We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Perfect Place to Stay when in Rome”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #80 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most Perfect Place to Stay when in Rome”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This most charming hotel was a hdden gem. Centrally located and close to all transport, we felt this was a great choice for our recent 3 day stay in Rome. We selected this hotel based on all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed (thank you to all who had provided their recommendations). Don't expect the comforts and amenities of the international chain hotels but if you're looking for a charming boutique hotel with local character and history, we would certainly recommend Hotel Raffaello. Our room while not large, was beautifully decorated - upholstered headboard and matching wall treatments, hotel branded toiletries and even branded slippers - great attention to detail for such a small establishment. We had read all the negative reports about the small shower cubicle - yes it was tight however neither my husband nor I had any problems showering (and we are not small people), so we couldn't understand what all the fuss was about. Breakfast was amazing - fresh, plentiful and wonderful variety - juices, fruit, bakery items, cake, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs, yogurt and wonderful coffee/hot chocolate - all you could possibly need - so substantial that it kept us going until an early dinner. The breakfast staff were very efficeint and friendly and the made sure everything was replenished and coffees served at breakneck speed. Another thing we noticed which showed the generousity of the hotel. We observed earlier arrival travellers were offered to help themselves to breakfast, even though they were not technically checked in. Interestingly, further down our travels, we arrived at an International chain hotel (where we were gold loyalty members had booked an executive club room) and while waiting in the club lounge while our room was being readied, not only where we not offered to help oursevelves to something from the breakfast buffet in the lounge, but when I asked if we could have something (given we had just come off a long flight), we were told no we couldn't. So top marks to Hotel Raffaello, we are recommending you to all and can't wait to return to Rome in the future, where we would not even consider looking to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tntpaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    762
    131
    37
    12
See reviews for
519
1,316
129
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Had a great long weekend in Rome staying at the Raffaello. The hotel is very clean and there was a very acceptable continental breakfast. It is very well located for the bus/train station. We were given a bottle of wine, as it was our silver wedding, which was a nice touch.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank archie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Room on the top floor had a great terrace with views of surrounding neighbourhood. Bathroom was clean with a tiny but functional shower. Lift only marginally larger than the shower. Walking distance to the Collosseum. Breakfast of standard European fare with good coffee made to order. Staff were helpful if a little tourist fatigued.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This hotel had a great location near the Termini Station and within easy walking distance to almost everything but the Vatican. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip, and both our rooms were elegant and super clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and quite helpful, and their restaurant recommendations were right on. Breakfast was a wonderful start to the day with great food and friendly service. This place is a great value and a perfect base for a stay in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were in Rome for a single day on a stopover on our way back from rural Tuscany, and this hotel was in an absolutely perfect location. We walked the 5 minutes from the train station, dropped off our bags and then walked on another 15 to the Colisseum, plus a cappuccino stop on the way.

The hotel is classy and pretty. At check-in our service was just adequate, but after a shift change the service became impeccable. The front desk staff arranged for a "taxi" (a brand new 5-series BMW driven by a man in a sharp suit) for us to the airport at a reasonable price, and even arranged to have the breakfast room open 15 minutes early so we could have breakfast before leaving. The quality of the breakfast was quite good and was worth the rush.

Not a cheap hotel, but good value in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chula_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Beautiful twin room on top floor, actually said apartment on checkout bill, window opened onto a lovely big garden terrace with lots of plants. Very well furnished. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice. Reception staff very friendly. Location was excellent, not far from Termini about 15 min walk, you could basically walk on foot anywhere within 20 mins or half hour or so. Lovely restaurants nearby. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

First visit to Rome for my 50th birthday. Had read the reviews on trip advisor and decided on the Hotel Rafaello. What a good choice it turned out to be. We asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to pick us up from the airport. Giacomo pointed out all the sights on the way. First impressions of the Hotel - clean, welcoming and well kept. Allocated room 420 at the rear of the hotel. Twin beds for the boys, large separate room for us with double. Wonderful shower with power jets in the bathroom. We used the air con on some days because it was really warm, but kept the windows open generally. On the first morning woke up to wonderful smells of baking croissants. Went down to substantial breakfast buffet. Christina, our attentive and welcoming waitress was great.
Attractions - visited most of them on foot. We liked the idea of following the map and my goodness we did some walking. Word of advice when you visit the Colosseum - avoid the gladiators in the surrounding area! 1 "friendly" guy posed for photos then demanded 20 euros - he didn't get it , we did pay an amount but had to be quite firm about it. Buy your tickets from the Forum and you bypass any queues. Visited St Peters and the Vatican/Sistine chapel (not on Wed - Pope does his address) The queues looked long and you were continually pestered to join unofficial trips, but if you visit St Peters in the morning and the Vatican in the afternoon there isn't usually a queue. Should there be, buy a ticket for an extra 4 euros from the information point in the Square and you can avoid this. We felt very welcomed in this city. People were very helpful and kind.
At the top of my review I mentioned we were visiting for my birthday, we were dining at La Mela D'Oro. How wonderful it was, Christian and Sami dimmed the lights and brought in a home made cake, sparkly candle and everyone sang "happy birthday". I felt quite overwhelmed with their kindness - a moment I will always treasure. Thank you x
Only negative bit about the area - a spitting tramp woman! she frequented the area at times getting more and more drunk and proceeded to curse and spit at anyone! The locals were quite right to be angry about her, so, beware.
I have no hesitation to recommend this wonderful, welcoming hotel to anyone who wants a central base to explore this brilliant city. I threw loads of coins into the Trevi fountain and hope that the tale about returning to the city will come true sooner rather than later. Ciao

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
2,326 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Property: Hotel Raffaello
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing