We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
1,146
402
45
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,146
402
45
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar termini station top floor where breakfast is served free upgrade nespresso machine mini bar small lift fantastic hotel breakfast area our honeymoon would definitely stay here again hop on hop deluxe room roof garden stayed here for nights loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I find the Independent Hotel as a very charming, clean & modern boutique hotel equipped with an efficient, friendly and professional staff. Our party of four was greeted by Giulio , the front desk staff --who at the very late hour we checked in ( 12 o'clok midnight) was very accommodating and patiently took us through a brief orientation of the hotel amenities, including a very attractive rooftop and restaurant ( Diana on the Roof) where you can see a fantastic view of Rome & where we also take our breakfast. We were helped by a staff to take our bags to our rooms which was very much appreciated after a long day. The day after we checked in required us to go out very early at 7am to attend an audience with the Pope at the Vatican and since we would miss the buffet breakfast, we requested Giulio for a packed breakfast. As promised and on the dot, our takeaway breakfast was ready at the reception at 7am on our way out--thank you!. Breakfast was great for the price we pay, where coffee can be made especially for you by Juan Carlos. The selection was just right and you have more than enough to make your day begin right. Everyone on this hotel knew exactly how to anticipate the needs of their guests, including the two Filipino staff we were happy to meet -- one attended to us at dinner time and the other one who helped us with getting our taxi on the way to the train station.. Giulio also briefed us on the service Manet phone which was just what we needed to make local calls in the city ( free)where we had an appointment for lunch, and which also got us connected to the internet the whole time. I understand each room has been provided with this excellent service. Lastly and one of the great things I love about this hotel is its particular attention to cleanliness. This hotel is top-rated when it comes to this attribute. Always looked forward to going home with clean sheets and a very orderly room, especially after a hectic day with our tours and appointments. My parents were very impressed as well as my aunt. So... congratulations to the hotel staff and management of The Independent Hotel. You made our stay in Rome very comfortable and memorable. I will definitely recommend you to friends as well as book with you again when I go back. Ciao!

Room Tip: We got a good-sized room for 4 and it was very comfortable....--it was a corner room and the view was excellent...
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayabarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHotels, Direttore at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your amazing review and for had appreciated every service we are glad to offer to our guests!
The staff is one of our strenghts and we are happy you noticed that!!!!


We hope to see you again
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, clean rooms and conveniently located to everything. Stayed in the Independent Suites, loved the 3 bedroom apartment. Very modern and roomy bedrooms, need a chair in middle bedroom, otherwise was great. Breakfast in the terrace restaurant in the hotel was ok, loved the view from the terrace. Liked that you have access to all the amenities that the hotel has to offer when you stay in the suites. Definitely would stay here again when visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Suites were great for families. Stayed in 3 bedroom suite, very roomy and felt very safe with the locks on the doors.
Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHotels, Direttore at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your amazing review and for had appreciated the rooms with amenities and the stunning view up on the roof!

We wish to see you in Rome again

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe I was expecting more but we stayed here for 3 nights and its was a pretty average stay. The postives are the check in staff and the location was excellent and its a pretty easy to find the hotel.

However there a few negatives
- The hotel feels like a business hotel with no lobby or bar or reception area
- Rooms were very sparsely decorated and seem bare
- Lift was very slow and intermittent
- Breakfast was not good and when we asked for a omelette or fried eggs were told it was extra
- Toiletries were really poor quality
- There was no replacement water for the whole stay

All in all I would not call this a four star hotel and for the prices you expect better service.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited Rome three times and stayed in the Independent Hotel on each occasion.
The hotel is great, clean and modern in its looks with a wonderful roof top terrace. Three members of staff where still there from our previous visits and they are wonderful attentive people.
Breakfast is great lots to choose from and in the evening it’s lovely to sit up on the terrace and have a drink or some food, in fact your drinks are served with snacks. We did notice some changes from the last time we stayed, only small chances that if you haven’t been before wouldn’t effect your visit but for us it did. Paper cups and real milk in the rooms and no slippers and robes. This may sound silly but it does make the hotel feel slightly less in the way of luxury.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHotels, Direttore at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

why not come back for the fourth time? :)
Thanks for your kind review and we really hope to see you again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was our pleasure staying at Independent Hotel. Our morning breakfasts was our favorite part of our hotel stay. The food selection was good but the best part was the friendly service from the smiling staff - a great way to start the day. The lobby is a bit small but a bellhop is there to quickly deliver the luggage. Did I mention free minibar?

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricSeattle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagHotels, Direttore at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review and for had appreciated the breakfast! Waking up with that amazing view is really exciting!

We really hope to see you again in Rome

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews