We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the price in Rome”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #82 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend. Upon checking in we asked for a map and the front desk had one on hand and circled all the major sites and where the hotel was in relation to them all, a great start. We had arrived early so our room was not ready. We spent the day exploring rome and came back to happily find our luggage was already in our room. The room was very nice, a big window that opened, large bed, a dresser, TV, mini bar and air conditioner. The bathroom was nice with a shower bath combo. The toilet is oddly close to the biddet but it was not a big deal. The desk staff was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the area. Checkout is at noon and our flight was not until 9. The hotel was very accommodating letting us store our bags there and wait in their cute little coffee area which has free coffee, comfy chairs and a TV. Elena was very helpful in organizing transportation for us to the airport and even brought us free croissants and pound cake while we relaxed and waited for our ride. I agree with some other reviews that this hotel should be four stars. Great hotel, neighborhood and free wifi for as many devices as you want. The staff definitely made this hotel, I will definitely be returning if I find myself in Rome again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure trying to make your staying here, with us, as beautiful as it could have been. :)

We are here FOR and DUE to YOU: OUR GUESTS, and as far as we are concerned, you and your wellbeing are the most important thing to us.
Our "jobs" have to do with making yourselves feel like home while visiting the Eternal City, as we understand and see it.
Feedbacks like yours prove us we are on the good path in doing that, and gives us motivation and energy to just keep on going the same way! :)
Hoping you will honour us with a new visit as soon as possible, we wish you a wonderful summer!
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raffaello
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great hotel close to the Termino, a metro stop and a double-decker bus stop. Hotel desk staff is helpful and speaks good English. They know the area.

Rooms are standard size for Europe. Bed lighting is great. Bathrooms clean and modern.

Room Tip: It isn't a noisy area but we had a room overlooking the alley and were able to keep our window o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senoravieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your brief, concise review.

We are glad to have been able to satisfy your needs, and to have made your staying in Rome so pleasant.

Hoping the next time you will come to Rome we will able to show our hospitality doesn't stop here, we wish you a wonderful summer!

Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay in Rome. The hotel is small but staff are friendly and polite. The hotel is basic and our double room was small. The en-suite was a good size though and very clean. Breakfast was basic and nothing to rave about but the coffee was good. The hotel is close to the Termini, probably a 10 minute walk and is situated on a relatively quiet street. The Colesseum is about a 15 minute walk. I probably wouldn't stay here again as I preferred the area around the Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona where there seemed to be more restaurants and pavement cafes aswell as being more central. Rome is an amazing city!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calitraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Reading your review , ...a question appeared : were you reviewing Raffaello, or Rome itself?! As it seemed to me the only thing that bothered you was we weren't closer to Piazza Navona or Trevi Fountain area... :)

Monti, the district where Raffaello is situated, already existed during Nero's times, it was actually called "Subburra" (latin for suburbs )...
This area is one of the most ancient areas of Rome. Its narrow streets, full of handcraft shops, small restaurants and taverns...are very much appreciated by a lot of our guests, we are sorry you didn't live its charm as much as the one of Piazza Navona, or Trevi Fountain.
As I always say, Rome is 4 citiesc put together: antique Rome, medieval Rome, modern Rome, and contemporary Rome... We're situated on the antique side of Rome... :)


That being said, we hope you will honour the Eternal City with a new visit, and...get the most of it! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just returned from Roma, stayed 3 days at this property. It is located on a fairly quiet street and well situated to everything, as long as you are ok with walking (which we are) because the hotel is central to Termini and the Cavour metro stop but still a short walk. This is probably why the location is so peaceful. The lobby and sitting areas at lovely and the coffee and tea service that is available are a nice welcome when you come back from site seeing. We booked room 316 and 318. 316 is a very small room with a double bed and a large bathroom, well laid out once you get past the bed. 318 is a larger double room, better lay out in the room but the bathroom was smaller. The toilet and bidet face each other with about 3 inches of clearance between.
Rooms were every clean and the showers had great water pressure. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Wifi worked very well throughout the hotel but you need to log on each time you use it (no big deal)

The breakfast was wonderful, and the eggs were a nice surprise for Italy, the staff will bring you coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, etc, just kindly ask.

Room Tip: Room 318 is off the street, very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Der guest,

It might sound like a clichè, but what else could we begin with, than..."THANK YOU!" : for having chosen us in the first place, for having spoken in suh a beautiful way about us in the second place...
We are here because of YOU, OUR GUESTS, ...and your feedback helps us set the path and the direction of our evolution. That is why we are more than grateful for all the feedbacks: they help us understand your needs, opinions, and impressions...
We hope you will give us the chance of hosting you again soon. By then,
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family of two adults and two boys, 6 and 8 stayed here for 6 days and could have stayed longer such is the attraction of Rome. While the double room was smallish, perhaps not by Rome style, and the breakfast basic, as everywhere else in Italy, the staff were very helpful and the location great with many good restaurants nearby. Walking distance for our family to the Collosseum but otherwise it was metro from the nearby station or taxi which was cheap to any tourist destination in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for having written such beautiful words about our staff, we are more than happy to have met not only your approval, but even your appreciation! :)

As for the breakfast consideration, it is one of our power points, and a lot of reviewers have praised its variety: from the cold cuts, to the cheese, fresh fruits, marmelades, yogurts, cereals, toasts, milk and pastries (sweet or salty) ...we tried and did our best in order to make everyone happy, and offer our best in terms of variety and quality. Actualy, our cappuccino is always appreciated! :)

That being said, we hope we will have another chance to host you and your wonderful sons, maybe this time in our specific family room (which would be 2 bedrooms connected to eachother).
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I don't know where to start. Everything was great. The hotel staff were very friendly. When I arrived the first day, they gave me a relatively small room. I requested from them to change the room, and it was changed the next morning. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety. The room was super clean. The location was excellent, 10 minute walk to the Termini. The concierge staff Elena was very helpful. She recommended me to 2 local restaurants which were fantastic (especially La Carbonara restaurant) and also gave me shopping tips. This hotel should be rated at least 4 star. Thank you all for making my stay very pleasant (Elena, Massimo, Fransisco and Edouardo). If I get back to Rome, Raffaello will be my hotel definitely.

Room Tip: Room 416 (Single Room) is very spacious and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Vicken,

We are more than glad you've enjoyed your stay at Raffaello so much! :)

We are here for you, OUR GUESTS, ...and that is why whenever it is possible for us, we make our best in order to satisfy your needs, as it happened in the case of you and your room.

As for the rest, ...we have just done our jobs with commitment and passion, like we always try to, ...but we are grateful that you have sensed it, and that our main purpose: your wellbeing ...was achieved.
We are looking forward to your return ...with new tips about restaurants and shopping! ;)
Most sincere regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is located very close to Rome Termini, around 8-10 minute’s walk. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are clean too though not very big in size. The kitchen staff were very friendly and even prepared us a pre-packed breakfast when we were departing very early on one of the days and could not eat at the hotel.
The only issue I had was that there was no coordination between the hotel and Hotel Club through whom I booked since the hotel did not have my kids names. Not sure whose fault it is but if you book through any of the hotel booking sites make sure to confirm with the hotel too the total number of guests and the check in and out times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazlysayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having used some of your time to write about us, we would like to remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount! :)
Second, thank you for having reminded Hotel Raffaello's position is one of its power points: 700 m away from Termini, the main train station, and the node connecting the 2 subway lines, and 1 km away from the Colosseum.
And as an explanation to your question, you have booked a triple room. As soon as we discovered you were 2 adults and 2 children, we have brought a cradle in your room, with NO EXTRA CHARGE!
As usually, we have done all our best in order to solve the problem. As one of our guests once said, ...God is hidden in small details, and ...we take care of our guests, in the smallest things.
That is why we hope to have you back as soon as possible.
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,267 in Rome
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,667 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $102 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing