We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Casa Banzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Banzo
Ranked #138 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I found this gem on Tripadvisor and took the risk of booking it. It worked out a treat for the location being quite central. I must confess, I expected the room to have typical Italian swish decor and fine touches, but it has been on a very low budget. Remember you are out most of the time, so I guess it should not matter, but for the price you pay, I would have thought it is a perfect place to show off Italian taste at its best. We found the staff very helpful and very friendly indeed.May I add that we did get a fresh fruit salad with our breakfast, which made all the difference. If you get a room facing the street, it is very noisy throughout the night, so take ear plugs as ours came in very handy. Enjoy and make the most of the trip. Top tip, eat at Roscoli's, might need to book, just round the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sushma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabanzo, Proprietario at Casa Banzo, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply thank you for your kind review and appreciation of our Customer Service.
We are also sorry you found your room not quiet enough: as you may understand, location in the center of a metropolis, just few steps from Campo de' Fiori in high season may have some discomfort from this point of view even if we do our best and the walls are very thick. We hope your appreciation of location and contest was enough to minimize this inconvenience. Also: we always like to remind that our Staff is eager to help our Guests make their stay a memorable, so please do not hesitate to let them know about any unsatisfaction you may have. If we know on time, we can do something to resolve

We hope we will have the chance to host you again anytime in the future, so you can also try, as kindly requested, one of our rooms facing the quiet courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Opening the gigantic old wood doors to find an oasis of a courtyard. Double room was small but cozy. Great shower. Loved all of the old furniture and mirrors. Near everything we wanted to see in our whirlwind 48 hours left of our two week stay in Europe. The market and shopping in the Campo de Feori was amazing and so many restaurants to chose from. All more than we expected walking out of the beautiful wood doors. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The only downside were the poor wifi connections due to the century's old building. Would definitely stay at Casa Banzo again.....

Room Tip: Courtyard echoes and noises are loud in the middle of the night when people are coming into their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kibbutz ein hashofet Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On arrival,we were confronted by an enormous ,heavy wooden door,and on opening it before us was a wonderful courtyard,green and inviting.We were in a large deluxe room,ceilings 4metres high,beautiful large bed, paintings on the walls close to the ceiling and wonderful old furniture.The bathroom was large too,and all our needs were catered for by a friendly helpful staff.They could not have done enough for us. in a wonderful area of Rome,and walking distance to all the great sights but in a quiet piazza,an absolute must.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabanzo, Proprietario at Casa Banzo, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr Norman,
We sincerely thank you very much for your enthousiastic words. We are glad you could fully appreciate any aspect of our Deluxe Room and the ancient charme of the historical building we are located in.
Our Staff is greatly thankful for your appreciation of their work. All Staff members like put their experience and passion at disposal of our Guests, and when the feedback is so flattering, that is the best reward for the hard work.
Thank you again for wonderful review and please, be our welcomed Guests again any time you wish in the future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our entire visit to Rome. It was perfectly situated for us within walking distance to all the major attractions - Vatican, Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc. It is also RIGHT next to the Campo de Feori which was great for the morning market and night life. We stayed in the "Romantic Apartment" and the size and decor was great. The only downside was that there really wasn't much water pressure in the shower and the water was either scalding hot or really cold. The cold didn't really bother me since it was so warm during the day, but that, I would say, is the one negative we faced. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like that, and they may have it fixed by now.

I really did enjoy our stay there, but be warned that its not clearly marked. Once we knew where it was, we were fine. But we walked around for quite some time (in pouring rain, but that's not their fault) trying to locate the place. We eventually had to stop in to a nearby restaurant where they were kind enough to call them to have them wait outside for us.

They also let us print out train ticket confirmations at their front desk which I thought was really nice and the free wifi was a plus.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the size of the "Romantic Apartment". Having a kitchen was nice when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Bella Vista apartment. It has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, and living room with very comfortable futon sofa. It is very bright and inviting. It comfortably sleeps six. The location can't be beat. You can walk to everything including the Vatican and Colosseum. The Campo di' Fiori square is a very happening area. There are numerous restaurants, shops, and a fabulous farmer's market almost everything day until 3pm. The staff at Casa Bazno is so nice and so accommodating! This is my second stay and I would definitely stay again. Thank you Casa Banzo for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 244travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I found Casa Banzo trawling though the net for an inexpensive accomodation that would be well located in the historic centre of Rome. I am a middle aged mother of 2 who has been quite spoilt in the past with accomodation, having stayed in Four Seasons and various boutique luxury hotels, such as the Hotel Russie in Rome itself. (which now having having discovered Casa Banzo, i am unlikely to go back to.... Casa Banzo is not only way cheaper, but also better located for evening activities in Rome) For our planned 2 day stay in Rome, I did not want to fork out an arm and a leg. Yet I wanted comfort, very pleasant conditions, possibly with a WOW factor. I got that from Casa Banzo....and more. The location could not be better, 2 minutes from Campo de Fiori and all the Renaissance Palaces, Churches and monuments I wanted to re-visit.
The building itself is special as it is reportedly a 17th or 18th century Cardinal's abode. While nothing like some of the grander Cardinal residences, Casa Banzo definitely had its own distinct flavour of history and allure. The staff went beyond their duty to assure we had a great stay. The 4 of us stayed in the Romantic suite. It had a lot of character and the opening onto the ground floor courtyard, extended our living space. Justina called me in London to help me with our restaurant booking. She went out of her way to help us with our itinerary and eating arrangements. I thought I had left some of my private things in the room. When contacted, she took the trouble to ask the cleaning lady if she had found my things (I later found them in a hidden niche in another suitecase).
Great location, setting, service. The only drawback was the internet which didnt work when we were there in early August. I was told that it hadnt worked since a couple of days when they changed service providers. But I see that there have been shortcomings with the internet service since June from another review.

Room Tip: Romantic suite is great for families of up to 5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Atfer several visits, we finally found a just right hotel in Rome. Casa Banzo's location is terrific, within walking distance to just about everything (very close to Campo de Fiori). The way the hotel is set up gives you a sense that you are staying in Rome. The staff, Justine and Anca, were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Their restaurant suggestion ended up being our favorite Rome dinner. We stayed in the apartment (85 steps up but worth it) and a compact first floor room. We are looking forward to our next stay at Casa Banzo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sienahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
#1,029 of 3,644 in Rome
15 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Maison Giulia
Maison Giulia
#103 of 3,644 in Rome
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
#45 of 3,644 in Rome
336 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
#213 of 1,093 in Rome
11 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residence Regola
Residence Regola
#283 of 3,644 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banzo

Property: Casa Banzo
Address: Piazza del Monte di Pieta' 30, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place in Rome Nestling in a small square in the heart of Reinassance Rome on the remains of the ancient city, the 16th century palace was originally built for the noble family Alibrandi. The 18th century additions and subsequent renovation over the centuries have but added to the splendour. For four generations the building has belonged to the family now offering their unusually attractive bed & breakfast rooms and selfcatering apartments for discerning visitors to Rome. Their constant concern is maintaining their same traditionally high standards and ensuring the wellbeing of their guests and visitors of Rome. Great attention is paid to detail: antique furnishings and quality decor alongside modern amenities as well as the friendly but discreet sevice, make this private dwelling a very special selfcatering apartment in Rome. Casa Banzo hospitality begins in the stunning reception hall, with its stained glass and vaulted frescoed ceiling, continues in the comfort of the selfcatering apartments or bed & breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Banzo Hotel Rome
Casa Banzo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing