We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Great. Skip Restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #76 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ozarks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hotel Great. Skip Restaurant.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great location right near "Mouth of Truth". Close to bus line. Easy walking across river to get to more local restaurants. Easy walk around to Coliseum and VE Monument. Room was very nice (king deluxe). Bed very comfortable. Rooms quiet. Nice interior courtyard. Staff helpful. Breakfast extremely good. Very good value and in good neighborhood. Farmer's market nearby on Sat/Sun. Rated 4 because restaurant was not good at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1200RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    453
    108
    29
    21
See reviews for
284
999
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

47 is a very good hotel with an ideal location in Rome. Rooms are big and service is good. You're in easy walking distance to almost everything, and just across the river from Trastevere which is perhaps the best restaurant area in town and slightly less touristy than centro storico.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My family and I thought it would be a great place for a birthday dinner.
However we were badly let down. We waited a long time for cold pasta, over salted and tough veal and loud, disturbing Britney Spears music on rotation.
We would not recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Rome there are so many better ones to visit at these prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresalegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Loved this hotel and read previous post. We would go back again. The location was great. Ten minutes to the Coliseum/Circus Maximus and Victorio Emanuel Monument/Piazza Venezia and Jewish Ghetto. We were pleased with our room (#410) for three adults - deluxe room. The bathroom was adequate sized even with the bidet. We were surprised by the daily surplus of towels and wash cloths for a European hotel. Internet connection was free!

We were greeted by Alina who was fantastic and customer service driven. She was a tremendous help with our early check-in. She changed our Euro's into smaller bills, arranged a last minute private 2-hour plus tour of the Vatican for us (at a much cheaper rate than several options given to us by our travel agency), and scheduled a taxi back to the airport for us.

Everything in this boutique hotel was new and modern. Yes, only two English speaking channels, but we didn't come to Rome to look at T.V. The hotel was accommodating when we had to change our departure date unexpectedly by one day earlier. If we were to go back we would make this our headquarters!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRSLB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Hotel was clean, comfortable and true to its boutique 4 Star rating. Hotel is at a busy intersection and the lower level and street front rooms can be noisy. We loved our stay in this Hotel. Marco, Alina and Claudia at the front and Stefan at the restaurant were just as nice as they com. Frankly everyone from the bell boy to the management was friendly, courteous and helpful. Continental breakfast was above average. Room and the bathroom were very clean and the beds were very comfortable and nicely done. We look forward to our next trip to Rome and staying in this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

For the kind of money this hotel charges per night, I really expected more based on what was advertised. They claim to offer satellite tv but what I saw was probably worse than basic. As an English speaker, when I hear satellite tv I expect at least 10 English channels. The only channels in English were CNN and BBC. Thing is CNN was unwatchable at the time due to some poor reception issues. In addition, the tv set was a model that many are throwing in the garbage. Housed in a neatly built closed cupboard, I expected to see a nice flat scene tv set with HD. Instead, on opening the cupboard door I saw an old tv set that was made ten or so years ago.

As tea and coffee drinkers, my wife and I always try to book a hotel that comes with a kettle and an assortment of teas in the room. Based on what we paid per night, we certainly expected this simple luxury. We were left disappointed.

The in house night time menu was also ridiculous. Feeling hungry one night around 11.45 and with no supermarket or restaurant close enough that I was willing to venture outside, I decided to call room service. All that was available was cheese and/or salami. Now again, when I pay over 200 euros per night for a room I expect better.

On the plus side the room was clean and of acceptable size although the shower could have been a little bigger. The staff was courteous and friendly. In total I would not stay at this hotel again. When you have travelled and stayed at cheaper hotels and received much more, it is difficult to accept that it is alright to spend over 200 euros per night and not have simple comforts like a kettle in your room and proper tv shows to watch after walking around Rome for the entire day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for our visit to Rome for my partners birthday and it was superb. We had one night in the standard room and three nights in the deluxe room . Both were excellent with great facilities, comfortable beds and spotless and beautifully designed bathrooms. The view was definately better in the deluxe room and the addition of the Expresso machine made a world of difference to us. Thank you to Claudia for arranging our change of room. Whilst on the subject of Claudia, we cannot praise her enough. Claudia remembered us by name each time she met us, gave us superb advice on restaurants and how to get to places on foot or by transport. My partner had a personalised cake sent to our room on his birthday again organised by Claudia. The restaurants were ALL excellent and Claudia interpereted our requirements perfectly ( we wanted Roman food, good atmosphere and interesting surroundings) and recommended different areas each night so we saw different parts of the city. All of the staff we met at other times of the day were extremly helpful as well but Claudia did stand out.
The Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of hot and cold food, the coffee was excellent and our waiter very pleasant and attentive, I think his name was Giacomo, we missed him on his day off!
I would recommend getting to Breakfast before 9.30 as after that the food does seem to get a little sparse that is the only very minor fault that we found. We still had sufficient to eat but just not a great deal of choice on one of the mornings when we went out for an early walk and returned for a later breakfast.
We loved the location of Fortyseven Hotel, a short walk across the river to Trastevere and easy walks to the Pantheon, The Capitoline, and the Roman Forum.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing