We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome!”
Review of Martina House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martina House
Ranked #1,706 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“When in Rome!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After our long flight from Toronto, we were met by our limo driver (arranged by Martina), who sped us to Martina house. It is truly a step back in time. Martina was our host, and she made sure our stay was a success! She showed us the ropes. We saw all the important sights. Most of all, we felt at home. Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful. Martina, you are the best. next time we are in Rome, I hope you have a room for us. I highly recommend Martina House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Martina House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic review! Your words are the best reward for our daily efforts to exceed our guest expectation! Thanks a lot!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
42
68
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just by the Villa Borghese park and via Veneto, this is a great spot. 10 mins walk from the Spanish steps, the welcome to this lovely b and b is great. The age of the building makes it really interesting, but a little stressful with younger children as things are rather delicate. Would highly recommend to adults, and the breakfasts are simple but carefully prepared with super fresh ingredients. Good value and we also used the very useful private transfer which is only fractionally more than a cab and well worth it. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfeffer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Martina House (Via Lazio) finding it a lovely balance: feeling pampered having our breakfast served to us but balanced by coming and going with our own keys making it feel like a home. The period details made it extra special too. Great position and competitive price make this "highly recommended".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinahouse, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Martina House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for nice review! We are glad you have enjoyed your staying and we 'll wait for you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of May 2012 at the family apartment on Via Toscana (owned by Martina House B+B). We are a family of 4 (children 6 & 9). The apartment is very well located, within walking distance of sights such as the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Borghese Park, Capuchin Crypt; just a short distance down the street is a supermarket; around the corner is a bus stop, and the metro is just a couple of blocks further on. It's located in a quiet street in a well-heeled area, and the building is secure.

However our enjoyment of the apartment was seriously affected by the poor standard of cleanliness - put simply it was dirty and unhygienic. On the day of our departure, we waited for Martina (whom we'd not met) for the 10.00am 'check-out' so we could show her in person our concerns. However by 10:25 she had still not shown up and we didn't wish to delay our final day of sightseeing in Rome. So, Martina, here is the run-down on the apartment we had wanted to provide personally. This is intended to be contructive so that future guests do not have a similar bad experience.

CLEANLINESS
Please, Martina, employ a professional cleaner! The apartment was dirty:
1. There was light brown grime in the back of the handbasin (like when someone has removed make-up); there was also a black hair beside the taps
2. Bath: more black hair
3. The black and white duvet on the fold-out couch bed had several smears of blood on it (at the bottom end)
4. The mustard coloured bed covers on both beds looked as if they hadn't been washed for quite some time
5. The plates and cutlery in the kitchen were unclean, several layers down they were wet and still had smears of food on them
6. The kitchen sponge was old and disintegrating
7. The kitchen rubbish bin was not lined
8. The apartment was thick with dust. As I was unable to show you this in person, I drew big crosses in the dust with my finger on the furniture that was particularly bad eg. the bedside tables, the table on which the tv stands, and one of the tables in the main room

KITCHEN
Your website describes this as a "completely equipped kitchen". OK, so it had 2 hobs but that was it. No oven, microwave, electric kettle, not even a toaster. Can I recommend that at a very minimum you provide a simple toaster? There was only one sharp knife - a breadknife. If we'd wanted to cut vegetables, I suppose we could have improvised. But what would we have cut them on? There is not even a chopping board provided. You ask your guests not to leave any dirty dishes (and we didn't). However, perhaps the state of the dishes when we arrived can be explained by the fact that not only was there no teatowel to dry the dishes, but there was also no dish scrubber, and even more basic there was no plug for the kitchen sink to fill it with water! Also, please remember to turn the kitchen water boiler on so that there is hot water in the kitchen for guests. As foreigners, we don't have a system like this, so for the first 24 hours assumed there was simply no hot water in the kitchen.

SERVICE
You provided us with a cellphone number and said we shouldn't hesitate to call if there were any problems after our arrival. You had our flight details and the flight was on time. Yet when we arrived at the apartment there was no-one there to meet us. Being late in the evening our 6 year old was asleep in my husband's arms and there we were in a foreign country, an unfamiliar street, unable to gain access to the buidling, surrounded by our luggage while it lightly rained on us. When I rang the number you provided the phone was turned off. About 15 minutes later a man eventually arrived to let us in. Nonetheless this was a stressful way to begin our holiday.

OTHER AMENITIES
1. Can I suggest that you don't mention the TV on the English language part of your site? WIthout even one English language channel for non-Italian speakers, it is pointless.
2. I recommend you purchase new pillows for the beds - several of those provided are old, overly bulky and lumpy.
3. Some basic maintenance would be helpful: the cupboard door above the hobs in the kitchen is about to fall off its hinges; the fridge door has a similar problem. And the dining room table feels very unstable.

Your apartment has many positive features that most accommodation can't replicate - in particular the excellent, quiet and secure location. However, it is very badly let down by the lack of attention to such basic requirements as cleanliness - something which is fully within your control to address.

I hope you will accept the above feedback in the spirit in which it is offered, and act on it in order to substantially improve the experience for those who follow us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinahouse, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Martina House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We would like to answer to the hosts who stayed with the family showing the "Certificates of Excellence" achieved for two years in a row. These certificates are the result of the average of the reviews of tourists who stayed with us. As you know cleaning is one of the factor considered. Judge yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A cosy little B&B with great service and good location.
We were 3 ladies (two in their 60´s and one in her 30´s) in one room and it worked well tho the room was small: one double bed and an extra bed, one tiny bathroom.
Martina cooked and served nice breakfast and gave good Rome-advice on the side :)
It's well worth it to pay a little extra for a ride from and to airport: maybe it was Martina's dad who gave us a comfy ride in his nice car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinahouse, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Martina House, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for the review and thank you for have mentioned our shuttle service that waits for you at the airport and fetch you at Martina House directly! We always explain this solution in our e-mail because can be the easiest way for travellers! we are happy you have enjoyed the breakfast, we try to make you taste some italian products! Thank you very much and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

A fantastic place to stay when visiting Rome. I would definitely recommend to anyone. Martina's service was amazing - she went out of her way to help us. The rooms were both clean and tidy with everything we could possible need. The amazing decor of this B&B is fabulous - so much better than staying in a large, corporate, unfriendly hotel. My only negative point was that the breakfast was a little lacking in choice, it was fine for me and my husband, but our Veggie friend found bread and jam and cake the only option. I'm sure if we had mentioned it to Martina in the beginning she would have had more choice, but to be honest we were not that bothered as eating out was at the top of our priority list!

Amazing B&B with amazing service and in a good location where you can walk to all the normal sights.

Room Tip: A fantastic place to stay when visiting Rome. I would definitely recommend to anyone. Martina's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinahouse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Martina House, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks a lot for the beautiful words. Knowing that you have enjoyed is our greatest satisfaction. All the comments that our guests have left push us to try to get better and better, in fact, from now on we will consider the needs of those who follow special diets! hope to see you and your friends soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza A
Residenza A
#509 of 1,257 in Rome
200 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#648 of 1,257 in Rome
511 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza Borghese
Residenza Borghese
#702 of 1,257 in Rome
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#583 of 1,257 in Rome
324 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lazio Elegance Suite
Lazio Elegance Suite
#1,873 of 3,664 in Rome
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina House

Property: Martina House
Address: Via Lazio 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,706 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martina House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Veneto, the heart of Dolce Vita, in the centre of the town, Martina House is five minutes walking far from Spanish Steps.The double rooms have private bathroom, LCD, frigobar, air conditioning and wifi connection. From the windows over Via Veneto you have the panoramic view of Villa Borghese, the most beautiful park in Rome, and the people crowding the shops and the bars of the famous street.All the rooms have soundproof windows, decorated doors and walls.The very charming and convenient four stars solutions for travellers that want to feel the real atmosphere of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Martina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martina House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing