We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Italian hotel!”
Review of Casa Banzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Banzo
Ranked #139 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little Italian hotel!”
Reviewed November 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Banzo for three nights while in Rome. This is the place to stay if you want a real experience... it's a cute little hotel/bed and breakfast in the center of Trastevere. It can be a bit difficult to find if you don't know your way around the area, but it is VERY close to Campo di Fiori and all the main attractions of central Rome and public transportation (all are in Largo d'Argentina, just a few "blocks" away). This hotel doesn't have an elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up the flights of stairs, and there is a heavy iron gate that you have to open to access some of the rooms... so if you are in need of assistance or convenience this is not the place to stay. We didn't have a chance to eat breakfast, but we heard it was good. The room was pretty clean. It lacks the amenities of the bigger hotels, but for the experience of staying in such a lovely building it is a fair trade.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the bed was uncomfortable, and the staff is difficult to find.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

This bed and breakfast is recommended by some very prestigious sites, but mainly I think that is because it sits in a great old building very close to Campo dei Fiori and the staff at the inn are so very, very helpful. The rooms themsevles are very plain and there are no extra amentities. Security is dicey as some of the gates open easily without a key. The staff watches your use of the air conditioning and requires it off by 8:30 at night which can be very frustrating in the summer. But, the staff is also very helpful and accomodating, and they serve a lovely breakfast every morning in a beautiful high ceiling room. We stayed in two rooms right next to each other, my wife and I in one, our three teenagers in the other - worked out great, I thought, but definitely on the inexpensive, budget side.

  • Liked — Price, location, sense of history in architecture
  • Disliked — really rough around the edges, awkward, cheap feeling in rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jvenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed here for 2 night in May 2007. We were absolutely enchanted by the Casa Banzo.

This BandB is perfectly located near the Campo De Fiore. It is within walking distance of the Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc.

It is a really gorgeous establishment. The entrance and breakfast room are beautifully decorated with antiques.

Going through the heavy wooden doors at night made you feel like you lived in Rome.

The breakfasts were ample and delicious.

The two staff members - Julia and Angela were very helpful.

For the price we thought it was extraordinary value. We will certainly return when next in Rome.

  • Liked — The decor of the BandB, the rooms upstairs, the breakfasts, the staff, the big imposing wooden doors
  • Disliked — The new room downstairs does not block out the light or noise so request a room upstairs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Casa Banzo was in the perfect location -- no more than 30 minutes from any point of interest, and located right in the center of all the action. Two minute walk to the center of Campo de' Fiori, five minutes to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, twenty to thirty minutes to the Vatican and Colosseum... all by foot, mind you. And being located right off the main road (Corso Vittorio Emanuele II), you could easily find a bus to wherever you needed to go.

While the neighborhood could have a tendency of being loud, this B&B is tucked away into a nice, quiet courtyard, drowning out most of the noise found just a couple of steps away.

Specifically, we stayed in the Romantico B&B room, easily able to sleep 4 people. There was a nice king-sized bed upstairs, a sleeper couch downstairs, another single bed upstairs, a nice sized bathroom (and if you've stayed anywhere in Europe, you'll realize what a luxury this is!), and a small kitchen. It was very clean, and the house-cleaning service was fantastic (we had fresh flowers in our vase every day!). The proprietors were very friendly and very helpful.

For the location and the price of the apartment (split amongst 4 people), it was truly a bargain. Also, if you're traveling as a group of 4, ask them about their taxi service to and from the airport. The price you'll pay between getting from Fiumicino airport to Termini, and then the bus to Casa Banzo, is almost as much as their taxi driver charges for the 4 of you combined. I think it came out to an extra Euro for each of us -- well worth avoiding the hassle of trekking through Rome with your luggage, especially on the bus (the #64 to boot, a pick-pocket's haven!).

The only complaint I could muster up would be with the construction that was going on right next to us. The B&B is growing, and they're converting some of the garages next to us into another apartment. Honestly though, this never bothered us. By the time they started working, we were already awake or out exploring. By the time we got back home, the work was done for the day. It might be a problem if you stopped back for a nap during the day, but ear plugs will solve the problem. Ultimately, the construction will end, and this isn't something you'll likely have to worry about.

Overall, I can easily recommend Casa Banzo's Romantico apartment to anyone who wants to take advantage of all Rome has to offer.

  • Liked — Location, Size of apartment, Price
  • Disliked — Only 1 set of keys for 4 people -- could have used a second set.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digillusioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

First placed we stayed in Italy and the best. It is a B&B, not a hotel. People should know that going in and not right bad reviews because they book one thing and expect another. Location is outstanding, rooms are small but comfortable, breakfast was a nice way to start the day. When we go back to Rome, we will stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank J_J_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

My husband, 3 children (all btwn 5-9yrs), and I stayed in the 2-story "family room" for 4 nts in June. While my husband and I always stay in upscale btq hotels by choice, we needed a more reasonably-priced, large room for our family of 5. We chose Casa Banzo based on a "posh B&B" review by a reputable travel magazine. It was more rough, than posh, however, the staff (not owner), consisting of 2 women, were so gracious and hospitable, especially to my children, that they more than made up for some of the property's shortcomings. My youngest daughter still tallks about how much she loves Anka, one of the housekeepers. Both women did everything in their power to accommodate us.

A few things to note: 1. Low water pressure and unstable hot water levels in the tub (no curtain, but w/handheld shower head). 2. Close the window shutters and turn on the A/C to help muffle the LOUD street noise at night. 3. This is a beautiful property, but it's old and not updated.

On the plus side: 1. Fantastic location close to Campo di Fiori and all ancient Roman sites. 2. For 5 Euros/day, the A/C works VERY WELL and is necessary in the hot summer months. 3. Clean and wonderfully scented, ironed linens & towels. 4. Good value includes breakfast in such a pricey city. Go w/the knowledge that you are staying in someone's home in Italy. This is NOT a hotel. This is an European B&B, not an American one!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank schmitzkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

I booked this B&B based on a favorable recommendation in Frommers. Unfortunately, the experience from booking to checkout was not user friendly and, frankly, we found the owner and staff to be the least friendly of any place we stayed during our 5-week tour. The owner requires a check (no credit cards) to reserve the room. The B&B was difficult to find for our cab driver as it is located on the second floor of an office building, in a not so nice square in the Campo di Fiore area. We were greeted by a disinterested, Italian-speaking housekeeper (and young children) who was covering for the unavailable owner. After the first night the remote control that operates the air conditioner was removed and were told that A/C is extra. Fortunately, I had a copy of the email making it clear that it was included in the price. Next we were falsely accused of cleaning our shoes with the towels - apparently a common problem for them because there was a sign in the room asking that you not use the towels to clean your shoes. Finally, at checkout, we learned that they they did not cash the deposit check I had mailed, and required that I pay the full amount in cash. In summary, this Casa is not my kind of casa!

Helpful?
46 Thank feedbackid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#179 of 1,256 in Rome
1,026 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
#949 of 3,642 in Rome
15 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Maison Giulia
Maison Giulia
#97 of 3,642 in Rome
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
#48 of 3,642 in Rome
336 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residence Regola
Residence Regola
#294 of 3,642 in Rome
186 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
#211 of 1,091 in Rome
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banzo

Property: Casa Banzo
Address: Piazza del Monte di Pieta' 30, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place in Rome Nestling in a small square in the heart of Reinassance Rome on the remains of the ancient city, the 16th century palace was originally built for the noble family Alibrandi. The 18th century additions and subsequent renovation over the centuries have but added to the splendour. For four generations the building has belonged to the family now offering their unusually attractive bed & breakfast rooms and selfcatering apartments for discerning visitors to Rome. Their constant concern is maintaining their same traditionally high standards and ensuring the wellbeing of their guests and visitors of Rome. Great attention is paid to detail: antique furnishings and quality decor alongside modern amenities as well as the friendly but discreet sevice, make this private dwelling a very special selfcatering apartment in Rome. Casa Banzo hospitality begins in the stunning reception hall, with its stained glass and vaulted frescoed ceiling, continues in the comfort of the selfcatering apartments or bed & breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Banzo Hotel Rome
Casa Banzo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing