We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Ranked #31 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

La Finestra sul Colosseo is a fantastic place to stay in a perfect location (the Colosseum is at the end of the road!). The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and it felt like a real treat to come back to after a day's sightseeing.

Aldo was incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment I booked until we left, giving us lots of recommendations of attractions, areas of interest, restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. I have already recommended La Finestra to friends and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: The suite faces the main road but traffic noise wasn't a problem, although it may be in the warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Finestra Sul Colosseo for three nights. We chose the place because of its proximity to the historical sights of Colosseum, Forum Romanum and the Palatine Hills and would stay there again because the owners, Aldo and Gioia, have created the perfect B&B.

We had booked the regular double room but were upgraded to a suite by Aldo and Gioia. The two new suites have large bathrooms but ours (room 4) didn't have a view. However, we didn't come to Rome to see the view from our room so this was perfect to us. The building where the B&B is situated may seem a bit austere but the B&B is lovely and airy, partly thanks to architecture of the beginning of 1900s but mostly thanks to Aldo and Gioia's eye for beauty.

The rooms are very stylish and minimalistic (which I like) and kept impeccably clean. There is air con in the rooms so it is easy to keep the temperature in any level one desires. The beds are firm and ergonomic and the bedding feels luxurious. BTW, no carpets on the floor which is a relief for allergy sufferers. Hearty breakfast (coffee/tea, juice, yoghurts, pastries, toast, fruit) is served from 8.30 to 10.30 (if you have special requests about the timing or your diet, Aldo and Gioia can accommodate you) to your room. But the best thing about this little place are Aldo and Gioia. It is very obvious that they are passionate about and dedicated to their B&B. They give a lot of helpful hints about Rome, they are extremely friendly and hospitable and everything they do, they do because they really care about their customers.

We have already booked another stay at La Finestra Sul Colosseo as we would not want to stay anywhere else in Rome. If you're looking for a comfortable stay at Rome in a place where you will feel welcome, look no further. La Finestra Sul Colosseo is the real deal.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a little more room, choose one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at La Finestra Sul Colosseo for 3 nights. It was a very special holiday for us as it was our 21st wedding anniversary PLUS we were attending Easter Sunday Papal Mass at the Vatican.

The B&B is just a few minutes walk of the Colosseum and is an easy commute via Metro to the Vatican. Aldo and Gioia's hospitality made our stay extra special. They presented us with a lovely bottle of wine, daily portions of fruit, and they were thoroughly accommodating of our early breakfast requests.

Breakfast is fantastic, our room was superb, and the location was perfect. There are no negatives with this B&B - only lots of positives! We will ALWAYS stay at La Finestra Sul Colosseo whenever we return to Rome.

Thanks again Aldo and Gioia - we are so glad that we found your B&B and we look forward to seeing you again soon !!!!

Mary & Inder

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at La Finestra sul Colosseo for 4 nights. From the first contact we had with Aldo and Gioia for reserving the room till the day we checked out from the B&B EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT.

Although our room did not have a view of the Colosseum, it was quiet and exactly what we needed after spending a full day wandering in the streets of Rome.

The room had an atmospheric approach with its brick ceiling and neutral colors. It was spotlessly clean and the welcoming gift of the Sicilian red wine well appreciated.

The breakfast was delicious and the idea of having it in the room is very cosy and comfortable.

The B&B is approximately 300 meters from the Colosseum and approximately 600 from the Red line metro at Manzoni station. It is also very close (we walked there daily) to the Monti neighborhood with wonderful restaurants, bars and smart boutiques.

All in all, having spent four days at La Finestra sul Colosseo it felt like home! I would definitely recommend it to fellow travelers. Thank you Aldo and Gioia for your hospitality, recommendations and for keeping such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wonderful location, and the airy, open design of the room was amazing and made the room a wonderful respite after sight-seeing. Aldo and Gioia were fantastic hosts, providing local recommendations (including one of the best meals we had in Italy) and much assistance. It was such a treat to have breakfast brought to our room each morning, whenever we wanted it (including, our first morning, when we slept 14 hours, well after their normal breakfast serving hours).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location was excellent, it was so exhilarating to see the Coliseum every morning. The room was beautiful, clean modern with lovely touches such as the brick ceiling. Lovely comfy bed.
Breakfast in the room on your own individual trolley was lovely. The owners were absolutely delightful, friendly, helpful but not pushy at all. After a long day sight seeing we just walked over the main road and into the little streets and had gorgeous food every night that was extremely reasonable in price. House wine usually good and reasonable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at La Finestra Sul Colosseo B&B.
My partner and I travel extensively and I have to say La Finestra Sul Colosseo is more like a 5 star boutique hotel than a B&B.
To echo the other reviews, the room was beautifully clean (exactly like the pictures) with modern amenities, the breakfast was superb and it was lovely to have it in the comfort of the room.
Aldo & Gioia could not have been more hospitable hosts, giving us great tips on local amenities, transport and even making dinner reservations on our behalf.
The location is excellent, the Colosseum is located at the end of the road, and makes for an amazing sight should you choose a room with a view, as we did.
La Finestra Sul Colosseo is walking distance to a number of top attractions as well as restaurants and bars. There are also good transport links from here to anywhere in the city.
I would highly recommend La Finestra Sul Colosseo B&B and will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wooleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#33 of 3,721 in Rome
259 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,721 in Rome
752 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,721 in Rome
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#2 of 3,721 in Rome
390 reviews
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#11 of 3,721 in Rome
577 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#29 of 3,721 in Rome
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing