We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortyseven is Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #79 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Fortyseven is situated just within the city centre. Far enough away from the buzz but close enough to walk everywhere. It is situated very close to many of the major sites and we felt safe at all times. We walked each nite to restaurants in nearby Trastevere, Campo D'Fiori areas. The hotel itself is a beautiful property with more of a "Cosmopolitan Boutique Hotel" feel. Contemporary, fresh, and trendy. The staff is very friendly and most helpful in making your stay welcome. Alina at the front desk was exceptional in her attentive service and geniune warmth. We celebrated our anniversary on this trip and the hotel nicely added a bottle of Proscecco upon our arrival and offered us a beautiful room (#509) with an incredible terrace. After each day of discovering the city we felt ourselves wanting to return to the room to enjoy the wonderful terrace with the delightful scent of orange blossoms blooming just outside our door.

Breakfast was wonderful and bountiful. There was plenty of lovely pastries, cheese, cold cuts, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, juices available. Coffee, cappuccino, and espresso were made to order and included. We sat in the wonderful outdoor courtyard each morning. There was always plenty of space.

Most of the travellers appeared to be business types, couples and a few families with youngsters.

Our only one hiccup was room service on the first night. We had arrived jet-lagged and wanted to sleep. So, eventually when we rose after midnight we called up for room service for a bite to eat. There was none to be had. Luckily I had packed some snacks from home anyway. Our guess is that they are still working this out. But otherwise it's perfect!

Overall, a fantastic hotel that is a little more chic with great attentive staff. They have a beautiful rooftop terrace lounge/restaurant that is a great place to unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
There are newer reviews for Fortyseven Hotel Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2009

I've stayed in Rome three times, and this was far and away the best hotel I've stayed at. The others were both 4 star hotels, but they were old school Roman hotels: small beds, cramped quarters, and barely adequate showers. 47 was a modern jewel in a city full of antiquated hotels. The bathroom was comparatively huge with good water pressure, hot water, and nice stone tiles. The styling in the rooms was great, and our window had a heavy-duty metal shade that could block out noise and light.

The location isn't Rome's best--you're on very a busy street, and you aren't right in the middle of the touristy parts (although Trastavere and the Pantheon are easy walks). A hotel near the Pantheon or Spanish Steps is probably better located, but the old city is still so compact that we were able to walk everywhere--Vatican, Forum, Spanish Steps--from our hotel without any problem.

We found the service to be great. Wonderful front desk and concierge. We even got a free bottle of champagne upon checking in. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast. You probably wouldn't go there day after day if you had to pay for it separately, but it's pretty good for being included in the room expense.

When we return to Rome, our first choice will be to stay at 47 again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaperChased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I stayed with four girlfriends at the Hotel Fourtyseven in April 2009. We liked it. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros:
Our flight got in around midnight, so we had organized with the hotel to be picked up. There were also five of us and all our luggage, which would have been hard with a taxi. This worked out nicely.

Checkin: Check-in was super friendly and nice.

Rooms: Very clean and modern. Wood floors. Safe. Cable TV. Shower has a rainwater showerhead. Nice bath sheets. In our room, we had a cot as well and it wasn't over-crowded for three thirty-somethings. Also, they left chocolates on our pillows every night.

Bar: We loved the rooftop deck. It was great! We commandeered two of the big wicker chairs and sat up there every night drinking prosecco cocktails. Note that the service is slow.

Breakfast: Some people complain that the breakfast is limited. There is a lot of bread. Nutella. Eggs, bacon and sausage. Lots of cheese and ham. Tomato and mozzerella. Cereals. Muffins. Fruit salad. I'm not quite sure what else there could be!

Service: We found the service in the hotel to be excellent. One afternoon, we wanted to see if we could get into the Borghese, and the hotel called our cell phone multiple times, and when we got back to the room, there was a note on our bed. Well done.

Cons:
We couldn't get the wireless to work, so we had to shell out for the land line. (Either way you have to pay. But it was just a pain to go the landline route.)

No restaurants right by the hotel. On our last day, we were very lazy. But we ended up having to walk to the Jewish Ghetto for lunch. Giggetto was AWESOME, but still it would have been so nice to have something on the doorstep.

OK, I think that's it. In short, I think this is a nice little hotel. Particularly if you don't mind a bit of walking.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Fortyseven for 3 nights in early April and this was perhaps the most enjoyable hotel stay I have ever experienced. I had pondered long and hard over where to stay in Rome, given its (somewhat) chequered reputation for hotels that either exorbitantly priced, lacking in quality or even both together. After reading the reviews on FortySeven, we decided to go with it, especially after getting a good deal online.

We opted for a hotel pickup from FCO , which was welcome after an arduous trip from Sydney via London. On arrival, staff were extremely friendly and courteous and we were installed in our fourth floor room in no time. The rooms are impeccably clean, spacious, quiet and well appointed with all the necessities. Moreover, the bathrooms are large by continental european standards which is a bonus. After a long day sightseeing, the very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep.

The hotel itself is very elegant and tastefully decorated with a pleasant outdoor courtyard and an fantastic rooftop terrace with great views over the Tiber and the surrounding buildings. The buffet breakfast is also perfect preparation for the I highly recommend an evening cocktail on the rooftop. There are buses that leave from just down the road although the Centro Storico (Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona etc) is a pleasant 20 minute walk. It is very well located for the Forum, Circus Maximus and Coliseum which are 10 minutes walk away. The hotel staff are ever ready to order a taxi if you require it for places such as the Vatican (about 15 euros) and the taxis arrive almost immediately.The other great advantage of the FortySeven is its close proxmity to Trastevere (and all its excellent little restaurants) which is a short walk over the Tiber.

I can't recommend this hotel enough; it is haven of peace and organisation in a chaotic and frenetic city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had a great welcome from reception & were pleased with our room with balcony & view of Tempio di Vesta. The bathroom was small, but we had no problem with noise, maybe because we were on the 5th floor. Breakfast was ok, but I expected something a bit more special, & tea & coffee were never hot enough. On arrival, being tired & hungry we decided to lunch in the delightful courtyard. It was very enjoyable, but rather pricey & not a lot of choice.
Sightseeing in Rome is pretty exhausting & it would have been lovely to be able to make ourselves a cup of tea at the end of the day. I know very few European hotels provide this but if they want good reviews then why not? It would have been a thoughtful touch.
One evening we were too worn out to go looking for a restaurant so ordered room service, which was fine, but again, very pricey & limited choice. The same can be said of the roof restaurant which hardly anyone seemed to be using whilst we were there. We did enjoy a couple of nightcaps there, but were almost alone.
There is usually a van nearby for buying drinks etc. in the daytime, but otherwise there is nowhere near to stock up on snacks etc.
Trastevere was about a 10-15min walk & there are plenty of restaurants there.
It is impossible to find a hotel near all the sights in Rome & this is probably as good as most if you are reasonably fit. But if you want restaurants, shops etc on your doorstop this may not be the place for you.
We bought skip the line tkts for the Vatican on the internet, but we needn't have bothered. At 2.30pm on a Saturday there was a queue but it was moving quickly. Also we did not automatically go through to the Basilica, as we had been told, but had to queue again.
Take good walking shoes & plenty of money - you'll need both!
All in all, I thought the hotel was good but there could have been a little more thoughtfulness for the weary tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anzelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I booked this hotel as a surprise weekend away for my partner's birthday.

We booked our taxi from the airport through the hotel, and it was nice to have a designated car waiting for us at the airport. I had heard that taxi rides can be rather hairy experiences but the driver and car was top notch.

I booked a double delux room which on arrival didn't have a bath, just a shower, but I had requested a room on a lower floor as I'm not too keen on lifts/heights so maybe the choice was limited. The room was nice and clean and spacious.

We ate at the rofotop restaurant on the first night, and as it was November and chilly, the restaurant was cold as there is no actual permanent inside seating area, there were plastic transparent shutters pulled down, which meant the view wasn't very good. I ordered fish as a main course which was rubbery, they quickly replaced it though. The food was quite expensive.

The hotel is really close to ancient rome, so we were a short walk from Circus Maximus and the Colosseum. The colosseum tour was brilliant, we bought it from one of the vendors that haggle outside the venue, and it included entrance. Be aware that the tour is unlikely to start in "just 5 minutes" as promised, they begin the tour when they have their quota of customers (we waited 35 minutes). A short walk from the hotel is also the Vial di Trastavere, where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. We had amazing pizza, the wine was good. Service is generally laid back...

We took a taxi across Rome from the hotel to the vatican which didn't take long and cost 9 euros.

We ate in the room on the 2nd night as we were tired. Room service was your standard fare. We ordered a bottle of wine which took almost an hour which was a bit ridiculous considering we were on the first floor directly above the bar area.

On our third and final night the concierge recommended a lovely chinese restaurant we were really impressed as there aren't many chinese restaurants in Rome so had low expectations, but it was really good fresh food.

The cocktails at the bar in the hotel are very nice. There were limited staff probably due to the time of year. The wireless internet wouldn't work so had to use the dial up. I find it ridiculous that hotels can charge for any internet usage but it did come at a cost.

I would recommend this hotel if there are any special deals on, but it is overpriced for the standards of service that they deliver.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumpelstiltskin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

If hotels were about location and design only, this place would be a winner. But hotels are about people. Some of whom who read pages like these. The staff at this place quite clearly would rather be doing something else than listening to customers. In fact, they are. We had to search for the staff and when we found one, he or she then expertedly explained that someone else was responsible for the request we had. Considering the prices this places charges, I would rate it rather poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#33 of 1,267 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,968 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $209 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing