yourselves, bread, meats, cheese, pastries, cereal, yoghurt, coffee, tea, juice - what more do you want from a mid-priced hotel?). It wasn't in the centre but was near enough to walk and was typical of any major city area near a main line train station- we were 2 women with 3 children and we felt ok walking about at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a family with young children and specifically I would recommend it to a family with a baby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 280Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Nice room, not big but not too small. Location is convenient. The neighborhood is not pleasant, but not scary. Staff are friendly. Brakefast could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#494 of 1,270 in Rome
320 reviews
Esquilino
Elyse
Elyse
#942 of 1,270 in Rome
87 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#966 of 1,270 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#607 of 1,270 in Rome
149 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#434 of 1,270 in Rome
429 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#700 of 1,270 in Rome
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caracciolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracciolo

Address: Via Cairoli 86/88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $45 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caracciolo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Caracciolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracciolo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing