We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTRA ORDINARY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Ranked #14 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXTRA ORDINARY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights from 21st March to 25th March. We are a couple from Indonesia, somewhere near Bali.
We travelled as a couple on our annual honeymoon routines, which this year happened to be in Europe. So, Rome is the final city in our Europe tour which began from Paris, Milan, & Venice.

For the benefit of other fellow travelers, here is my most unbiased & honest review of the property - La Finestra sul Coloseo (The Window on Colloseum... I suppose)

First of all... all other extremely wonderful reviews from other travelers (which could be rather questionable in the beginning until you experience it yourself) are very true.

So here our story began...
We arrived in Rome from Venice to the nearest station to the B&B in Coloseo (yes this is the name of the station).
Right at your doorstep is Coloseo, so you get to see the treat before anything else :).
At the station exit, we turned left & walked for about 400 meters to via Labicana. Approximately 300 meters down the road toward the B&B .... a young, tall, handsome & cheerful man was already on the way & waved "hii" to us... I just guessed that he must be Aldo & also he did guessed us too. Then he immediately helped us with the heavy luggage (as we were traveling in Europe for 3 weeks).

The apartment is on the fourth floor of an old building with a small elevator... its a big help anyway if you are carrying some heavy suitcases. The entrance to the apartment in itself is not specifically awesome (or read "standard") ... but just wait until you are IN the La Finestra Sul Coloseo as it is written on a small plate on the wooden door...

Its a plush... from the first step in.
The common room lighting is a modern auto-on lamp which use motion sensors. So, there's no need for you to push even a single button - anytime.
The theme of the entire place is modern minimalist.
Aldo cleverly choose a very pleasing combination of a warm colored wooden floor & entirely white everything (the wall, the doors, the frames, the windows, the bed, the linens & the bathroom except for the ceiling & the tv :))
So everything other travelers photographed is entirely as it is. No less. Unfortunately, we did not get our own photos of the place... which we promised ourselves that we would get one, on our next visit.

Aldo is ever helpful not just ON-Site, but also before we arrived.
Booking was very easy. & Aldo also was helpful with some regulatory paperworks, as it was required for us to obtain the schengen visa.

From the previously negative experience with the host in Venice; we were wondering how would the host be in Rome. But the moment we met Aldo; our doubt instantly vanished.
Not only did he welcomed us in the middle of the street; he gave a helpful one-page map showing all the attractions Rome has to offer, plus the hands-on explanation of how to maximize the Roma Pass. So I sat down chatting with him for about half an hour on that topic alone; while my wife was settling down in the room.

Aldo is one of the best hosts ever. He prepared breakfast every morning, weekdays or weekend. So you are very well attended. The breakfast was sumptuous, with a wide selection of traditional Italian breads & of course the coffee. Aldo makes a darn-good coffee. We agreed with the other reviewers on this topic. His love of cooking certainly helps in this regard. My wife noticed that its the precise proportion of milk that was his secret :) He also offered us a strong-small cup Italian coffee which could kickstart your day (or even night if you are caffeine intolerant). But it is an experience worth trying :) Thumbs up Aldo !!!

The room was fantastically clean & spotless. 2 bottles of mineral water were served for us daily together with a basket of fresh fruits. Not to mention the Wine he provided On-The-House !!
& the room was immaculately cleansed by Roy, the housekeeper, daily, no if no but.... & no other B&B we ever stayed in Europe or elsewhere had this kind of standard. Very Hotel Like !!
More to our surprise, on the third day they changed the bed sheets & the towels with the new ones. Truly apart of the rest. Well done Aldo & Roy... Bravo.. keep up the good work guys !!

The shower was powerful. Hot water was also good. Room heater was good. Air Conditioner was powerful & fully functional. We did tried it, as it was a warm & sunny day in Rome & we happened to be on our last day in Rome & we were packing up.

Wifi was good. TV wise, we found no english channel. Amenities were complete. However, a kettle would have been very useful, which Aldo said would be available from April onwards. The only one thing we found rather annoying was the sound of the toilet bowl & we talked to Aldo about this. Anyway the toilet worked just fine, nothing wrong, just the noise.

The B&B is located almost exactly in the middle of 2 metro stations, each about evenly 400 meters away from the B&B. Bus stop to many other places of interests are only about 200 meters from the building. Our room is the Coloseo View Room & we could see it from our window just as other traveler pictured.

There are many restos nearby. We found "Panella" about 15-20 minutes walk from the B&B. Its a good buffet resto with a Happy Hour. I don't remember precisely where it was. But its an easy walk & you can ask Aldo the whereabouts.

We are already in Love with the B&B, Aldo, Roy, & the coffee too... so, definitely we'll be back to this place the very next time in Rome & would never hesitate to recommend the place to all others.

Grazie Mille... Aldo
arrivederci

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAX5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
238
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this B&B for 9 nights and we loved everything about it. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The housekeeping service was better than in many 5-star hotels. The location was, of course, superb - you can see the Colosseum from your window and all the other ancient sights (Forum, Palatine Hill & Trajan Market) are less than a 10-minute walk away.
The best part about this B&B was the owner though. Aldo was such a great host. He served us breakfast every morning (he makes darn good coffee!) and he was always ready to help. When I got sick he kindly offered to call his family doctor, and the day we were leaving he arranged a car services for 5:30 a.m. to take us to the airport. Grazie, Aldo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

i stayed at the finestra with my wife ,son and daughter in law for three nights in feb/march this year and can say that this is one of the best little places i have stayed in.Aldo the owner was there to meet us on our arrival and was extremely helpful throughout our stay . the rooms are on the 4th floor of an appartment block about 300 metres from the colloseum and are beautifully kept with fresh fruit, bottled water and wine supplied. the breakfast is excellent served in the small kitchen by aldo who was most helpful in assisting us plan are days and nights while in rome, he showed us some great bars and restaurants in the local area that we would never have thought to go to.
there is an excellent transport system just on the doorstep of the hotel and you can use a tram, bus or metro to get anywhere in the city .We intend to return to rome in the next year or so and will definetly book into the finestra again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at La Finestra sul Colosseo for 3 nights in March, following a recommendation from a business colleague. We were warmly welcomed by our host Aldo, who was exceptionally friendly, and who helped to make our trip to Rome a memorable one!

Aldo's appartment (B&B as he calls it - much more than just a B&B for sure!) is pretty special, the quality of the decorations, fixtures, fittings, bed, etc etc, was of the highest standard - the ceilings are truly beautiful!

Our room was extremely elegant and equiped with everything you'd expect from a top hotel - fresh fruit was provided every day, along with water, beer and wine in our bedroom fridge.

Breakfast is held in the kitchen every morning, and Aldo is always on hand with great coffee and a terrific continental breakfast! This is also a great time to discuss recommended places to eat and visit with Aldo - he knows some excellent places to eat, and he has some terrific time and money saving tips for tourists!

The location is excellent, being only a few minutes walk away from the Colloseo, and the Metro line.

Overall, we can't recommend La Finestra sul Colosseo highly enough, and we will most definitely stay there again upon our return!

Grazie Aldo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesDCairns999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My Wife and I honeymooned through Europe for two weeks in October 2012. We stayed in many places throughout our trip and this was by far the best place we stayed. We stayed in the deluxe room that overlooked the courtyard and was a perfect, clean, safe and quiet place be. While we are a fairly easy couple to please, our expectations were greatly exceeded.
The location is great, is close to the metro and very close to the Coliseum, the Palatino and the Roman Forum. We spent four days in Rome, touring the entire city. One day we took the metro to the Vatican and walked back to La Finestra, which took all day but, it was great way to see the City.
Aldo, the owner was by far the best host we have ever had. He waited for us outside when we arrived and showed us the most professional and friendly service possible. Aldo was gracious, friendly, informative and any other nice word in the dictionary. He was able to provide many different entertainment options for us during our four days. Aldo was like having our own personal tour guide for the city as he was able to provide us an awesome amount of detail for touring Rome. We also felt like we had a friend we could trust and depend on if needed. This is the only place we will stay if we find ourselves in Rome again.
We agree with every extremely positive review for La Finestra on Tripadvisor.
Aldo, We hope you are doing well, your service is amazing and hope to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMcGuire880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to La Finestra after I read great reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews did not disappoint, the place is amazing & I loved the location- you literally walk out the front door and you can see the Colosseum! Aldo is really friendly and told us about places to go that aren't too expensive and explained the metro system to us. He also makes your breakfast for you everyday- which was lovely too! I'm not a massive fry up fan so his range of toast, pastries and yogurt were perfect. We had the room at the back, so the window is overlooking the courtyard. Our room was lovely and clean and and tidied every day. I could not recommend this place enough, when I go back to Rome I would definitely stay there again! Also- the bed is to die for, you literally sink in it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

So I have had to go back and write this review for the third time. That's how badly I wanted to write a review for Aldo and La Finestra. My girl friend and I stayed here for five night in February over Valentine's Day. Rome is awesome. But Rome is friendly thanks to Aldo. We met us outside when we arrived and took care of us entirely since. (I originally thought Aldo was going to be 60 but he's this awesome 30 year old guy!) He gave us a good map and great recommendations, set me up for a Valentine's day dinner and always has a great breakfast. He's so generous, fun, knowledgeable but also a great host; he knows exactly when to talk and be friendly and also when to let us be alone.

The room was spectacular. The pictures don't do it justice. You really DO have a view of the Colosseum. It was so clean and, honestly, simple. But it's charm comes from this. Aldo and his girl friend and friend cleaned up the place when they bought it, and it's the nicest place I've ever stayed in that wasn't something corporate. The bed was soooo comfy and big, everything worked wonderfully. It was almost a bummer to be in Rome and not get to stay in this wonderful hidden gem often. But it's the world's best nap room. And it's huge for Rome. My studio apartment is the same size. And the bathroom is awesome! Towel warmers, great tile work, a spacious shower. Everything about the place is great.

But again, go for Aldo. He's the best host I've ever stayed with. He answered all my email questions, helped all our needs and just flat out amazed me with his hospitality. You have to stay here. It's all of Rome in one room, not over the top accommodations but a rustic home stay that is a secret well kept.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Colosseo View." They're all attached to a commons room so you may sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JackLitchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#25 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#15 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Property: La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing