We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent staff”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a 3 night stay here after choosing the hotel from reviews on Tripadviser and were not disappointed. The hotel has a convenient location and is 10-15 minute walk from the Colosseum and the Forum in one direction and Termini station in the other. There are plenty of little restaurants in the area but they can be very busy at night. The desk staff and concierge were suberb and could not do enough to help. Our room was not ready when we arrived (we were early) and the concierge took us to the tea/coffee lounge and made us a hot drink. Eduardo from the desk organised a maxi cab to get us to the care hire firm on departure. Friends who were staying with us did not have enough money for their taxi from the airport and the desk covered it until they could get to an automatic teller. The breakfast staff were very obliging and the array of food was good. Scrambled eggs were available as a hot breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms at the front of the hotel are quite large (ours was enormous), but be aware that the rooms tend to get smaller as you move away from via Urbana.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front facing via Urbana and check if it is the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are doing our job with passion and commitment, we are more than happy when people sense that.

We care about our guests well-being, that is why we continuously try to overgrow ourselves, by improving our services or implementing new ones.

We hope the next time you will come here, we will be able to surprise you even more.

Until then,
Best wishes!

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    755
    131
    37
    12
See reviews for
513
1,306
129
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant hotel. Well located for station and Colosseum. Situated on trendy-ish Via Urbana with plenty of good eating options around. Free wi-fi. Yes, as has been noted elsewhere, the showers are not roomy and the toilet was so squashed in that you couldn't sit on it properly, but unless you are on the large side, you can cope, I'm sure. There was a horrible plastic matress protector that had to be removed to avoid being bathed in sweat during the night. Staff were friendly enough and the breakfast was good enough.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and so had no view at all. In fact, any room would probably have been quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLGKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for this beautiful review. We remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount.

Hotel Raffaello is situated in a 19th century building, and we wanted to keep the period's specific, that is why some of the bathrooms may be smaller.

We hope we will have you back soon. Until then,
Kind regards,
Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 1st week of October for 4 nights and below are the pros and cons !
Pros:
The hotel breakfast was good.The room was clean and it was quite considering Rome.

Cons:
We got checked in with the guy in the reception called Maximo (bald head with a white beard). I hope he gave me his name right as he was not wearing a name tag and was very unprofessional. Before we checked in there was a pretty lady infront of us asking him a zillion questions and he took his time asnwering them with a lot of interest. The moment I stepped in for checkin his face became different with an attitude of don't bother me. During checkin we asked for the direction of where to buy SIM card and he made it look like as if I'm asking him to provide me with a SIM card during checkin. We then asked him some for tourist guide and he said to come back in an hour to get helped by someone. We asked how to get to a destination he directed us to the metro where as there was a metro strike going on at the time and he failed to inform us.
When we came back after 1.5hrs this man was gone and there was no one who can book us in for hop on bus etc. But luckily we found Francesco who was really nice and helpful. He called cabs for us and even went outside to talk with the Cab so that he drops us in the right location. Small things like this matters in customer facing environments !!!
During breakfast a bunch of Americans in their 50s told us Maximo had poor customer service skills and he did not even bother letting people know of the metro strike. If you are pretty lady he will help you but if you are older or male then GOOD LUCK !!! During checkout I again bumped into this Maximo guy and when I asked him how much the taxi will cost from the hotel to airport he told me "well what ever is in the metre ???" and then looked surprised that how dare I ask him such a stupid question. He should have told us that the fare is flat 48 Euros and I should challenge the driver if he asks for more. Thank God Elena came to the rescue and even told the driver to carry our bags.
If management educates him then I can consider coming back to this hotel. I booked this hotel cause my family and friends stayed in the hotel and there was a guy called Luciano who helped everyone a lot but he is no more in this hotel. If you need help talk with Francesco or Elena they are nice and at least cares about individuals no matter what race or country they are from. When you arrive in a new country/city the first few people you bump into matters a lot. You at least expect the hotel where you stay to help you cause you are new to their country and don't know how to speak italian.
Rome is a beautiful city please help tourists so that they can come back to this city and your hotel.

Room Tip: Speak with Elena and Frencesco for any information no matter how silly they are. They can assist you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank aussie_sun_rise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Owner at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Worriedgrad,

I am really sorry you had such a bad impact with our hotel - and I apologize for that.

Massimo is with us since 2005, and he is one of the best employee we have. And we usually have excellent feedbacks from thousands of travelers.
So what? it's impossible that no one before, in the past, had met Massimo. Probably many many people met him, and many of them liked him.
My personal explanation is that Massimo was very tired the day (or the moment) you checked-in: October being a very busy period, but expecially because he had answered lots of questions asked by the previous client. And I know perfectly that the first couple of minutes a client enters the hotel, is the most important: the client gets an idea which later is hard to change.
I guess this is what happened: some minutes waiting for the previous guest to go which tired you waiting your turn, but also tired Massimo. Then obviouly you can expect a misunderstanding, and it's all done: after, it's very very hard to change one's mood.

Once again, please accept my apologies.
And if you would like to supply further details, you can write to my personal email, which is management@hotelraffaello.it
Rome is a wonderful city, please don't let the misunderstanding of the first 5 minutes spoil your memories.

Sincerely, Antonio Pelosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in a party of 4. Was expecting it to be good, based on previous reviews, & wasn't disappointed. All facilities good, & staff friendly. A couple of niggles - breakfast room a bit too small, so sometimes you had to wait. Also, the front desk booked us a minibus, which never turned up, so had to call a taxi at the last minute (only after we reminded them). But overall, it hit the spot. Would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have such a good impression about us.

Your car's 15 minutes delay was dued to the traffic, but we provided an alternative solution immediately. Sometimes accidents can happen, it depends on how they are solved, and we always try to take good care of our guests.

Hoping your next time to Rome ,is going to be a soon one, we are looking forward to have you here.

Until then,
Best wishes.

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rome is a large city and is difficult to find somewhere to stay close to sites, train stations, metro, restaurants, shopping and everything else one seeks or needs when traveling. Hotel Raffaello is one of those rare finds which is convenient to almost everything and offers excellent, comfortable accommodation at a price reasonable for the city it is in. Staff was excellent, knowledgeable and always available when needed. The room was very comfortable and had perhaps the best shower of any I have used in Europe. It is located on a quiet street, yet in close proximity to high activity areas with good restaurants. They offer a large breakfast which should suit a variety of tastes. This is one of my favorite hotels and will always be the first I check when making arrangements for my future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review, we remind Tripadisor users they have a special discount.
We do our best in order to gratify our guests' needs, so we can only be pleased when seing reviews like yours.
Hoping your coming back in Rome will be a close-in-time reality, we are looking forward to have you here.
Until then,
Warmest regards.
Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This well located and sweet hotel was an easy walk from most of the major sights. We were upgraded on arrival to a beautiful room with a rooftop deck and some views of Rome which made the stay even more special. It was quiet, the room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was a bit tight for room, but apart from that the stay was excellant. I loved the breakfast room which was cheerful with the food on offer being good quality and plentiful. It seemed nothing was too much trouble for the truly friendly and helpful staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linisleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your staying with us. Our guests' gratification is our main purpose, we do our job with pleasure, so we can only be happy when receiving reviews like yours.

Our main priority is keeping our guests satisfied and pleased, that is why we are continuously trying to outgrow ourselves, by implemeting new services, like The Pillow Menu (a selection of firmer or softer pillows), or the concierge service.
We are looking forward for you as a guest, again.
Until then,
Best wishes.
Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
495 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the location and the staff. Location: we were any easy 10 minute walk to the Colosseum, 20 minutes to the Spanish Steps/Trevi Fountain, 20 minutes to Trastevere , 25 to the Sistine Chapel and truly walking Rome is the way to enjoy all it has to offer (we felt safe where ever we went). The Termini station 7-8 minute easy walk! Staff: When we checked in they were dismayed to see it was my daughter and I and I had booked a double room instead of a room with 2 beds - huge difference in room size! They moved us night two from a very small room to one double the size without us asking! The front desk helped was always available to help us with any questions asked. Breakfast was great - just make sure if you have an early tour you ask before grabbing that croissant to go :). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Double room means - one bed and a smallish room! Make sure you book at least 2 twin beds to get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time writing such a wonderful review. We remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount.
We are so glad your staying here was so beautiful and serene, because this is our major purpose, we just love our job! :)
We hope to have an even greater impact on you the next time you will be our guest.
Until then,
Warmest regards,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing