We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent Offering for the price. Located close to a new hipster area with some good restaurants and good bars around. It is a good walking distance to the train station. Lovely rooms. Decent breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stigmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stigmania,

Now this is a very concise brief, and resumed portrait of our hotel ! :)

Thank you for having spent a little bit of your time writing your impression about Raffaello, it is very important for us having feedbacks from our guests, and of course we like it even more when the reviews are positive: it helps us realize we are doing well..

Hoping we will have the opportunity to having you back here soon, we wish yopu a wonderful year!
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    750
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
510
1,292
128
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This boutique hotel knows there market and gets it right in every aspect.
Pros:
1. Service - I could spend a paragraph on this. The staff was friendly and made you feel like family. They were truly interested in making sure you enjoyed their lovely city. All of their recommendations were accurate and helpful. Elena called ahead to get us a spot at the Borghese Gallery, very much appreciated. Eduardo was so kind and helpful (I attached a picture) making sure we had all the information we needed each night, that we were enjoying our staying, he always asked if we needed anything every time we dropped off our key. What a gem of an employee!
2. Large Room for Europe - I think it was 14' x 12' plus good sized bathroom. Some rooms are smaller.
3. Jetted shower - very nice to relax. (High enough but small to shave legs)
4. Heated bathroom - huge plus!!
5. Pillow Menu and slippers in addition to full kit of toiletries, very much appreciated
6. Room was VERY clean. No dust or dirt anywhere
7. Bed sheets and comforter were very comfortable
8. Large beautiful armoire and desk in room
9. In room safe
10. Comfortable large upholstered bench by window
11. Breakfast always had something tasty to enjoy and the free included cappuccinos were heavenly! I had one EVERY morning.
12. Large umbrellas provided to take with you during the day or night - such a thoughtful touch as an umbrella can be quite bulky to bring with.
13. Well documented maps that they would whip out and circle how to get places for you.
14. Excellent Location! Easy walk to Termini, Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, and Santa Maria Maggiorre was only two blocks away. We found Bus 75 along Cavour to be perfect for getting to/from almost everywhere. We would take it to Termini or the Colloseum. Also, the BEST gellato in the world is less than two blocks away.
15. There was a drawer full of common items people might need - just ask. They provided us with a convertor when we found we had left ours at home.
Cons:
1. Bed was a little hard, but put down a mattress pad and it was fine.
2. Some noise from hallway, could be muffled better in newer building.
3. Elevator was very small, it could barely fit us and our luggage in. This is typical in a boutique hotel in Europe.
4. Although shower has jets it is quite small and difficult to shave legs in.
This boutique hotel was about as close as you could get to perfect. It's amazing their attention to detail.
My only recommendations:
1. Offer a mattress pad on arrival for those who don’t like a hard bed.
2. Consider an in-room lunch/dinner package or maybe a snack package. It would especially be appreciated by those who are getting off a flight and want something light to eat before going to bed or taking a jet lag nap.
3. The breakfast team was incredibly efficient and accommodating. I would remind them to make sure they always smile and keep their tone low when asking someone to move to a different table. The people next to us were bothered by how they were asked to move. (We had no issues with this.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piratelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Anna,

...you could write a book about us, from what I've seen! :)

We are more than grateful for the wonderful and so very detailed review you have written about us, we would also like to remind all Tripdvisor users they have a special discount. :)

We are more than glad you liked your staying here, with us. Coming from an expert traveller like you, it means even more to us.

Hoping we will have the honour of having you back again as soon as possible, we wish you all the best.

PS: a very special hello from Edoardo. :)

Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet street close to the main terminal station which also gives good access to the metro and main bus depot. Also good restaurants in the area and close to the colosseum and the forum. Nice comfortable room. We asked for (and got) a balcony with a nice outlook over the old church next door. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip including eggs and toast (and excellent coffee). The lounge area with all day tea and coffee was good to come back to after a hard day's sight seeing. The concierge was very helpful and the staff friendly. The only small issue is the size of the shower which is a bit small. Otherwise perfect.

Room Tip: Request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros and Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Ros,

We have chosen this job because we love having to do with people. WE CARE about our guests, and that is why we always try to do our best in order to satisfy their needs, when possible. :)

Another way to demonstrate our commitment toward our clients' wellbeing is the quality and the attention we give to the genuineness of the products we put on their tables for breakfast, as well as the Concierge service, which you've also mentioned, and not only...

But in order for the other Tripadvisor users (whom we would like to remind they all have a special discount) to convince themselves what we are all about, ... they will have to come here and see with their own eyes! :)

We hope you will be here again soon, maybe with a bathtub this time. :)
Until then,
Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of March with my mother and my brother, for 5 nights, and really enjoyed our stay. Even if I am not a big fan of the decoration (my mother loved it) the rooms were very quiet and the bed comfortable. What's more you can ask to the reception whenever you want to have special pillows (soft, gold, natural, ...) and it is very appreciable. But the must for me (and I think for my family too) was the breakfast! The buffet breakfast is not huge but you have a large choice of bread, pastries, fruits, cakes, eggs, vegetables ... And it was good! The waitresses were very nice as well and they could even guess what I wanted before I could open the mouth to ask them at the end of the stay. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful as well. Now it is sure that if we come back in Roma, we will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoki_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We take into serious consideration our guests' wellbeing, that is why we continuously try to make our best in order to satisfy their needs.

Concerns like using only best quality and fresh products for breakfast, or having a coffee machine in the lobby, as well as the Pillow Menu, which you reminded of, the Concierge service, along with a long list of other facilities we offer our guests...are living proves of our commitment towards you, our clients. :)

Hoping you will renew your next visit within short time, we are looking forward to having you here again.
Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is ideal for your visit to Rome. Location is just right from train station, Colosseum and Spanish Steps. The room was lovely, clean and the beds and pillows perfect for sleeping. Customer service from all the staff was excellent, they made you feel at home. The breakfast had everything you could ask for including the aromas of fresh baked croissants every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaTomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Adriana, ...

When?! When will you be back?! :)

Wouldn't know what to say,...cause after a review like yours, ..there isn't much to be said... Like I always say, ...when a guest says he will come back, ...it's the biggest compliment he could make...so THANK YOU...for having spent a little bit of your time on writing about us.

Have a beautiful and renewing spring, and...we are looking forward to welcome you again soon! :)

Regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently had a perfect 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel. After long days sight seeing it really felt like coming home in the evenings. The staff were cheerful and friendly and I can not say enough about the wonderful Elena whose help and support will never be forgotten. The rooms were spacious, clean and the pillow menu was a real bonus. In the mornings we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and of course excellent coffee. The location of the hotel is fantastic being about 700 metres from train station and within walking distance to the historic centre of Rome. There are a lot of really good restaurants close by and the sight seeing buses stop just around the corner. We are planning another trip at Christmas time and this will certainly be our first choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 506 was very special with a huge terrace overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sally,

Now THIS is what I'd call "good news" !!

And beyond any other comment, ...the fact itself that you are planning to return, ...says more than 1000 words - it is the most beautiful and real compliment a hotel could ever receive, because it is the confirmation we have done our job right! :)

We are here for you, our guests, and we do try to make the best out of your staying here, we are more than happy we succeeded in your case.

We are looking forward to having you here for Christmas, so until then,
Have the most serene and bright year!
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had three wonderful nights here earlier this month. This a great hotel but more importantly the staff are 1st class. We were warmly greeted by Elena who could see that we were jet-lagged. She was wonderful! We were too early to be shown to our room so Elena took us in hand, gave us coffee, then using a Rome map quickly pointed out the closest, most interesting sights to fill in the next few hours. When we got back to the hotel our bags were waiting for us in our room. The breakfasts were good with plenty of variety. The dining room staff whilst being busy were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very well presented and a pleasure to walk into. Whilst the rooms are compact they were entirely adequate and we were very happy. The pillows supplied were not quite right and they quickly provided softer ones for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We could not recommend the hotel more highly. In particular, Elena was outstanding and we thank her for her care and attention to us.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank areandgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Areandgee,

What could I say? I'm an angel! :))

And now, that we're done joking, ...would just like to say we are humans, and this job has to be made considering we have to do with humans, so...that is why we always try to give our best, and do our work with passion, consideration and respect towards who's in front of us.

We are more than glad you appreciated this so much, as we are here for YOU, OUR GUESTS, and we try to prove it with all the services we add, improve , or reinvent, such as the Pillow Menu or the Concierge service, which you've already mentioned, as well as with offering a free wi-fi connection, which we've recently tunned, or with the lobby area, where our guests can have complementary coffees or teas...

Getting back to your wonderful review, we are so grateful for your beautiful words, and we hope you will give us the chance to impress you in a near future, as well. :)

Best regards and warmest wishes,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing