We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location B and B”
Review of Relais Badoer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Badoer
Ranked #170 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location B and B”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A funky little hotel in the heart of Rome. Warhol's M. Monroe on the wall and all the furniture is true retro. My wife and I loved it. Take a slow elevator ride to the fifth floor and a staff member will guide you to your room. Clean and bright with a staff that is very helpful and knowledgeable made our stay in Rome a delight. The 6th floor overlooks the ruins where Caesar was killed. My wife and I had breakfast and a late afternoon glass of wine on this beautiful deck all four days we were in Rome.

.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    43
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
136
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very best location if you love Rome's historic center & best choice for couples. Very nice roof top breakfast with amaxing view. Great personalized service that doesn't exist anywhere - Mr. Jolwin made us feel really wellcome, so thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SampsaSepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Pros
- amazing central location well connected by service. Bus 64 and 40 from Rome central station Termini will take you within a few minutes walk to door! It is on a corner building with some ruins on the right. No signage out the front - just a large black door and a doorbell for the top floor level 5.
- closest 'key' attraction is the Pantheon, although we walked to the Vatican too.
- Mario and his team is amazing, nothing was too much trouble or too much to ask for. We travel very frequently and was worried about Rome being very touristy however we felt immediately like we were in safe hands. For example after a long day of walking we were greeted warmly and served tea and coffee! Before we headed out, we were asked if we wanted to take a free bottle of water with us? That kind of human service, care and attention to detail doesn't exist anywhere, not even in the nicest 5 star hotels
- a 35 EUR private car service for airport pickup is offered by the B&B, if you are arriving late take this option!! A train to Rome will cost 14pp. A Terravision ride will cost 6pp but will take close to an hour of pushing/shoving through crowds
- Rooftop Jacuzzi with views of the city!!!! Bring swimwear or you will be in your underwear like some other guests......
- bathroom loaded with toiletries - shampoo and body wash - so you won't run out. Good when you need extra to wash out chlorine from the jacuzzi
- extremely comfortable bed and pillows with the right amount of softness/firmness
- free minibar well stocked with beers, wine, water and coke
- designer jacuzzi showers with excellent pressure
- amazing views over the balcony

Cons
- Breakfast is free and served on the rooftop terrace. However I was surprised by the quality which starkly contrasted against the rest of the hotel. The coffee was good but you only get one slice of cheese and ham per person which was not amazing... We are foodies and so this in part let down our experience. We went out for breakfast the 2nd day. I would suggest either charging guests for a good quality breakfast or not offer something mediocre.
- very noisy reception - we were woken up by a woman's voice in room 4 the first day, and by footsteps running up to the terrace in Room 1 on day 2. Unfortunately the rooms are not soundproofed so it was an unfortunate way to wake but if you are an early riser this will not be a problem!
- the first night we arrived late and stayed in room 4, the shower is a cubicle with doors opening directly into the room so no privacy. We were moved to room 1 at their suggestion the next night which was MUCH bigger and nicer with a separate shower. If you have a choice request for room 1!
- no slippers offered for the cold floorboards so we walked barefoot to the terrace.
- 3 pillows for 2 heads in both rooms
- the hair dryer is very old without much power. I have thick hair and it took about an hour to dry

Overall, if you are an early riser and you don't mind a quick free breakfast you cannot go wrong with this B&B and I will not hesitate to return purely based on the superb service!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The best location & view from the romm ! Great service, helpful & kind !

The best choise for couples, very romantic.

The only disadvantage it's the noise fron the little reception desk....

Wish to come back again !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very central location in Rome's historic area. You can easily walk to all main sightseeing attractions, The design is very avant garde and quirky. Very nice breakfast on the roof top breakfast you can see the nice view and i enjoyed the Jacuzzi hot tub on the roof top. The owner, Antonio Badoer and his staff, gives highly personalized and warm service. I will surely suggest Relais Badoer to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Relais Badoer is amazing. Its location is central and at walking distance from Rome's main attractions. The rooms are really clean, spacious, and neat. The beds are comfortable, and design amazing. The rooftop is an ideal spot to chill, with a view over the city, and guests can use the jaccuzi. But the most important point is the home feeling you get due to the personalized experience.Staf is really friendly and given recommendations as on how to enjoy Rome. I would definitely go back to Rome, and only stay at Relais Badoer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_Demion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotels in Rome are outlandishly expensive but it is still possible to find a few moderately priced ones even in the heart of town (like a few minutes walk from the Pantheon or the Campo di Fiori) but the Relais Badoer outdoes them all thanks to its lovely rooftop terrace overlooking one of Rome's famous ruins (the Area Sacra - where Julius Caesar was assassinated!). The hotel is on the 5th floor (it has an elevator) of a rather nondescript building (and the outdoor sign is easily missed). The lobby is minuscule but the staff tremendously friendly and helpful. Our room had a small balcony right across from the ruins (why are dramatically lit at night). The en-suite bathroom is also minuscule but the shower has lots of water pressure and the water is hot. The queen beds are quite comfortable. A small flat screen TV and free wifi is provided. Decorations are modern and quite lovely.
What really makes this hotel is the rooftop terrace which has a number of very stylish loungers as well as two shady spas (only one of which was working while we were there)...Complimentary breakfast is served there and at night, you can enjoy the spectacle of Rome while sitting in the warm waters of the spa and sipping a glass of champagne!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony giving out on the Area Sacra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ghetto
Kame Hall
Kame Hall
#354 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Ghetto
HT6 Hotel
HT6 Hotel
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Ghetto
Suite Little Queen
Suite Little Queen
#52 of 1,069 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Torre Argentina Relais
Torre Argentina Relais
#167 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Piazza Farnese Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Temple View
Temple View
#197 of 3,619 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Badoer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Badoer

Property: Relais Badoer
Address: Largo Arenula 11, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ghetto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Relais Badoer 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Badoer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing