We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #35 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel from the 2nd-5th June 2013 and were greeted professionally with a warm welcome, the staff always say good morning or hello when you go past. Breakfast had a great selection fruits, meats,cheeses, cereals, eggs, bacon,pastries, yogurts, juices and coffee etc.
Our room was clean and very nice, had a large bed and they supplied 2 bottles of water each day. Only down side we can think off is the fact they didn't supply milk for the tea and Nespresso.
The location is central and close walking distance to most attractions, except Vatican City but its only a 15 Euro taxi ride. Id recommend paying 50 Euro for a taxi from the airport in a shared mini van as its a standard fee and convenient.
Overall we would recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked two nights in this hotel one for the 22 may and again in he 29 may. Check in was easy, not overly friendly but ok. Room was lovely and clean, nice king bed . Great shower/ bathroom. Need to supply milk for coffee if you don't want to use the coffee pods for 3 euros each. Lift is tiny , can fit two people only with suitcases. Easy access to termini train station,approx 5 mins. We caught the train from the airport to hotel for $13 euros each . Not easy with a suitcase each and hand luggage, would advise a taxi for 48 euro set price. Much safer and easier. Beware of pickpockets we were told. Don't forget to keep 6 euros when you check out of hotel ( tourist tax ) breakfast was ok, we went for dinner to the restaraunt two doors away . Just had a pizza . Not to expensive. Would I recommend the hotel (YES)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank arwenb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were booked to check in on May 19. When we arrived Paulo the manager informed us that because of of an electrical problem on the 2nd and 3rd floor, he was unable to check us in. But no worries Senora, we have a sister hotel "Roman Times Hotel" 3 blocks away, that will accommodate you. After traveling from Toronto, we were tired... Ok... they paid for for the taxi, and we were shuffled away to the other hotel. I congratulate them for making other arrangements.... but I was disappointed that the hotel was not available....
I have another story to tell about the" Times Hotel Rome""

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank CelinaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I had same situation as below people. I booked for 5 nights around euro 2xx per nights. While I arrived the hotel, we are shocked as the front desk told us we need move to another hotel on first night. He told us the hotel electric have problem. We really disappointed and felt frustrated as this is our honeymoon trip.
However, they arranged another poor hotel which is terrible location with cheaper price(must below euro150). This is really cheating guest money and dishonest hotel to handle the room charge. This is really bad hotel management.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andyw23_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, Direttore at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
we apologize for your trouble. In that period we had some problem with our rooms.
We kindly ask you to accept our escuses and we hope you will be here again for a weekend whenever you like , free of charge.
Thank you for your pacience,
best regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We paid Euro 230 each night and very disappointed. We arrived on first night, the Front Desk staff told us that the room have problem due to electric issue in hotel and said that total 16rooms have same problem. Then he book another far away cheap hotel with bad location for us and i found that hotel cost just around Euro 100 each night. We carried a lot of luggage and after long flight.This is really crazy arrangement and ridiculous hotel.

We understand the room have problem and needs move to another hotel, but they should do something or refund the room charge of difference.

This hotel management should review this case to avoid happen again as i saw several guests have same problem on that night. It was made trouble and unfair to your guests.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed them. Location is great as it is just across the road from Termini station for the trains and buses and also the Metro stop which means you can access all areas of Rome very easily. Staff were friendly,bed was super king size, hotel was spotless, room had balcony and every amenity required for a short stay with the added bonus of docking station etc. Nice touch was the complimentary bottle of wine (not sure if this was because it was my birthday or not) Rooftop terrace had great views and the buffet breakfast was
excellent, fresh and tasty. All in all would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern,convenient, comfortable hotel at an affordable price. Try it for yourself and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We checked out this morning after a 4 night stay and I could not have been more satisfied. We arrived for check in after 36 hours in transit around 8.30 in the morning just hoping we could leave our bags for a while. Our room was made ready for us within 1/2 hour while we waited on the roof top garden. We were also upgraded to a Superior room which was very comfortable. Breakfast every day was made even more enjoyable by the friendly staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again next time I am in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 225DebraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,273 in Rome
4,366 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#38 of 1,273 in Rome
992 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#51 of 1,273 in Rome
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: Via Volturno 48, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $124 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Independent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for The Independent Hotel creating an exclusive and modern hotel.The rooms and suites are equipped with large comfortable beds along with 26 cm thick hypoallergenic mattresses, to ensure proper rest after a busy day on the streets of Rome. To make your relaxation even more comfortable The Independent Hotel offers a special complimentary "Pillow menu" with a variety of options: from hypoallergenic to feather ones, from anatomic to those designed to support the neck.Each room is equipped with top quality linen, stylish bathrooms with a tub or large shower, satellite TV, Wi-Fi and wired internet connection, bar cabinet with a Nespresso coffee maker and a kettle for teas and herbal teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing