We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #83 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Raffaello Hotel was the first hotel we visited on our travels through Italy.Travelling with 2 young teenagers meant that our accomodation needed to be suitable so that we could all be in the same suite. This hotel offered that and was one of the key criteria for making a booking. Upon our arrival we were pleased to find out that our room was ready for an earlier than expected check-in. Whilst our room had no view, this was not of concern. Airconditioning worked well and sleeping attangments were very comfortable. Whilst close to the Colosseum, we depended on the efficient metro system to take us to all other areas we wanted to visit. For those who enjoy staying a little further away from the hustle and bustle of a very busy city, it would provide a perfect location. Breakfast was the best we experienced throughout the country. Plentiful with great variety, and most importantly the kids loved it !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Our room (404) was a good size, with a big bathroom, and overlooked the street to the front. The air conditioning was great as Rome was very hot when we visited. The buffet breakfast was ample and kept us going for most of the day. There was a good selection of bread/toast, pastries, cheeses, meats, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices and a hot option. Make sure you ask reception for a card to access the roof terrace bar at Hotel Albergo Del Senato, which overlooks the city and is next to the Pantheon. If we get the chance to re-visit Rome, we would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were in a room on the top floor, room 512, which had a balcony as requested when we booked through Booking.com. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very clean but the shower was very small it would NOT be ok for large people. (You would squeeze in but it would be hard to move around)
The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were also left daily...I had a lovely sleep in that double bed, very comfy. There was also airconditioning which is essential in Rome.The staff were very proffessional and very helpful. There was internet access, but for a fee. The staff gave me wake up calls when requested, the reception is manned 24 hours a day and there are free apples at Reception which were good as a snack! :)
We were on a budget in Rome as our credit card did not work without a pin, so the Buffet Breakfast was our favourite! We had a good breakfast which lasted us until Dinner. There were scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, toast, croissants, yougurt, canned fruit, fresh fruit orange juice, water, tea, coffee, cakes, cereals etc...more than enough to choose from. We also took a peice of fresh fruit for afternoon tea. We loved it!
We had an early Sistine Chapel tour one morning and they let us have breakfast half an hour earlier than opening time which we appreciated very much. The Hotel is within walking distance to all attractions and is close to the main Train Station which was also good as we had to catch a train to Venice and did not have to catch a taxi. This hotel earns its stripes!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smeeeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The staff here is wonderful. Extremely helpful, and gives good recommendations for seeing the sights and for meals. The hotel appears to be very popular with English-speaking tourists, and every staff member I encountered greeted me in English, so don't expect a real Italian experience here. My room was on the top floor, had a nice view of the Roman rooftops with a little balcony and enough room for 1 person. The bathroom was fine, except the shower was really tiny! A tall or large person might have an uncomfortable time taking a shower here! The hotel was quiet and comfortable, with a great breakfast included in the morning.

The neighborhood is quiet, within a 10 minute walk from the Termini station, and about 10 minutes to the Colosseum, although other attractions are a bit farther away (10-15 minute cab ride to Vatican City). The area seemed safe enough at night, although it is one street back from the main street (Via Cavour), and not as well traveled. I had free wi-fi on a promotion, but it seems like it's not free all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We went for a long week end to Rome. The Hotel is within walking distance from the Train Station though the directions are a little confusing because you can unwittingly exit the Train station at the side rather than via the main entrance.
An adequately sized room. Separate lounge area available with tea and coffee making facilities. Short walk to Via Nazionale with easy access to busses. Access to the Metro nearby(which we did not use). Within walking distance of many of the tourist attractions. A comprehensive buffet style breakfast. We were made to feel safe, secure, and very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotherDaughter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

the hotel is situated very close to the colosseum, and all other sites of interest are within easy reach. Metro is nearby and this is very cheap and efficient. You are spoilt for choice for restaurants and shops!
Whilst we were at the hotel it was my partner's 60th birthday and a bottle of champagne and some nibbles were left in the room as a surprise - very thoughtful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batemansally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed two nights at Hotel Rafaello and really enjoyed our time. The hotel is very comfortable and well located - roughly between Termini station and the Colosseum. The staff we met at reception and at breakfast were helpful and polite - good advice from the reception staff to visit the old town "Trastevere" and also useful bus and walking routes. Overall a great balance of high quality and comfortably relaxed.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank sma2sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,007 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing