We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very nice four night stay at Hotel Raffaello. It was a short walk from Termini Station and walking distance from many sites. Just down the street were many excellent restaurants. The room was very good for Rome standards and the breakfast was very up to standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making reservations and providing us with suggestions for restaurants and sites. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear korbt,

Thank you for having written such a brief, but consistent review about us, we are glad to hear you had such a nice staying! :)

Hoping you will renew your visit as soon as possible, we wish you a warm welcome back home! :)

Warmest regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    708
    120
    34
    11
See reviews for
481
1,226
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to Easter. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel and our room was very clean with everything we needed. We liked the traditional decor and the fact that the walls do not have wallpaper but are padded and hung with fabric. The bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are excellent with lots of choice of well cooked and fresh food. Our mattresses were very, very firm which may not be to everyone's comfort but perhaps it's possible to ask for a softer one if necessary?

The location is convenient and atmospheric- 10 mins walk from Colosseum - with lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc. I am always somewhat nervous going abroad when I cannot speak the language and communicate but everyone spoke good English which made me feel so much more relaxed.
One little highlight each day was coming back tired from sightseeing to the little refreshment area where you could help yourself to delicious free coffee/tea at any time of day or night and relax or use the Internet or read the papers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scibrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear scibrian,

Thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

We are glad to hear your staying here was such a pleasant one, as our guests' wellbeing is the thing we mostly care about, and services like the Pillow Menu (our guests can choose their pillow based on how they are used to), the Concierge (who provides info to the guests concerning museums, restaurants, schedules and prices, or the cofee machine and the tea facilities in the lobby, as well as the computer which our guests can use free of charge. :)

Hoping we will have you back here as soon as possible, we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is lovely and comfortable. The staff are very nice and helpful, the breakfast very good with lots of fruit and also tomato etc, which I like. Although I did not eat it, my partner had some scrambled egg which looked very good and not rubbery as it often is in hotels. The hotel is about 5min. walk from Termini train station and having been to Rome before, we like the part of town the hotel is in. Follow down Via Urbana and you'll find nice little shops and bars which are a bit different and there are no end of good restaurants reasonably priced. Absolutely everything is within easy walking distance. The only draw back is that the hotel has nowhere outside to sit but it has a sister hotel which has and Rafaello guests can use it. However, At the bottom of the road is a fountain and a small shop. Everybody seemed to buy a drink there and sit by the fountain which we were more than happy to do as well. just follow the noise as you head down the road. I am confident I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Penelop365,

We are so glad to hear your staying here was such a nice one!

Yes, we have a huge respect for our guests, and we prove it by always trying to give our best- from the quality of the products we use (for breakfast, as well as in the rooms) to the services we have implemented , and that we are continuously trying to add or improve: such as the free wi-fi, the coffee machine and the tea facilities in the lobby, the computer which our guests can use free of charge, the vending machine where they can buy themselves a snack or a drink late in the night, or the concierge service, where guests can get assistance regarding tickets for museums, train schedules, or any other information concerning their staying here...

Hoping your new visit will be a soon reality, we wish you all the best, and thank you once again for having chosen us, for having enjoyed us, and for having given us a little bit of your time while writing this review! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We returned from the Rafaello yesterday. It had been recommended by friends so we were already expecting it to be suitable for our needs but it was far better than that.

Easy to find, short walk from Termini (15 mins), welcome was friendly, quick check in and up to our room (in the tiny lift but it does just the job - kids used the stairs!). Take the train from the airport it's easy to do and quicker than a taxi - though for 4 people the cost would be similar 14 euros each, free under 12.

We had a quad room on the 4th floor as we had an 11 year old and 14 year old - not old enough for their own room but too old for camp beds. Room was just what we required - bedroom off a bedroom - proper beds for all and a nice spotless bathroom (shower). No view, as stated in previous reviews - that would just have been a bonus. Pillow menu was a nice surprise - we all chose differently (!!) and free Wi-Fi was fantastic bonus - where would we be without email and Facebook! Also, it is an area restricted for traffic so there is very little road noise so we got a very good nights sleep even with the windows cracked open!

The area of Monti is super - loads of reasonably priced, authentic bars and restaurants. Pretty square with fountain & evening sunshine surrounded by nice bars, plenty of nice small boutique shops and a fantastic gelateria on Via Leonina for after dinner ice-creams. It feels safe, busy in the evenings with nice local people having a good time and no hard sell touts. Perfect for families with older kids looking for an "Italian evening" without crowds or having to walk too far!

The Rafaello doesn't have a restaurant - it doesn't need to with all those great restaurants on the doorstep. However its small breakfast mezzanine is perfect. Breakfast was lovely and the service from the ladies there every day was just great - friendly, smiling, helpful and kept everything clean, tidy, topped up and running smoothly. And, there is a nice coffee machine, kettle etc in the lobby to help yourself to a free drink when you return from a long day out!

Front desk staff very cheerfuly, friendly and helpful. Return airport taxi (set cost 48euro) arrived 3 mins after booking and was efficient on a Sunday - weekdays I would use the train again. Housekeeping impeccable & friendly.

I would definitely stay at the Rafaello again if we returned to Rome and would recommend it to anyone (expect perhaps those with small kids in pushchairs - the cobbles, hills, stairs, lift etc may be too much a challenge for them). For us, the area in the evenings was the biggest plus - a really nice place to be, particularly if you've had a hard day sightseeing.

Thank you to all the staff at Rafaello.

Room Tip: Quad rooms for family perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear SomersetSarah,

Are you sure you are not a hotel critic?! :) As you seem very fit to me, you have thought about everything, I don't know what else we could add to such a complete review like yours! :)

Thank you, first of all, for having chosen us. Second, thank you for having enjoyed us. And third, thank you for having given us some of your precious time, while writing such a detailed and precise review! :)

We are glad to hear we have impressed you so much, and that your staying here was such a warm one, and we do hope you will give us the chance to host you here again soon. :)

Warmest wishes and welcome back home! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A wonderfully welcoming hotel. We arrived late and staff were immediately on hand to help and suggest somewhere to go out and eat. The restaurants that were recommended were excellent. The rooms were comfortable and clean and for breakfast you were able to choose from a good selection of tasty foods!
The location is fantastic and allows you to explore Rome on foot.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce_614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Joyce_614,

Of course we did that! We always do it : that, and more! :)

We are here for and due to you- our guests- and we never lose that of sight or mind, that is why we always try to always do, give and make the best in order for you to enjoy not only your staying, but the Eternal City, as well...

We are glad you have enjoyed your staying here so much, and we do hope to have you back here as soon as possible. :)

Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Thank you so much to all the staff at the Hotel Rafaello for making our first visit to Rome so lovely.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the standard of our room and the hotel in general excellent.
The continental breakfast included in the price gave ample choice and set us up with a good start to the days walking and sightseeing.
I had read previous reviews before booking and these had influenced my choice of hotel - the reviews were accurate and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit this amazing city.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor(there is a lift) and it had a balcony which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for having joined the ones who have already praised us on Tripadvisor, we would like to remind everyone the Tripadvisor users have a special discount! :)

Coming back to ourselves, ...we do our jobs with passion, commitment, and respects towards our guests' needs, and we can only be glad when this is perceived, and appreciated...

Hoping you did throw a coin in the breathtaking Trevi Fountain, and therefore, ...you will come back to Rome, ...we wish you all the best, and a Happy and serene Easter! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been to Rome three times and stayed at different hotels each time, this hotel is the best we have stayed at, it is centrally located but down a quiet side street, the staff were very helpful and the concierge was available most mornings to help you plan your day and route, a clean comfortable room with small balcony, very good breakfast, small lounge with coffee and tea available anytime, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappy4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear unhappy4540,

We are glad we could make you happy for a change! :) (yeah, I know, bad joke! :))

On a more serious note, ...we are here for you: our guests, and your wellbeing is what we mostly care about, therefore we can only be happy when hearing or reading words like yours...

Thank you for having given us a little bit of your time, and ...we hope to have you soon back here.
Until then, best and warmest regards,
and Happy Easter! :)
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#56 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#25 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing