We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Rome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Wow we were so happy at the 47 Hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service of the people who work there is amazing. The location was next to so many wonderful ruins and parts of roman history. Enjoy the morning breakfast. Highly recommend the 47.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers!
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the WiFi was not working, and we were assigned to a room with no free electrical outlets. We eventually found a usable outlet (meant for the heater, but not needed in May). The drawback to this outlet was that it was located directly over the bidet, which created a dangerous positioning of water near 220 volts of electricity.

We requested a different room, but were not able to get one until after our 2nd night there. Meanwhile, the WiFi was fixed after being off the entire 1st evening of our stay.

When we were moved to our new room, the storm was finally over. This room had two usable outlets and a better view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jtp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. All our rooms have electrical outlets, but if you needed more, maybe it would have been safer to just disconnect one of the taken ones to connect your electrical device instead of using the one in the bathroom creating “a dangerous situation”. I am glad to hear that it was sorted out when you were moved to another room and very happy to know that the summer storm finished the following day, allowing you to enjoy a better whether during your stay.

Kind regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent four days in Fortyseven Hotel in June. I chose it strictly based on the location as I was in meetings adjacent to the Circo Massimo. You simply cannot beat the location if you have to be in that part of town. The hotel is VERY contemporary from check in to the actual decor. I stayed with my wife and three year old. The staff provided a very nice crib for the little one and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is keyed with the key card that run the AC and all other electrical outlets. Room is very contemporary and ours had a nice view of ruins. With the windows closed, the room was exceptionally quiet and dark with the blinds closed. Bathroom was very modern and has everything one needs for a nice stay. Perhaps unusual for the city, but loved by us, was the shower was spacious and had nice pressure.

Breakfast every morning was very nice and fresh. Coffee was plentiful, though there is limited staff at breakfast and you needed to be prepared to wait a bit.

We missed out on the terrace restaurant. We simply ran out of time. we were served nice glasses of Prosecco upon arrival. Arrival is very contemporary and the check in are is a desk with a lap top. We arrived early and needed to wait, however, as mentioned drinks were offered followed by coffee.

My only gripe and it is a minor one that the hotel has no control over is that it has no grocery store in the immediate area. It is quite a walk for the few extra bottles of Prosecco that you want to buy.

We walked everywhere from the hotel as it is really around the block from the Vittorio Emanuele II. You can cut immediately over a bridge and find yourself in Trestevere. I would stay again if I have work in the same area or if I wanted to be in that area of town. If you are looking for a modern hotel located just off of the dense city core, Hotel Fortyseven is your place.

WiFi was free and decent strength.
Mini Bar was available with lots of offerings and marked up marginally. We bought our Prosecco elsewhere.
If you are arriving by air, take the white taxi's. They an only charge 48 Euro by law and they must provide a number and a receipt. Very good deal. They come in all sizes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review! I am so sorry to hear that you did not find a grocery shop, as a matter of fact, there is a very nice one just behind the hotel at Via dei Fienili! Our front office staff would have indicated it to you, I am just saying this because it was the only “gripe and it is a minor one” but without it, your stay would have been faultless! Next time you will, hopefully, be with us again remember to ask the front office about it!
Kindest regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Fortyseven Hotel from June 28th through July 3rd. We had connecting rooms 205 and 206. These rooms very comfortably accommodated myself, my wife and our three children ages 12, 12 and 15.

Facility
We found the hotel to be in very good condition. Our room (205) was configured with a king bed (two twins together). I found the beds to be very comfortable. My wife thought they were a little too hard. The room was very spacious even by American standards. The bathroom was a very good size, bordering on huge. It had a large stand up shower with rainfall shower head. Pressure was adequate. There was a single sink and average to good lighting. The room and bathroom were very clean and daily maid service was very good. Our children's room (206) was configured with three twin beds and a large bathroom. The kids found the beds to be comfortable and the bathroom/shower to be good.

The common areas of the hotel are well maintained and clean. The hotel offers free wifi which was very helpful. We found the wifi to be adequate, though we did drop the connection on occassion.

Complimentary Breakfast
We were very pleased with the complimentary breakfast which included cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, sausage, sliced tomatoes and mozzarella, cold cuts, fruit salad, bottled water, coffee and a variety of teas. The breakfast was well stocked and the indoor and outdoor seating was plentiful.

Staff
We interacted with several staff members and while all of them were helpful, we found Alina and Peter to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. They both went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. For instance, one day we made a day trip to Pompeii via the high speed rail and were leaving the hotel before breakfast started – Alina offered to have boxed breakfasts made up for the five of us so that we would have food for the train ride. We did not ask, she just offered. I honestly cannot say enough good things about both Alina and Peter because they really made our stay that much more pleasant.

Rooftop Restaurant
We dined at the rooftop restaurant once during our stay. The food was good, not great and the prices were a bit high. Unless you have a promotional voucher to use the restaurant, I would look elsewhere, as there are a number of options over the bridge in Trastevere. The restaurant does, however, offer nice views.

Location
Since it depends on what you are looking for, this may be somewhat subjective; however, we found the location to be very good. It was a short walk over the bridge to Trastevere where we found dozens of restaurants in a far less touristy area of Rome. The hotel is very close to the Colosseum and Forum and only a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Pantheon. The Vatican is a bit away and warrants use of a taxi or public transportation.

Overall, we were very happy with Fortyseven Hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family in a heartbeat. If we ever find our way back to Rome, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have electric (outdoor mounted) shades which do an excellent job of blocking light and str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanedadof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

What a beautiful and well described review! I really thank you for taking the time to write it and to share it with us! We all here wish that you will find your “way back to Rome” very soon so that we can welcome you back, in the meantime, thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!
All the best,
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in 2 adjacent rooms on the 3rd floor for 4 nights with our 2 young teens. This was the best family set up we had for our vacation in several towns in Italy because the bathrooms were larger and modern and it was very quiet at night (we were not near elevators).

We loved the old exterior coupled with a modern interior. The location for us was perfect since we prefer to walk when we can, rather than take cabs or public transport. The Forum and Colosseum of Ancient Rome is a short walk away, as well as the Trastevere area, where you can find good restaurants and the old Jewish district, where there are also very good restaurants.

Breakfast was very good and a bonus was eating it outside in the beautiful courtyard. I thought that this hotel had superior coffee compared to other hotels we tried. Overall, we had a delightful stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollandays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location and the style of the hotel and I must say that totally agree with your “superior coffee” comment! I always tell my colleagues at the bar that their cappuccino is number one in Rome! :-)
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in July for 5 nights with our two teenage children. This was the best hotel we stayed at while in Italy. We had arranged through the conceige ahead of time to be picked up at the train station and taken to the hotel- for 50 euros it was well worth the money! He was waiting at the end of the platform with our name on a sign- we had emailed our train information to the hotel a week prior. We had interconnecting rooms and upgraded to the Superior rooms. We were on the second floor. Our rooms were very comfortable- very roomy- nicely furnished and extremely clean. Loved the large shower with a glass door that shut (we stayed in several cities in Italy and some showers didn't even have shower curtains) and the bathroom was nicely sized. They even had an American plug in on the hairdryer to charge a cell phone. We had booked all our tours in advance so did not use the conceirge service for tours. They did recommend an area across the river to eat and for shopping which was wonderful and they were always helpful in getting cabs. It was a short walk just across the bridge and you were in a nice neighborhood of small restaurants and street vendors. The first night we didn't pay attention when we checked in for the instructions on how to put the window shades down and left them up- bad idea- it was VERY noisy and bright in the room. The next evening we figured out how to use the controls to put the shades down and that took care of the majority of the outside noise and all of the light. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful- not as stuffy as we had experienced at some of the other hotels in Italy. We had drinks several nights at the rooftop restaurant- very nice but VERY expensive. We had dinner one night at the restaurant- very expensive but the food was very good. Breakfast was the typical that was offered at all the hotels we stayed at- they didn't have as nice as selection of fresh fruit as other hotels had. If we get back to Rome- we will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms were worth the price to have the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, and all staff members I thank you for your kind and enthusiastic review! We are all so happy to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations and we all hope to welcome you again in the future!
warm regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our 5-year old for one night in a junior suite. The hotel is nicely located close to ancient Rome. Our room was on the 5th floor and by far the greatest advantage was the extremely large balcony. The other big pro of this hotel is that the staff was extremely helpful in setting up dinner reservations, a car to take us to the airport and even calling a few toy stores for us. They were very, very kind and very fluent in English. Unfortunately, there were a few cons that make it difficult to give this hotel 5-starts. First, the elevator on the 5th floor made a very odd and loud noise once arriving at the 5th floor. It was quite disruptive. Second, our junior suite room was extremely small such that it was tight to also have our luggage in the room (2 suitcases and 4-5 small hand bags/backpacks). It was fine for one night but would have been challenging for longer. Third, while the location is great for accessing ancient Rome it is not so close to other restaurants etc.

Room Tip: The 5th floor room had a very large & quite nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management and all staff members, I thank you for your kind review! I think it is fair to clarify that the hotel has very spacious rooms for families and luggage, connecting rooms etc, but as I understand you preferred to opt for a spacious terrace on the 5th floor, so I suggest our readers to check with the hotel what would be the most suitable option for their needs.

warm regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
827 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#118 of 1,271 in Rome
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $173 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing