We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, great friendly and helpfull staff, location and room.”
Review of Demetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Demetra Hotel
Ranked #348 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it, great friendly and helpfull staff, location and room.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for honeymoon, quick walk to hotel from termini station, 8euro in taxi, (couldn't find it the first day) really nice staff, they brought a bottle of champagne to room as we told them it was our honeymoon, helped us out with directions and ordering taxies, really nice room and great bathroom, beds were nice and firm also, there are some lovely pizzerias close by and you can get to most major attractions using the metro at the termini. We would go back to this hotel again, full marks all round :) travelling is tough so its great when you go into a hotel and they are friendly, professional and helpful :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    189
    52
    10
    14
See reviews for
97
204
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay around the Termini Station, which might be a good idea if you're arriving/departing via train.

Although the rooms are quite small (we literally could barely walk around the room), the hotel is modern, clean, in a good location, and affordable. In addition, the breakfasts were great and the customer service was very good.

Based on some other reviews I've heard/read, I know you sometimes can't get all of the above with some of Rome's older hotels and/or those located in the city's historic district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As other reviers have already said, the location is good and hotel is beautiful art deco and very clean, but did not quite match our expectations. We knew the room would be small, but it was very dark too, but the real issue was the bath room.
The jacuzzi was amazing, but both bidet and toilett seat were as if desingned for small children i.e so tiny in size.
If you are size M or more, you may have difficulties in using the toilett and wonder how come no other rewier has mentioned about this.
Would we choose this hotel next time in Rome, maybe not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a mature couple we found this hotel very suitable. Location is great. Walking distance to many attractions. Very close to train and bus terminus. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Although on a busy street our room overlooking the street was quiet. The desk staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent, again with very friendly staff.
The entrance is now finished. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Location wise its really good, close to 2 metro stations, one being Termini which is great for buses or trains to and from the airport. The hotel isn't too hard to find it does have big sign up outside now. The Lobby is still under construction but didn't really effect us and it will look really great when its finished.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, check in and check out were hassle fee. The Hotel is clean, fresh and modern looking.

We were shown to our room with was just the basic double, it wasn't huge but again clean and fresh and a good base for the 3 days. Bathroom was nice, really good shower, again all very clean, fresh and modern.
We didn't have a view from our room and the window had wooden slatted blinds that didn’t open. You wouldn't let in much natural night or fresh air. This didn't really bother us for 3 days as we only really used the room to get showered and sleep.

Talking of sleep this was my only gripe with this hotel….. The bed! So uncomfortable, we were also pretty cold and could have done with a few more blankets/duvet. That said we never requested anything and maybe we should have mentioned to reception.

Breakfast was fine, not gourmet but enough to get you going in the morning and what we were expecting. There are so many lovely places to eat in Rome I wouldn't want too much first thing anyway.

I would defiantly stay here again if in Rome, however if it were any longer than 3 days I would consider a room upgrade and hopefully a better bed. All in all a great little hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location (close to Termini as I was going to use train/metro/bus) and its modern design. When you arrive, it's a bit strange as they are still working on the entrance. The building houses more than one hotel. But as soon as you arrive on the floor of Demetra Hotel, all is well. Friendly reception, modern and comfortable room. Very clean. The wifi is excellent here and the airco is a plus on hot days. The breakfast area was nice and there was enough variety in the buffet. The only minus: the walls are not sound-proof, so I could hear the neighbours, but that's often the case in hotels. I would recommend this hotel and return there on a next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The rooms at the Demetra are beautiful, clean, crisp, large. The bathroom is sharp and user friendly. The staff could not have been more helpful and the whole atmosphere, once we got to the 1st floor could not be faulted.
Unfortunately the entrance to the building is still being renovated, the workmen were very helpful with luggage and despite there being a sign on the corner of the building up high, the entrance was still very difficult to find. The lift was barely big enough for two adults and two suitcases.
There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but I am told this is the norm for Italy.
It was a lovely place to spend the last of our 28 nights overseas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#183 of 1,257 in Rome
1,666 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,257 in Rome
2,162 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#100 of 1,257 in Rome
803 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#257 of 1,257 in Rome
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Hotel

Property: Demetra Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Demetra Hotel, with its 27 rooms and one suite, is located inside an historic building and has a strategic and central position near to the main attractions in Rome. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, whirlpool shower or whirlpool bath, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone, safe box, phon, minibar, internet wi-fi. Furthermore, Demetra Hotel is located a few steps from the central Piazza della Repubblica and is the perfect place to enjoy the city making it ideal for vacationers and business travelers looking for a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Demetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing