We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms, strong wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms, strong wifi”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Typing this on my iPad using Hotel wifi.

First off, hotel is 5 mins from Roma termini. For those who don't wish to drag luggages for many hundreds of meters or who don't have airport transfers, the location is amazing. I walked 20 mins to the colosseum and also reached a main shopping street in 15 mins. Very convenient for me.

Rooms are clean and sizable. I booked a deluxe room, got upgraded to a junior suite. Comes with a small sofa, table with 2 seats and then the bed is in another room altogether. Decent amount of space.

Hotel staff are mostly helpful. Provide us with maps and tell us how to get to the places we wanted.

Breakfast was good. Fruit, yogurt, and cooked food and some pastries. Enough to get the day started but not too much to spoil your appetite for the more important meals of the day.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    324
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
259
648
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We booked this hotel through Agoda and we got a really good rate for a classic room. When we arrived we were met by Pietro a very efficient, professional and friendly receptionist!! He upgraded our room to superior because he explained that when the hotel is quite they always try to make sure that the guests always get the best!!! The room was spacious, clean and very nice! The bed and pillows very comfortable and we even got an espresso machine! Breakfast is served on the roof terrece and it was lovely!
A hotel a would definatelly come back to!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rele0ne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is located within a two-minute walk to Termini train/subway station, which is the central point of all underground trains and most above-ground trains in Rome.

Pros:
Excellent location
Friendly and helpful hotel staff, particularly a lady named Giorgiu at the Front Desk
Relatively quiet hotel, yet located very close to Termini
Daily replenishment of soap, bodywash, and shampoo
Free Wi-Fi with strong connection
SkyTV has several stations in English and even more in Italian
Free breakfast buffet with a plentiful spread of mostly cold items
Strong water pressure in shower/bath
Great views from the 8th floor roof
Hotel is surrounded by restaurants and small shops
Excellent location

Cons or Suggestions for Improvement:
Limited restaurant capabilities
Pricey hotel rooms, but you are paying for location, location, location
Install safety grab bars in the showers
Include operating instructions for the HVAC unit
Include stickers or signs to indicate if hotel water is potable

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the main entrance are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AznNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really lovely, very clean with good facilities. The rooms we booked were both comfortable & met all of our needs. Unfortunately the sky tv as advertised has no English channels other than news & music.
The breakfast was good with a varied selection.
We wanted to use the bar in the evenings, but the prices were so extortionate we went elsewhere.
We booked through booking.com & was told that this has a checkout time of midday, the hotel says 11am. The lady on reception honoured this though although she did say it was an error as their checkout time is 11am.
The location is great, really close to the termini for easy access to all points of interest.
Improving the sky tv would be good as it's nice to relax & watch tv in the evenings, thank goodness for the free wifi (although sometimes weak!)
We would definitely re-book this hotel if we were to visit Rome again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelzR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Absolutely fantastic find by our travel agent. The staff at this boutique hotel here were wonderfully helpful, willing to offer advice on where to go, what to do and the best way to get there. Their greetings were always upbeat and really added to our stay.

The rooms were intimate and well appointed (I especially liked the coffee machine), the beds were wonderfully comfortable and the balcony (although small), was perfect to sit out on to look at the buildings opposite and seeing locals go about their own business

For a wonderful view, the rooftop brassiere and bar was gorgeous. The included buffet breakfast was fresh and the service friendly and accommodating and looking out over Rome was a thrilling experience. At night the bar served drinks and the staff shared stories on life in Italy. Teenagers weren't left out here either - cocktails were changed to mock-tails - and creations were never a hassle.

The elevator fit probably three people at most...but this was a blast - it's Rome afterall - and these little quirks make the experience all the more enjoyable. The eight floors are easily navigated by the stairs and we used these more often then not - or raced each other to our floor by a mix of the elevator and stairs.

Buy a ticket for the red bus tours - you can purchase a 24hr or 48hr pass for next to nothing and then you can get on or off anywhere these buses stop. They cover all major tourist destinations, but on top of that, are just great to you around the city (yes the top floor can be a bit hot, but water is sold everywhere and if you have a hat their is no issue) - in fact this is totally worth it for the high vantage point (great for photos)!

Scout out the authentic Italian restaurants - you can't really fail - the coffee and food is delectable. Allow a good seven days to see all you can (if you have limited time allow at least 3 full days and don't stop, you will regret it)...

The Independent hotel was by far one of the best places we stayed on our journey - the well designed and decorated interiors were fantastic (and exactly what you see on their website), but on top of the gorgeous rooms the staff here really paid a huge role in making our stay memorable. Highly recommend the Independent Hotel.

Room Tip: There were a few of us spread out in various rooms...all were lovely. And the extra bed we ordered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunlovers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here 7 nights in September 2013. The location was ideal, close to the termini, staff wonderful, lovely bathroom & size room. Loved the roof top breakfast room by morning, cocktail area by night with great views. Would definitely stay if in Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked a suite for our 2 day break at end of October, staff made the stay feel intimate and hassle free. The 1st floor suite faced the road and had a balcony, the cleaning and maintenance was never an issue, breakfast on the rooftop was a wonderful experience with plenty of variety that did credit to the designers, the staff and management alike.

The hotel sits 300 yards from the main railway station which is also adjacent to the hub for the tour buses.

Travel tips:
1. Book the shuttle from the airport costs €28 door to door for 2 vs €30 by train.
2. Have breakfast at the hotel.
3. Buy a 24/48 hour ticket for the red tour buses, gets you to all the main sites and the hub is right next to the hotel.
4. Ask the reception staff where to eat, they have a good relationship with a restaurant around the corner, even if it is for one meal.
5. Use the tour guides at the colosseum €25 each, you won't have to queue with the throngs of other tourists, they break their groups into different languages and the guides know their stuff.

I strongly recommend this hotel, and having worked within the hotel industry for some years, I am pleased to come across this one, I would certainly stay again if invited and recommend with enthusiasm.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
3,971 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
2,185 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
1,090 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#50 of 1,291 in Rome
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Property: The Independent Hotel
Address: Via Volturno 48, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Independent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for The Independent Hotel creating an exclusive and modern hotel.The rooms and suites are equipped with large comfortable beds along with 26 cm thick hypoallergenic mattresses, to ensure proper rest after a busy day on the streets of Rome. To make your relaxation even more comfortable The Independent Hotel offers a special complimentary "Pillow menu" with a variety of options: from hypoallergenic to feather ones, from anatomic to those designed to support the neck.Each room is equipped with top quality linen, stylish bathrooms with a tub or large shower, satellite TV, Wi-Fi and wired internet connection, bar cabinet with a Nespresso coffee maker and a kettle for teas and herbal teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing