We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Rome”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great option in Rome”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for the 3d time and everytime we've really enjoyed our stay. Very helpful and friendly staff, good location (there are a lot of good restaurants and trattorias around, Termini station in 10 min walk, Collosseum - 15 min), very good value for money. There are complimentary coffee/tea facilities in lobby for hotel's customers.
The only thing - to my opinion a breakfast could be a bit more various.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurchavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Kurchavy,

You coming back 3 times, ...can only mean you really enjoyed it, as you said, and we would like to thank you for having chosen us more than once! :) For us, that would be a confirmation we reach to our guests, and that is our main purpose.

When is the 4th time going to be?! As we have just tunned the wi- fi connection, and installed a vending machine in the lobby... :)
We are looking forward to having you back! :)

Until then,
Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    749
    128
    36
    12
See reviews for
509
1,291
128
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely Hotel. It is tucked away behind the busy Via Cavour and is lovely and quiet. It doesn't, as far as we know have any views of Rome just of the little streets it is by. The rooms are beautifully decorated, beds firm but comfortable with a choice of pillows to suit all. The bathrooms are compact but very clean and usable with the normal Italian hair dryer and toiletries. In the public rooms you will find a computer together with tea and coffee making facilities for you to use at any time of day or night, so lovely after a day sightseeing. The staff are friendly and very professional and especially Elena who has a bright and cheerful personality and a bucket load of knowledge and ideas to increase your enjoyment of this historic city. She also spends time making sure you, the client, is content and happy during your stay and suggests various other sites for you to visit. Breakfast is buffet style and has everything from cheese, ham, eggs, fruits, breads and pastries, cereal, yogurts, tea, coffee and hot chocolate with friendly and smiley staff. All in all a fantastic find. Many thanks from the Franklins and Prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petespet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear petespet,

Was it Charlotte Bronte that said "beauty is in the eye of the beholder"?! :)
We have seen a lot of people, but just a few with your vitality, energy and positivity... so it was actually an honour for us having such wonderful guests, that filled Raffaello with positivity and joy.

Thank you for your wonderful words, we can only be glad for having earned all this sympathy and appreciation. Should we hope for a new visit of you soon?! Because we would be more than glad hosting you again, you know... :)

Until your next staying here, in the middle of Rome,

Best wishes and kindest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly and professional staff and very diverse breakfast. Big rooms (or at least the one we had) in the heart of the city. Colloseum and Trevi on less than 10-15 minutes walk. Located in a small street with at the end typical italian restaurants. Value for money! The hotel was very helpfull in order to book vouchers for touristic attractions like the Cappella Sistina and took time to explain the shortest way (and alternative via metro as my girlfriend was pregnant for 6 months). We travelled with another couple and they didn't take the metro as everything was on walking distance.

Room Tip: I requested a room with bathtub and got it with no extra cost. Besides it was a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico-Be-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Nico,

I hope they didn't charge for 3 at the Sistine Chapel! :))
It was a pleasure having you here, and we only tried to make our best, as we always do. Thank you so much for pointing that out, and we would also like to thank you for your beautiful words.

Next time you come back, we hope there's going to be at leat 5 of you! Don't worry, Vatican Museums tickets are free under 6! :))
Say hello to your friends from us, too!
Best wishes, and may your child bring you only happiness and serenity! :)
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel location was amazing. We were only there for a couple of days so the central location was perfect. Were able to visit most places by foot.

Upon arrival we were impressed, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy.

The rooms were ok sized, wasn't expecting anything massive. Although the temperature was very hot. We had to have the windows open the majority of our stay, which wasn't a big deal as the windows had security bars on so wasn't worried about security and the neighbourhood isn't too noisy. We were under the impression there was a bar/restaurant at the hotel so wasn't expecting to be using the mini-bar. There wasn't much choice in the mini bar and didn't appear to be topped up.

On our first night we wanted to go to a specific popular Jazz restaurant. We asked the reception and the woman there was very very helpful. She was able to book us a table just a few hours before we needed it. Had an amazing meal there. This particular receptionist was also very helpful when it came to our second night. Recommending nice areas to go to and highlighting them on a map.

Breakfast was average. It did the job. The tea/coffee was dire, and the juices tasted like 60% sugar. Otherwise nice selection of food.

On the last day we feel the hotel let us down. Check out is 12, but we had the Vatican city still to visit so we asked if could keep the room till 12:45 to keep our suitcases secure. To which they said no, (which is fair). So we asked if they had a secure place to store them. They assured us they'd be kept secured in a locked room and gave us labels for them etc. The man behind reception was not very friendly at all compared to the other staff and didn't seem to want to help.

Anyway, we came back to collect our suitcases at 12:45 only to find them still sitting in the middle of the reception area. They'd not been moved from where we left them. Again the same man was behind the reception. No friendly good bye or safe journey. He took our money and we wandered out.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and would recommend for anyone on a short stay, needing somewhere central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tcarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tcarrod,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Raffaello with the other Tripadvisor users, who we would like to remind they have a special discount!
We are more than glad you liked so many positive aspects of the hotel, it is what interests us more: gratify our guests, as much as possible.
As for your luggage concern, I previously explained your travel companion, we DO have a luggage deposit, but we only take there the baggage left for more time. As you told my colleague you would come back within 2-3 hours, they were left near the reception desk, where we guarantee for their safety, as well...
We are sorry if that ruined your leaving, and we hope we will have the chance of proving, like we always try to, that we care for our guests! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel itself is situated in a great location walking distance to everything you need to see. The hotel I felt was average.... Small rooms, very small shower, clean, nice and warm.

Staff... The ladies that we spoke to were very friendly, helping us out with where to go, booking taxis and restaurants for us etc...the men however I found quite rude and unhelpful. Also on checking out we asked if we could have the room for just half an hour extra so our cases cold stay locked in there whilst we did our last tourist spots for the Monday morning but the man at reception said we couldn't have the room for half an hour extra which was fine as he stated that they have a locked area for all luggage if we wanted to keep It locked away so we agreed on that, however on returning from our tourist spots Monday at 12:30 we saw that the bags where in fact left near the reception desk (not behind) the whole 3 hours. Not what you expect when told they would be safely locked away especially when your leaving a handbag there. That really let the hotel down.

It's a good enough hotel and does the job for a short stay in Rome but I really don't think it's #35 out of all the hotels in Rome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie_louise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Susie,

I would like to thank you on the behalf of Raffaello, for having found some time to write a review about us on Tripadvisor.

We would like our guests to always tell their honest impression about our hotel, either it is good or bad: the good ones encourage us to do what we have always done: give the best we have, the bad ones help us understand what else we could change or improve.

We care about our guests' wellbeing, even beyond our duty, sometimes, as a lot of reviews can prove it, and as we tried to do even in your case.
Allow me to better explain myself: taking a guest's luggage in custody it's not our obbligation, but we did it for YOUR OWN COMFORT, so you could enjoy a few more hours of your last day in Rome, even though, as everywhere on the sites it is stated, the check-out has to be done by 12 o'clock, which my colleague actually reminded you, when you asked.
When our guests leave us in custody their luggage, we ask them the time of their return, so we would only put in the deposit the luggage of the ones coming back later. You yourself said you were only missing for a couple of hours, THAT IS WHY we kept your baggage near the reception desk: so you would find it ready, when you would come back.
As far as you are saying, nothing was missing from your luggage, nor was it keeped unsafe. Would it have helped better if we had put it behind the reception desk (a meter closer) to where we actually put it?!
However, allow me to strongly agree with one thing: Raffaello does not deserve INDEED #35 on Tripadvisor! We will be again among the first 20, as we have been until not long time ago...
Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in a good position to visiting Rome. The room was nice and tidy with a terrace which we didn't use. It was clean as well. No black points for the breakfast either. Only thing, the entrance was a bit smelly and the elevator was small, but it is an old building. We paid 75euros per night...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americ_Incompreso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

It is important for us having our guests' feedbacks, positive, or negative, as they are.
The positive gives us the confirmation we are doing a good job, while the negative ones teach us where we need to work.

Getting back to your review, ...with all the respect, but I would "agree to disagree"- Raffaello is being cleaned every single day. We cure the smallest details of it, concerning the cleaning, as you could check in more than 1000 reviews.

As for the lift, ...as you said, ...Raffaello is situated in a 18th century building, the lift cannot have huge size.
Thank you for having given us a bit of your time, we would like to remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount.

Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 3 nights & what a brilliant choice of hotel. The staff could not do enough for you especially Elena giving us all the top tips!! Arrived early & checked out at the crack of dawn & was not a problem. Breakfast was lovely again staff extremley friendly, Hotel & rooms very clean & tidy. Hotel is in a brilliant location we was able to walk to all attraction apart from The Vatican but that wasn't far on the train. Would definatley recommend this hotel & would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear KJ-1983,

Thank you for having found the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel with the other Tripadvisor users, who we would like to remind they have a special discount. :)

We are happy you enjoyed your staying at Raffaello . Our guests wellbeing has the absolute priority for us.
We do our jobs with passion and commitment towards our guests, so we cannot be any happier than when we have positive feedbacks, as in your case. :)
Hoping we will have the chance of welcoming you again soon,
We wish you all the best! :)
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing