We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Roma!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconuts Female Hostel
Ranked #520 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hostel! It is located literally next to the train station so it is easy to take the public transit anywhere you want to go. Free coffee in the mornings. Very comfy beds. Very clean. Only downside is that you need to pay in cash, but there is an atm at the train station. Also, plenty of places to eat around there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aab1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Coconuts Female Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Coconuts is a nice, pretty safe hostel for lone female travellers (and groups! I met a lot of girls travelling together there, but about 50% of us seemed to be staying alone). In my room there were two bunk beds and two singles - lone travellers are usually given a single which is nice. There's really big lockers and a reasonably-sized bathroom in there, too. The lock was very stiff in the bathroom and resulted in me and a couple of other girls getting stuck a couple of times. So just be careful with that!

You really need to know when you're going to arrive so the owner can let you in and give you keys to the hostel and lift - there are quite a few guys outside who like to look at and cat-call you, which is easy to deal with but not so nice if you were coming back alone at night. My bed was right next to the window onto the main street, and the hostel (in May...) was very humid so unfortunately the window had to be kept open so if you're not good with noisy places this hostel might be unsuitable for you. At night you can hear a few drunks, lots of cars, trains, station noise... but the location is so convenient if you can put up with that! Actually I walked to most of the places I wanted to go - so central attractions are very accessible by foot. And of course that makes a trip cheap even cheaper - this hostel is really worth the price!

There's also a little kitchen with a fridge, some utensils and dishes and a microwave, kettle, etc... so it's easy to go and buy food from the Conad supermarket in Termini and to bring it back. There's only a tiny social area but the wi-fi isn't bad. Also a lot of people leave behind guidebooks (especially in Korean!) so you can find some reading material if you've come back earlier. As for the curfew published on a few sites - this is not enforced. You can come and go as you please.

Room Tip: Random allocation - the room that sleeps 6 was absolutely fine, though, and really spacious! You hav...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am still new to hostels so I was very hesitant of this one after booking it on a whim while planning a last minute trip by myself. Altho it was hard for me to find it from the street. (There is no sign outside) The hostel room was very large and clean. You get your own locker and cozy pillows and blanket. Much nicer than any other I have stayed at. As long as you head back to your room well before dark. The area is super sketchy at night. It was noisy as it is literally across the street from the train station but it was very nice and I would definitly recommend it as a female budget traveler!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location is VERY convenient, right across the street from the Termini station. The lockers are fairly big and come with a lock and key, and can fit bigger backpacks. The internet worked fine while we were there, although there were times when it was slow. The rooms and bathroom are reasonably clean. It's a good option for female travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Coconuts was good, overall, but the WiFi was awful the entire duration of our stay (3 nights). Also, the water in the shower sporadically changed from really hot to really cold. As other reviewers have been saying, the location is super convenient - right across the street from the train station. We noticed some pretty creepy guys liked to hang around at night, though. It was clean and offered private bathrooms and a common kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Coconuts is located right across the street from the main train station (termini). It is very clean with a small common area with a computer. Wifi is great. There is a small kitchen with dishes and a refrigerator. each room has its own bathroom with a small shower. The water is tricky because it goes from cold to very hot through out the entire time in the shower. I had to move out of the way of the water because it got too hot so you had to wait for the water to be just right to get back in and then you only had a short time before it got very cold so the shower took a long time because of the changing of the water temperatures. The beds are ok for a couple of nights and the pillows are comfortable. You get a big locker. it was big enough to put in my suitcase and a duffle bag. They have an elevator however it is small so it you are traveling with another person and you both have luggage you will have to ride up individually but it is worth it. I met very nice women there. The outside surrounding area is a bit seedy with a bar next door but I was never bothered by anyone day or night. I would stay htere again. they also rent you a towel for 1 euro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms for the price! And you can't beat the location it's close to the main train station so chances of getting lost are reduced! The communal area is alittle on the small side and as it's next to the boiler but it's fab value for money, it has a lift and the rooms have their own bathroom so there's no long queues for the shower in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazzy5679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#136 of 1,267 in Rome
314 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#145 of 1,267 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
Rumariya Rooms
Rumariya Rooms
#574 of 1,131 in Rome
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Romangelo2 Hostel
Romangelo2 Hostel
#690 of 1,131 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#46 of 1,131 in Rome
1,040 reviews
Esquilino
Dream Station
Dream Station
#44 of 3,711 in Rome
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconuts Female Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconuts Female Hostel

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 137, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $34 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coconuts Female Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing