We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aimed at English speakers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't stay here for an authentic stay in Rome, stay here for English speaking staff, great location near the Roman Forum and Coliseum, and the continental breakfast with an English nod (scrambled eggs and sausages). If you want to dine in the rooftop restaurant, which has great views over Rome and good food, you MUST book in advance. Location means there are lots of authentic restaurants nearby in the Jewish quarter and Trastervere if you forgot to book...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickengirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Location, location, location! Thanks for pointing that out as well as evaluating other sections of Hotel Fortyseven. Did you know that some of our staff speak six languages!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very modern hotel in a great location, close to the Roman Forum and Colosseum. We were very pleased with our room, which was large compared to those we've experienced in other European ciites. This seems like a relatively new hotel, with very modern furnishings. The breakfast (inlcuded) was very good, excellent coffee. Service was superb, with staff fluent in English and helpful with questions.

The rooftop restaurant in the hotel was excellent, though with a limited menu. We also enjoyed a restaurant called In Rome, located in the warren of buildings directly behind the hotel. And it is a short walk to the Camp de' Fiori and Trastevere areas where there are lots of restaurants (the cafes in Piazza Venizia are tourist traps).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyM_CorgiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Hotel Fortyseven opened 9 years ago. We do our best to keep things ‘up-to-date’ and we are very happy that this was noticed.
Our Circus Restaurant Menu changes every season as well as our Dessert Menu. This way we concentrate on using the best the season has to offer.
Thank you for the positive review!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, just 10 min walk from the Colosseum. We went on an evening stroll and managed to see the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and major squares all within an hour and a half... it really is in a great place.
The staff were really friendly and down to earth, giving personal advice on where to find the best pizza! The hotel itself is very stylish and a welcome break from Rome's hustle and bustle.
The rooms are clean and spacious, although slightly functional looking (hard floors and minimalist décor). We had a room on the main road but it wasn't noisy at all.
Overall I would highly recommend this place for any business traveller or to someone looking for a convenient hideaway for a weekend on Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliepenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Customer satisfaction is Hotel Fortyseven’s main goal. Giving personal advice, even on pizza, is a simple way of doing our best.
Thanks for your positive review!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel. Rooms are large compared to other European rooms. Very clean. Great breakfast. Fabulous cappuccinos! Good location - close to the coliseum. Restaurant (upstairs) has fabulous desserts, great wines and a fabulous view. One drawback - slow Internet connection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for pointing out our Great Desserts. Did you taste the banana rum flambé on a coconut cake topped with meringue peaks?! I Hope so…
My best,
Adrienne Bini

Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hands-down, one of the best hotel experiences ever. We arrived very late in the evening (after traveling LAX-LHR and LHR-FCO). The staff was beyond prepared and ready to assist with getting us settled in, and directing us to a late-night dinner. If you are able, book one of the two suites on the highest floor of rooms (just under the restaurant). You will be blown away by the expansive, wrap-around terrace off of the living and sleeping rooms. The next morning, as the sun rose over Rome, a coffee on this terrace set the mood for a spectacular five days in this magical city. Most major sites are a pleasant walk away. The breakfast in the open-air atrium is a delightful way to begin your exploration. A cocktail in the lounge in the evening is a relaxing respite from the busy sightseeing days. I simply cannot recommend this lovely property enough. Believe me, I've told many, many, many people....."When in Rome, stay at Fortyseven!"

Room Tip: Splurge and choose one of the two suites. In the morning, in the evening, any time of day---an expa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelrLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a great review! I agree that our suites and their wrap-around terraces are truly special! Thanks for pointing them out to our Readers.
Hope to see you soon in this ‘magical city’.
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 4th to 11th March 2013 and loved everything about it. The staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English, the room was very well equipped and kept spotless by the cleaning staff and breakfast was a great choice. We ate dinner in the rooftop restaurant on two occasions and both times it was of exceptional quality. We were in a great location about 100 yards from Bocca dell averita and a mile from the Colosseum. Also easy walking distance to Trastavere where meals of good quality can be had for UK takeaway prices (4 euros for a pizza!!) Not what I was expecting in Rome. We would both heartily recommend this hotel for all of the above reasons. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Caledonian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
I was so happy to read that you truly enjoyed two meals at our Circus Rooftop Restaurant.
It’s a great ‘sleeper’ in Rome with that incredible view!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lots of plus points about our stay here:
- location - very close to Ancient Rome, but a quick walk across the bridge and into an altogether more quiet neighbourhood with lots of nice bars and restaurants
- room was of a good size, well equipped
- staff were friendly and very welcoming
- breakfast was substantial
- great views from the restaurant and a good place for a night cap

Only tiny minor complaint is the lack of a kettle in the room, preventing us from having a cup of tea in bed!

Would use again, recommend to family and friends.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Llyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for pointing out Hotel Fortyseven’s ‘plus points’!
You’re right---no kettle in the room. We do have great espresso at the bar, though!
See you next time.
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,024 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $191 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing