We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment in a great location”
Review of Casa Banzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Banzo
Ranked #135 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in a great location”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I found my stay at Casa Banzo perfect and I will certainly return when next in Rome. The location is ideal, close to Campo Dei Fiori, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trastevere. We stayed in the self contained apartment on the ground floor which was really homely, well decorated, clean and peaceful and quite. The building has a beautiful courtyard and it makes for a very restful, quiet place, right in the heart of the historic centre. The courtyard has a beautiful wisteria which I imagine in the spring would be spectacular. The owners were very helpful as well.

Room Tip: Apartment great for families or groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank business_traveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Me, my sister and cousin shared a triple room here for two nights in October. The room was very nicely decorated. I liked the location just a couple blocks from Campo d'Fiori. though it is a little tricky to find (I got the hang of it by the second day). Breakfast was adquate. The price was very good. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank La_Butte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in the deluxe room with a view to the piaza in front of the building. Pretty straight forward. Not exactly luxurious but all in all a great room, perfect location, good value compared with other accommodation in Rome, and very friendly service. I would recommend it to anyone at any time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The bed and breakfast had an absolutely wonderful location - if you wish to walk around Rome - and don't take cab or bus. Everything "sights" are in walking distance - max 30 min.
The rooms were i good condition - but be aware - no cell phones or wireless internet is working inside the rooms. We were 6 persons travelling together - had 2 rooms and plenty of space. Very relaxing and no noice from the street !
Would recommend this to all my friends - going to ROME !

Room Tip: if you are 3 - 4 people staying in the same room - maybe take the room next to the office !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location was perfect - very close to both campuses and in central Rome. The hotel was beautiful. It is very, very safe. The surrounding area is generally busy with activity and the hotel is through large doors in an inside courtyard. My room had no windows to the outside so it felt completely safe. Most of the time I was alone but twice I shared my room comfortably with a visitor from home. The room was extremely clean, adequate in size and the decor was fine. There was a small table for studying and/or eating. The staff was super nice. They helped me with many different things. The rate was good. They offered a discount because of my long stay. (It is not as cheap as the JCU dorms but I had none of the problems that my classmates had to deal with.) This is NOT a hotel for partying. It is peaceful with permanent residents in much of the building. It is hard to find so go prepared with directions and maps. The owners prefer that you try not to use the AC at night. They gave me a fan so it was fine.

Room Tip: They don't have many to choose from. Choose what you care about most and ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkm093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

There are some very mixed reviews of Casa Banzo on trip advisor, so we weren't sure what to expect. We chose it because they were very efficient and pleasant to deal with and the place is very well located for those wanting to walk around the sites.
The room was comfortable with a good bed which was made afresh every day. There was also aircon and fans which is essential in the hotter weather. The small bathroom with shower, loo, sink was very adequate and the whole room/wc was nicely decorated so no complaints there. Rome is very expensive to 100+ euros a night was very good value and the breakfast was spot on, with fresh coffee, bread, jams pastries etc.

The owners were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk out of the B&B and through the shops in the lovely rome back alleys. There is a daily market just a short walk away where we picked up fresh fruit for our outings and there are plenty of bars, restaurants near by. There river is very close and we walked to the Teatro Marcello for an outdoor concert in the grounds of this mini coloseum like building.

The vatican is also fairly close by via a 15 minute along the riverside and even the Forums and coloseum isn't far.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay here. If you don't expect too much you will be pleasantly suprised. If you want luxury we looked at a room in the hotel de russie and they quoted me 1700 euros, so save your money and get good value accomodation, and spend what you save on great dining and expensive attractions.

Note. If you go to the vatican don't go for the guided tour. It's a con quite frankly. We waited for 30 mins while they got enough people together, they then lead us to a cash machine outside the vatican so everyone got money out, then on to their tiny office to pay and then finally when we got in there was no queue anyway! The tour guide then rushed off so fast we just left them to enjoy the many artworks, rooms and the Sistine chapel in our own time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piersmarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very pretty courtyard location, very basic room, next to the cleaning cupboard and reception which was not ideal when the staff start cleaning at 7am and making a lot of noise. Other rooms we peered in briefly looked better.Thin walls so you can hear all your neighbours. Hard beds, linen wasn't changed but we were only there one night. Good shower, TV (only one channel available), kettle but no teabags, no iron. Quiet location in general, impossible to find from a map on Google so get a decent one. Only met one member of staff, pleasant enough but constantly asked when we planned to pay for the room (surely at the end of the stay?). Paid in cash as that's their preference, yet they had no change. Location is amazing for Campo Di Fiori market, Trevi Fountain, Palazzo Farnese, Piazza Venezia, Circo Massimo, and also the Colliseum not a long walk at all. Lovely river a short walk away. So all in all, if you're planning to be out and about a lot (why would you stay in your room!), great place to stay.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
#1,083 of 3,619 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#136 of 1,069 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
#41 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
#243 of 1,069 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Maison Giulia
Maison Giulia
#85 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residence Regola
Residence Regola
#303 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banzo

Property: Casa Banzo
Address: Piazza del Monte di Pieta' 30, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place in Rome Nestling in a small square in the heart of Reinassance Rome on the remains of the ancient city, the 16th century palace was originally built for the noble family Alibrandi. The 18th century additions and subsequent renovation over the centuries have but added to the splendour. For four generations the building has belonged to the family now offering their unusually attractive bed & breakfast rooms and selfcatering apartments for discerning visitors to Rome. Their constant concern is maintaining their same traditionally high standards and ensuring the wellbeing of their guests and visitors of Rome. Great attention is paid to detail: antique furnishings and quality decor alongside modern amenities as well as the friendly but discreet sevice, make this private dwelling a very special selfcatering apartment in Rome. Casa Banzo hospitality begins in the stunning reception hall, with its stained glass and vaulted frescoed ceiling, continues in the comfort of the selfcatering apartments or bed & breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Banzo Hotel Rome
Casa Banzo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing