We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in the heart of rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Ranked #36 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a gem in the heart of rome”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The standard of service Aldo extends to his guests is something you experience well before you even get to his charming B&B. He kept me posted via email and via SMS re the fastest and easiest way to get to La Finestra. Then when I finally got off the train at the Coloseo stop, Aldo met me half way along Via Labicana as he was concerned that I might lose my way (though I never did because his directions were very clear). While the building where his B&B is located seems a bit gloomy, stepping into La Finestra was so refreshing! Bright, airy and tastefully decorated, it’s exactly how it looked on its webpage! My room was lovely, adequately supplied with bottles of water every day and a bowl of fresh fruits by his warm and hospitable staff, Roy. Wifi kept me connected with family and friends as I was traveling solo. As mentioned in the reviews, Aldo offers very good advice on places/restos to visit, what routes to take (La Finestra is close to the coloseo, Via Imperiali, Coloseo stop (blue line), Manzoni stop (red stop)). Best of all, he made reservations for me at the Galleria Borghese and gave me tips re visiting the Vatican Museum. His brand of service made my 5-day Roman holiday a truly memorable experience. Grazie, Aldo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maskinano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
247
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berg Sur Moselle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perfect position to explore Rome, what a beautiful city. The room was truly as nice as the photo, which is refreshing. Aldo could not be there to meet us when we arrived late (2200 a Tuesday evening) but he had arranged for his brother to be there, nothing was too difficult and everything is done to help you and make you feel comfortable. The entrance to the building is a bit strange, after the initial apprehension you get to the fantastic apartment which has a true WOW factor.

There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk for the evening, when your feet are tired this is very helpful, with full quality menus and wine for about 60 EUR for 2. My wife and I loved Rome, the city is fantastic, this B&B however really made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week. My flight didn't arrive until 10pm and I didn’t arrive at the hotel until around 11pm on the Thursday night. Even at this hour Aldo (hotel manager) was there to meet me – other places I have stayed in Europe have charged an additional fee to arrive at such a time however Aldo was very welcoming and met me at the front entrance to the building. The room which had the view of the Coliseum was amazing (especially for the price), very clean and very well presented. Complimentary fresh fruit and bottled water was provided in the room. The stay was very enjoyable and I cannot speak highly enough of Aldo’s hospitality and friendly manner which really made the stay very enjoyable. I have travelled extensively in Europe and this is the first time that I have taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, however I felt compelled to write this review due to the fantastic stay I had and I would highly recommend visitors to Rome to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just spend 5 nights in this lovely B&B. Nothing to complain about, just many thanks to say. Location is great, a short walk to many of the sights. There are also two metro lines close by, and a tram and bus routes just a few steps from the front door. We had the room without Colosseo view and it was really beautiful and quiet, we slept so well every night. The breakfast was also good. Aldo was the perfect host, he was always quick to reply to e-mails and had great tips where to eat. He kindly made ticket reservations for us and found the answers to our many questions, so thank you Aldo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one week and it was everything we expected and more. Aldo the host did everything in his power to make our stay with him the best it could be. The location was perfect, right by the colloseum. It was between two subway stations so getting anywhere was very easy. Aldo was always willing to provide any suggestions for restaurants or sights to see.

As for the room, we found it spacious and very clean through the entire trip! All rooms got there own bathroom which is not common in most places in rome. The beds were comfy and water was hot.

Every morning aldo had a great selection of fruits, tarts, crossiants, juices, coffee, tea, etc. all very good

I would be very surprised to see anyone disappointed with staying at this place.

Great job Aldo!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southpah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

La Finestra Sul Colosseo is a charming B&B well located 5 minutes from the Colosseum. We wanted to stay away from the big or chain hotels in Rome for a more casual experience, and La Finestra Sul Colosseo fit the bill. The proprietor, Aldo, is a great guy. Very charming and helpful, he took time to point out all sorts of attractions and restaurant recommendations on a helpful map of Rome which he provided for us. He even set up a car service for us for our return to the airport. We walked all over Rome and never felt that our B&B was too far away from anything. Our room was clean and inviting, the continental breakfast was perfect, and the experience as a whole was delightful. I highly recommend this B&B for people looking for a different kind of experience in Rome. We felt more like invited guests rather than tourists.

The B&B is just short ride from Roma Termini (11 Euro by cab), and then very convent to walk anywhere in Rome. Be sure to give the cabbie the address rather than the name. I didn't get the impression it was a well-known B&B, but it is literally 4 or 5 blocks from the main train station. We avoided the buses and struck out every morning, and returned at night. We were exhausted but got to see so much more by walking all over than we would being confined to a bus. Overall it was a charming Roman Holiday and we feel we got a much better impression of the trip by staying at La Finestra Sul Colosseo!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A friend of mine racommended this B&B right in front the Colossium, 3 minutes away from the Metro station.Aldo the owner is very friendly and he gave us so many tip for save money for trasportation and restaurant(the most important in a city like Rome).Also he gave us a bottle of wine and water for free.The room was big and very clean and a very confortable bed.Breakfast was delicious.I reacommend this B&B at all my friends and family,Thanks Aldo for amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask Aldo the Colosseum view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#4 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,642 in Rome
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Property: La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing