We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #75 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I spent almost a month touring the whole of Itay for our honeymoon and we spent 4 nights at this hotel. We were allocated a room on the 5th floor of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the 2 oldest temples in Rome and we got the best sunset views. Beautiful!

What we LOVED about this hotel:-

1) Location - Good balance. It was not smack in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Rome (e.g. area around Trevi Fountain which was chaotic), yet still walking distance to Travestere, Colosseum and we even walked back to the hotel from the Vatican City one day, which was a lovely walk along the River Tiber. If you are one of those tourists who love walking out of the door and straight into the city centre then this place may not be for you.

2) Reception / Concierge - Friendly and very warm and welcoming each time we walk through the door! Excellent recommendations from the hotel for some nearby eateries at Travestere. We spent every single night of our time in Rome dining in one of the many eateries in Travestere and thereafter taking a long stroll through the whole area taking in the scene. Lovely. The hotel also helped us book a private guided tour of the main attractions in Italy, mainly the Pantheon, Colosseum and Roman Forum which we wanted to learn more about. Our guide, Mr. Giancarlo Alu, a historian/professor (who was also immaculately dressed for the part) was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and he impart a lot of it on my husband and I who are neither historians nor art majors. Our initial 4-hour tour turned out into a full day 7-hour tour - we were just so taken in by him and all his stories of the Roman days, of Italy, of life! Absolutely wonderful.

Room for improvement for the hotel:-

1) Condition of the rooms - Great view, nice room, but it was a bit dated. The paint on the walls were peeling and there were discoloration all around. However, being in Rome for only a couple of days, we didn't spend much time in the room and it didn't bother us that much. Would still be good to have the rooms updated a little though!

2) Service at Breakfast - Terrible. We ordered coffee from one of the waitresses when we arrived at breakfast, finished up and we still have yet to receive our coffee. We reminded her again and her reply was 'One minute please'. That's it. We never got our coffee after 30 minutes of waiting time. By this time, we were about to run late for our tour. We complained to another waiter (I think his name was Philip) about it and he returned 5 minutes later with our coffee apologizing profusely on behalf of the other waitress. It is unfortunate I didn't get her name as she wasn't wearing a name tag as well. Horrible service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Beautiful sunset views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay here with us! I am sorry that your room was not in perfect shape but please know that we recently did a full refurbishment of rooms and public areas, still going on due to high occupancy. I am sure that next time you will visit us you will have a brand new room! Regarding the service, I apologize for the time you had to wait for your coffee. We don’t have anyone here named Philip and all staff use their name badge, however, things like that should not happen and we try our best to give the quickest and nicest possible service, so, once again thank you for letting us know, there is always room for improvement!
Looking forward to have you again here in the future!
Best regards,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    449
    108
    29
    21
See reviews for
284
993
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I add my voice to the chorus of praise for this wonderful place. Hotel Fortyseven is the perfect hotel for your stay in Rome. The hotel is lovely and has every modern convenience (rainfall shower, reliable wifi, and in-room espresso machine particularly nice), but at the same time is located where Ancient Rome was born. We had a fifth-floor room with views in one direction to the beautiful church of Santa Maria in Cosmedin (Mouth of Truth) plus the two oldest temples in Rome (of Hercules and Portus). The view in the other direction was to the Theatre Marcello, a ruined theater built by the Emperor Augustus. You can easily walk to Trastevere and up the Capitoline Hill to the Piazza Venezia, and the Palatine and Roman Forum are also quite nearby.

But in addition to the great location and amenities, the real magic of the hotel comes from its hardworking and unfailingly charming staff. They are always happy to help the guest with any query or problem and seem genuinely pleased to make your stay a wonderful one. My 81-year-old mother was treated like a queen for a week! Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and efficient, but I have to single out for particular praise Alina, who checked us in and looked after us in a special way throughout our stay. She managed to come through for us on a couple of difficult requests and seemed to be thrilled to do it. Not only that, she came in to work hours early on our last day to personally see us off to the airport to catch an early flight! Talk about going the extra mile!

I have stayed in many fine hotels around the world, and I would have to say that I have never been so impressed by a hotel staff--and esp. Alina--as I was by the folks working at Hotel Fortyseven.

You could not make a better hotel choice for Rome. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If you can spend a few extra Euros, the rooms with a balcony are particularly wonderful. Sitting out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beltanebelasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

I am absolutely thrilled to read you wonderful comments! On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers!
We truly hope to welcome you (and your mum) soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in Rome before and had a great experience, but this hotel trumped even that hotel. Centrally located to all the sites (though you might want to take a taxi to the Vatican unless you love walking that far), this hotel was spacious, impeccably clean and had the nicest front staff. Any time we needed a taxi, it was there within four minutes. They also recommended wonderful restaurants and made reservations for us at several very non-touristy places. Seriously, the best meal we had in Italy period was at a restaurant they had recommended. Our first meal was in their own restaurant, which was a lovely experience. What amazing views! It was my husband's birthday, and they were great about working with me long distance prior to our arrival to make the birthday dinner special. Reasonable for the quality and service you receive as well. The bed was comfortable and large with daily room service. We appreciated the little candies left in the room and the tidiness after a long day of walking and visiting sites. Truly a stay we won't forget--can't wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Ask the front staff where to eat---they won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystyk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

on behalf of the GM and our staff I would like to thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a good time here with us and in Rome. We are glad that on such a special occasion we were able to meet your expectations!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!
best regards,
Danielle Mello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
277 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Rome. We arrived around 1 am following a delayed flight into Rome. Check-in was quick, and we were able to get to sleep promptly. The location is fabulous for walking to most of the major sites (e.g., Coliseum, Pantheon). The Vatican also is within walking distance for some individuals. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. Wifi is free, and the room was quiet. The only downside is that it is on a major city thoroughfare, and at times it can be difficult getting to the hotel if you are walking. However, we would definitely return to this hotel on a return visit to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write about us! We really appreciate it and hope to welcome you here again in the future!
warm regards,
Danielle Mello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our second stay at the 47. Outstanding staff, wonderful rooms, amenities and views. The rooftop restaurant has fantastic food, views and service. Great full breakfast buffet in the morning. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Via Luigi Petroselli for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and for coming back to Hotel Fortyseven for the second time! We hope that there will be a third, a fourth and so on...it is great to know that we are your choice in Rome! Looking forward to welcome you here again, I send you our best wishes!
Danielle Mello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

All the top sights are in walking range of the hotel,you can walk to wherever you want. The rooms are mid size, well furnished and clean. The breakfast compared to most of the hotels around Europe that lack variety of stuff is good. Lastly, the rooftop rest/bar deserves 5 stars alone for the view!

Helpful?
Thank Tutku K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had a good time at our Roof Garden Restaurant Circus. It is indeed a 5 star view, isn't it? Hope to be able to welcome here again in the future!
kind regards,
Danielle Mello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fortyseven Hotel is a great place to stay in Rome. The staff was very welcoming. The location is fantastic, close to all of the major attractions including the pantheon, forum and colleseum. If you like to walk you can also get to Vatican. It was close to good restaurants as well. The room was a good size and clean. The morning breakfast was terrific and you were able to sit a lovely courtyard. The Hotel also has a roof top restaurant and bar. We enjoyed drinks on the roof top while enjoying the view. The only complaint was that the internet was a bit slow or spotty at times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for this nice review and for taking the time to write about us! I am sorry to hear that the wi-fi was sometimes slow, but unfortunately it can happen that the server is slower when all guests are connected at the same time, but we are taking care of it with our IT manager and soon this problem should not occur again, so hopefully when you come back to Rome you will not have to bear with a slow connection (but it will be free of charge, as always!).
hope to welcome here again very soon!
best regards,
Danielle Mello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing