We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynne and Barry”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #85 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel was booked thru Hotel. com by our youngest son, as joint birthday trip from all our family. what fantastic choice he made. our emails just prior to the trip were answered promptly. The room was perfect and absolutely clean. The taxi service offered by the hotel was excellent both on arrival and departure. Rome was absolutely fantastic, and the hotel was very central to every thing. The only failing was my choice of Hop on hop off bus company. Do not use the Green line Co, which Elena apparently would not have recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Lynn and Barry,

We are thrilled you liked Raffaello so much! Thank you for having shared your positive opinion with the other Tripadvisor users, to whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

We have been continuously trying to improve our services, and reviews like yours prove we are on the good path.

I am sorry to hear about your unhappy experience with the hop on hop off company you mentioned. Whenever I have the possibility, I try to talk with guests and understand what their needs are.
I try to advise them with all honesty, always. I am sorry you were unlucky with your choice, and I am even sorrier I didn't have the chance to advise you, as you booked the company without having asked my opinion.
Hopefully, the next time we'll have you here, we'll get to talk, and you will be able to get the best out of your Roman holiday! :)
Best regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel in Feb 2013 and had a great experience. Elena answered several email questions prior to our arrival and gave us some great sightseeing advice once we were onsite. Arranged for the Airport pickup service through the hotel website during booking and it worked perfectly. We were met outside baggage claim and driven directly to the hotel. NOTE: even though you book the car service via the website and it shows the charge on the confirmation, you have to pay the driver directly in cash at the end of the ride, so make sure to have some Euros on hand. Breakfast was outstanding and had a great mix of local and western foods to choose from. Coffee was some of the best we had in Rome. We got lucky and were upgraded to room with a terrace, which was really cool. There was virtually no street noise at night and we slight soundly. Room was good size and bathroom was first rate. Everything was very clean. Hotel was in a great location for walking to sites and the front desk recommended a great little family restaurant just few hundred yards away that we really enjoyed. If we come to Rome again, we would definately stay at this hotel. It was a great value and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Don,

The truth is no matter what I would try to write, ...it would fade, compared to your astonishing words about us, so...THANK YOU! :)

We are more than happy your staying here has been as positive and as impressive as you described it, because honestly, ...that is the reason we have chosen this job: in order to be able to help people and brighten their day, when it is possible for us to do so.

From the cleaning to the smallest details, such as the fresh products used for the breakfast, the lobby with the coffee machine or the tea facilities, the free wi-fi , the Pillow Menu or the Concierge, ...we have continuosly tried to outgrow ourselves, offering the best we could , in order to gratify our guests.

So reviews like yours, ...gratify US, ...reassuring what we have to give is sometimes not only noticed, but even appreciated.

Once again, thank you, and...we, too, are waiting for your next trip to Rome, and obviously, ...to have you back here! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was staying one night in Rome as I had an early flight out the next morning. I picked the hotel for it's location- it took me only 10 minutes to walk with my luggage from Roma Termini which was ideal as I had quite a heavy suitcase. I thought I would be able to walk back up to the station the next morning to catch a train, but the land slopes downwards towards the hotel and with my luggage I decided I'd definitely be taking the easier option of a Taxi instead. The hotel itself is fantastic. The staff were welcoming to anyone who comes through (a lot of tourists) and are helpful with info about the Wi-Fi, and give you a free map of the city. The room was clean, spacious for a hotel room, and I loved the en-suite. Breakfast was good, but best of all was when I called a taxi from the front desk and he was there in less than 5 minutes. Great service, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenaayiyiyiyiyiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Xena,

The fact you took a little bit of your time just to write about us, after a staying of only a night, ...says a lot more than words, so...thank you! :) We are grateful for having made you such a great impression!

And we are a little bit sorry you didn't have the chance to stay a little bit more with us, to get to know us better, and see even more of our hospitality, we would have been thrilled to have you longer here.

We hope, however, that after this positive approach, you will give us the chance to host you for a longer holiday, and spoil you for as much as we can... :)

Hoping we will be given this chance soon enough,
We wish all the best!
Elena, concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel from the 7th-9th February this year. We had a fantastic stay. We stayed in a deluxe room which was lovely. Very clean, spacious with a terrace (wish it had been a bit warmer and we could of sat out haha).
The breakfast was nice, continental. The staff were all so friendly, always smiling and chatty. From reception staff to kitchen and maids. everyone was always friendly.
The location is perfect within walking distance to the colosseum and close to the termini train statin and two metros. I would definitely stay here again and next time for longer as there is so much to do and see in rome. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gems_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear guest,


We always try to do our best in order to offer our clients the maximum of confort and serenity, thank you so much for pointing that out!

We are here for our guests, their wellbeing is very important for us, we can only be more than glad you had such a beautiful staying with us. We hope to have you back again as soon as possible- maybe in June, or July, ...when you could use the terrace fully?! ;)

We are looking back to welcome you soon again, and try do make you even happier!
Until then,
Best regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Pleasantly surprised on arrival by the marble staircase to breakfast room.The breakfast was very good with a good choice.Nice to be greeted bty by staff who remembered tea/coffee preferences.
Reception area spacious with friendly staff especially Elena who is always prepared to help and give advice what to see and recommend restaurants.Lift to all floors ,bedroom typically Italian in decor and bathroom good size.Another plus good and free Wi-Fi.
Location was quiet with narrow cobbled streets outside .Walking distance for all places of interest and easy walking to a number of good restaurants within 400m including now our favourite Tettarello .
For sports minded there are two good bars within 5 minutes Finnegan's and Druids Rock.

We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshexiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Welshexiled,

What could we say?! Guests writing lines like yours about our hotel, ...are the ones motivating us to just keep improving: ourselves, our service, Raffaello... and this is how we grew, and we are grateful to all of our guests for that, as well as for having chosen us! So once again, ...THANK YOU...

We are more than happy that you enjoyed in such a serene way your staying here. Our guests' wellbeing is the most important thing for us.

We hope to be able to host you again as soon as possible.
Until then,
Warmest and most serene regards,

Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Raffaello from the 18-22nd of February - It was a brilliant Hotel. We had a family room which had two bedrooms - one with a double and one with two twins - great for our 16 and 7 year old girls. - But also gave us privacy. The room was beautiful and very very clean. We were there in winter and the room was warm - but not too hot! - Very nice. The people were fantastic - special note to Elena - she was lovely and knows all the great shopping spots. Christina who served us breakfast was lovely as well - really wonderful lady. Francesca on the front desk was also really wonderful - full of good advice on where to eat. The location is ideal - it is near the coliseum and the forum, and about 20-30 minutes from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Lots of great shops and places to eat nearby - will definitely stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Barns,

When will that be?! When will you be back?! :) Because everything you wrote about us (Francesca , Christina, me..) was mutual! :) We can hardly wait to welcome you and your wonderful daughters again!

Thank you for all the wonderful words you have written about us! We are more than glad you enjoyed your staying here, with us, and...we REALLY hope you will come back more than soon!

Best and warmest wishes,

Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First time in Rome and travelling with friends who actually found and booked the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to others. Very conveniently located but in a quiet little road. With my usual reminder that you get what you pay for, this is a really nice little hotel, it is NOT 5* so don't expect it, but it IS wonderful value for money. The rooms are perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. The public areas are great, free tea and coffee and the breakfast is probably the best that we have experienced in this level of hotel. From the moment that we arrived the staff were kind and helpful, especially Elena who was a big help and pointed out a few Rome highlights of her own as well as agreeing our own itinerary was good. For quality and value it will be hard to breat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Steve,

We would like to thank you for having shared your pleasant experience at Raffaello with the other Tripadvisor users, to whom we would like to remind they have a special discount.

As for your review, ...what else could we say, than we are grateful for your beautiful words?! For our guests' opinions and impressions about us...help us improve ourselves every day, in every single way...and we CARE about our clients' wellbeing.

Hoping your return will be a quick one,
Best regards,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing